We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Choice”
Review of Waters Edge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Waters Edge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tiburon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 April 2012

While visiting relatives in Marin County, I decided to look around for a nice hotel -- 4 star rating. There are not many but came across this hotel in reviewing tripadvisor customer ratings. We got the best room at the end of the hotel with a fantastic view of the City. The outdoor deck is located right outside of the main window and people were congregating there but did not interfere with our view or privacy. There is a small private deck located on the side of the room so you will always have a prime seat for viewing the city or Angel Island. Bed was very comfortable and amenities very nice. It is an older small hotel with some dated features but did not take away from the comfort at all. I would definitely stay again. We found it very relaxing, too. Breakfast is included and brought to your room daily -- such a treat!

Room Tip: Must be mentioned that next door is a restaurant that likes to play music in the bar with an outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SCBadone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (471)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

338 - 344 of 471 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2012

We were traveling from Virginia to the Bay area and were so pleased with our stay at Waters Edge. Just booking online we were not sure what we would actually find - what a surprise! Nice staff, wonderful location, pleasant rooms and many extras.
Thank you and we will come again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlotte D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

My girlfriend decided to suprise me with a trip to Tiburon. We both love the San Francisco bay area, but wanted someplace quiet and quaint. We weren't disappointed.

We arrived at the Hotel on Sun Feb 26th 2012 on a beautiful and unusually sunny / warm day. We parked at the end of main street (its about 100 yards long) and walked to the hotel (we have rolling luggage). We checked in at the lobby (early) and were told our room wasn't ready so we checked our luggage and went to look around. We came back to inquire about using one of the hotel's four mountain bikes, and were told our room was ready early ... so we went up. The room was charming, overlooking the restaurant to the west of the hotel. It was fairly crowded, but the room was quiet (due to dual pane windows and solid construction). We thought it might be noisy, but it never was. There was a small common patio that overlooked the harbor, restaurant, and has a partial view of the SF Skyline.

We changed then went down stairs to borrow the hotel's mountain bikes and proceeded to ride the bike trail for several hours - stopping for lunch on the lawn overlooking San Francisco Bay and the SF Skyline. We rode the bikes around Tiburon for about three hours before returning to our hotel. We decided to take a drive up Highway 1 and drove to Muir Beach and spent about 20 minutes there (very windy, very cold) before heading back. We arrived at the hotel just in time to enjoy the evening wine and cheese (complimentary). Then we decided to get ready for dinner.

The restaurant we chose was two doors down from our hotel - Servino. I called ahead and made a reservation, letting the receptionist know that we would be coming for an anniversary dinner .. and requested patio seating with heater. We were told the patio was closed (even though we could see from our hotel veranda that there were several people enjoying the patio). I then requested an inside window seat, and was told they could accomodate. The food was good, the service was average, but about 1/3 of the way in to our meal .. very loud music began blaring upstairs, followed by the sounds of marching feet. our waitress stopped by a few minutes later to tell us the noise was due to a wedding party upstairs .. one of the waitresses had gotten married that day and was having her party upstairs. I inquired as to why we were not informed, nor given an option of sitting elsewhere. Got an apology. We basically finished our meal as quickly as we could, and left. We were planning on dessert, so we went down the street to a small cafe for desert (it was quiet there). Can't remember the restaurant name, but it was across the street and to the right. Struck up a conversation with the chef there .. he ended up comping us desert after we told him of our bad experience at Servino. Ended up being a nice evening despite that fact.

We returned to the hotel and asked them if they could light the gas fire on the 2nd story veranda that overlooks SF Bay and the SF Skyline. The person at the desk said they couldn't light the fire pit because it was too "windy" outside. We went out and it was about as calm as could be. I went back down to the lobby and asked him to reconsider. He did, and we got our fire. We had the veranda to ourselves, overlooking the night skyline of SF .. enjoying each other and the remnants of our wine. A fantastically romantic evening.

The next day we were served breakfast in our room (ordered the day before) .. oatmeal, fruit, boiled egg, bagel, and garnishments. It was very substantial and we both agreed that it was very good, and very filling. We then drove to Muir Woods and hiked for several hours, had lunch, and headed back home into the valley..

We had a FABULOUS TIME and the hotel was very nice - and service very good (sans the gut that didn't want to light the fire pit). Would highly recommend if you are looking for a romantic hideaway that is away from the bustle of san francisco

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the 2nd floor veranda, and consider having breakfast out there in the morning (w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RCesena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

Thanks to other trip advisor folks, we decided to stay here at Waters Edge. Very nice comfortable room with nice amenities. Outdoor deck is a great place to enjoy your wine and cheese from your free late afternoon tasting. View of San Francisco at sunset and in the evening is incredible.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJ4UNME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

During our trip North from Big Sur we decided to spend a nite in Tiburon on our way up to Mendocino. The king room was perfect-clean and spacious. The location along the water was terrific. The staff was delightful. We had planned on staying only 1 nite but after a wonderful continental breakfast delivered to your room, taking a long morning walk along the water and having a late lunch in Saulsalito we decided to head back for another nite. The 2nd morning we borrowed the Hotel supplied mountain bikes and enjoyed a fantastic ride through the neighborhoods and took in the spectacular views. The back deck overlooking the ferry terminal gets a great morning sun and is a great spot to relax during breakfast or in the ealy evening when the hotel serves wine from 5-7pm. There's only 2 Hotels/Lodges in the town and it's a no brainer-this is the place to stay!!

Room Tip: Ask to see your foom before you sign in-the views are definately worth it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RSJANIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Just spent a wonderful long weekend at Water's Edge and was so impressed by the customer service, value, and amazing location. Definitely one of the best travel experiences I have had. The location is stunning and incredibly convenient to fantastic shopping, dining and jumping on the ferry to the city. I will be back and highly recommend it to anyone looking for a great place to spend a long weekend.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mhawkins5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

My husband and I stayed for one Friday night in late January to give our daughter's family in San Francisco some respite from us in the middle of a 10-day visit. We took the ferry from SF in the afternoon and they picked us up the next day to continue on to a weekend in Sonoma. We enjoyed it very much and found it very restful and well-appointed. Everyone was very helpful and polite. Our room (212) faced out over the large outdoor deck of the neighboring bar. That was not an issue, since the evening was very chilly and no one sat out there -- I wonder how it would be in the warmer months?

We had a room with a "balcony" which was only big enough for one chair -- or at least only one was provided, so we didn't spend any time there. The back deck more than made up for that, with its view of the City, the water, Angel Island, and very agressive hungry sea gulls. We were swooped on two times -- and a wine glass broken and cheese stolen before we learned to be more vigilant. However, they did not spoil the experience, which was very nice, both morning and evening.

Our room had a fireplace which I asked for; however it burned an artificial log which unfortunately filled the room with a long lingering chemical smell. My husband didn't notice it
so maybe I'm over-sensitive, having asthma. However, truth be told, he doesn't have a very good sense of smell, so be warned.
We did some walking around Tiburon and Belvedere, which was very enjoyable, with a nice street of shops (Ark Row, I believe), interesting houses, and bay views. However, after a bit of shopping and a bit of walking, the delights of Tiburon were pretty much done with. Looked like a few good cozy bars, but as it was a beautiful day, we weren't tempted in, so cannot speak to their aspect. If we had been there longer, we would have investigated the walks in natural areas and beside the Bay which were indicated on some maps and also a trip to Angel Island.

The breakfast was as others described -- a fairly lavish one, for a basically continental-type -- and delivered to the room, which was a very nice touch. The "happy hour wine & cheese" was advertised as between 5:00 & 6:00 PM, but was still available at 10:00 PM. I don't know if that would be true if the hotel was more full in season, but it was also a nice touch.

All in all, I'd forgo the balcony & fireplace next time, and splurge and try to get one of the two rooms on the Bay end of the building. The curtains were open and they looked quite spacious, with good views of the Bay. However, they also looked out over the back deck, so may have lacked some privacy with the curtains open.

We liked this little hotel very much and will go back when we get a chance.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SusanJaneF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tiburon
0.2 km away
The Lodge at Tiburon
The Lodge at Tiburon
#2 of 2 in Tiburon
1,512 reviews
5.6 km away
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
#1 of 5 in Mill Valley
559 reviews
2.8 km away
Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
Cavallo Point
Cavallo Point
#2 of 4 in Sausalito
1,007 reviews
2.7 km away
Hotel Sausalito
Hotel Sausalito
#4 of 4 in Sausalito
303 reviews
5.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waters Edge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waters Edge Hotel

Address: 25 Main St, Tiburon, CA 94920-2507
Region: United States > California > Marin County > Tiburon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tiburon
Price Range: $307 - $486 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waters Edge Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waters Edge is inspired by Eastern seaboard architecture and the exotic merchant trade of the San Francisco Bay. Located on the water in charming downtown Tiburon, the Waters Edge brings an added ambiance of global sophistication to this unique part of Northern California. Restful rooms feature crisp white feather beds, and comfy chaises with hand-knitted throws perfect for afternoon naps. Many rooms look out to stunning views of San Francisco and Angel Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Waters Edge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waters Edge Tiburon
Hotel Waters Edge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing