We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (95)
Filter reviews
95 results
Traveller rating
34
40
17
0
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
34
40
17
0
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bodega bay dillon beach restaurant next door historic hotel room was large open thursday to sunday coffee tea juice deli key cereal highway california coast intersection amenities internet binder
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 95 reviews
Reviewed October 21, 2017

I've stayed here 4-5 times over the last 5+ years. Usually 3 to 4 nights. I've always had a fine stay. an old renovated Inn in a very small town. As I say "A B&B without the B (Breakfast)" They do put out coffee, juice, a few cereals. There is a Fantastic Bakery right across the street - where everyone comes from miles around (now every day - up until recently they were only open Thursday to Sunday.) I'll be back to The Continental when I'm back this way. Clean, quiet, peaceful. Nice staff.

Room tip: Review their photos online.
Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Wilford D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 15, 2017

The small hotel is very nice and the rooms have good accommodations. It is right on highway 1 in the center of a very small town. The restaurant next door recently closed and was the only dinner spot in town.

Of greater concern is the lack of security. There is no cell phone service in the area and the hotel does not have telephones in the rooms. Staffing is spotty and only around a few hours a day. If you have an emergency, options are limited. Either staff the hotel 24/7 or put landlines in the rooms. Otherwise, I could not recommend the lodging to seniors or those with children. Tomales is beautiful, but very isolated. It is unlikely that something will go wrong, but we live in a region where things do go wrong and access to emergency services if vital.

Room tip: Ask for a room on the Dillon Beach Road side. Highway One can be quite noisy.
Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank judyg363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 7, 2017

My room was large, clean, well-appointed, fireplace, the works. However, it was a room on the corner of the intersection, and really noisy over the holiday. The town is small and quiet, and the bakery and deli across the street are to die for. You never see a desk clerk. You come in with a code, and pick up your key and go to your room. You leave your key in a box when you leave. There is no real breakfast, but there's cereal and coffee/tea/juice. I'd go back, but perhaps get a room on the backside.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bumatay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 7, 2017

If you are looking for a quiet getaway from the hustle/bustle of the Bay Area, look no further. This unassuming older establishment in the sleepy hamlet of Tomales is just what the doctor ordered. Rooms are exceedingly clean, all well appointed, newly painted, very comfortable. Little or no breakfast or on-site staff (although a small glitch in our reservation was taken care of immediately), and WiFi is iffy, but if comfort, and peace & quiet are your goal, this is your destination. My wife and I are avid sea kayakers, so the proximity to Tomales Bay launch sites is incomparable, as are the stones throw distances to the Point Reyes National Seashore, Pt. Reyes Station (and the "to die for" pizza at Cafe Reyes), Nick's Cove Restaurant, Hog Island Oysters, Inverness, Tomales Bakery, and the areas's best kept secret, the buffalo milk soft-serve ice cream in Pt. Reyes Station' Palace Market.

Room tip: Upstairs, even numbered rooms are best and quietest.
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank themamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 3, 2017 via mobile

We loved our overnight stay here while traveling up the coast. Our room was very clean, quiet, and furnished with beautiful antiques, while still having tv and Internet provided. Lovely 5 minute drive to watch the sunset at Dillon Beach. So glad we stopped here!

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Cathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews