We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything was fine”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Staybridge Suites Torrance
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Torrance
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Everything was fine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

We only stayed here one night and there were no real problems. We arrived late at night and service was not bad, but not great checking in. His attitude was weird, friendly in some ways, but indifferent in others. Anyways, the room itself was clean, and well kept but definitely not new. I've not stayed in a full suite type place before, so I didn't expect the exterior to look like condo-esque, and the interior to be a full, small apartment. The kitchen had bare essential supplies, but had a stove and fridge. There's a separate couch sitting area and two desks. The bed was comfortable and though we were on the second of three floors, we were never bothered by noise above or below us. Breakfast was solid with a do-it-yourself waffle iron, cereal, canned cut fruit, yogurt, bagels, juices, etc. The front desk lady at checkout was very, very friendly and funny. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wakkow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    102
    36
    18
    16
See reviews for
172
38
13
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

we picked this hotel based on reviews BIG MISTAKE! We are PRIORITY CLUB members so we're supposed to get our preferences honored. For instance...upper floor. not only did we get put on a bottom floor they put a family with FOUR SMALL CHILDREN above us and apparently gave them free espressos because for 2 days they ran around constantly despite asking the front desk to do something other than shrugging at me.
ALSO the free beer and wine that is provided in the lobby is not monitored so if you have underage kids BEWARE!
I haven't even mentioned the drunk occupants that came back at 4 a.m. and hurled fbombs and beat on each other's doors to be let in for 45 minutes. That's when I found out the phone in the suite wasn't working to call the front desk...when I told them the next day they were puzzled as to why the security guard didn't hear them...gee, me, too. Did they think we were making that up?

DO NOT STAY HERE!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Staybridge Suites Torrance, responded to this review, 21 April 2012
Lisa H,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Ben J
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi
Level Contributor
177 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

The reality of the situation is that I had to be in Carson, LA for business ad owing to last minute plan changes made a booking for this place. This is not your ideal business hotel, is pretty much in a silent area, where getting taxi takes time and I sought of felt I have taken a bigger place than what I coud have done with. Saying that, the suites ae huge, all amenities tucked in - Microwave, refrigerator, crockery the works. 2 TV sets and a charming family room area. My grudge with the place is that breakfast menu, it did not change a % during all 5 days I was there. I am no sure if that is the trend for such places, but I would say its better to be a bread and breakfast place than serve up a buffet like that everyday. The TV reception was bad throughout with a limited choice of channels. The frontdesk staff were ok. The place is in a place where having your own car is a necessity and for someone travelling from outside the country, not favourable at all. Nothing - eateries or a small to shopping areas is walking distance. Hence prep yourself for that.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelPoddar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level Contributor
244 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

The rooms facing the pool are nice and quiet and a short walk to the pool and pleasant sitting area. The breakfast is nice and the pool is nice. The location is handy to get to shopping areas and freeways. The facility is showing its age and is due for an upgrade

Room Tip: Inside rooms, or not facing Prairie
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vao_Fefe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

The check-in process should have been an indication of things to come, but I waited and had to suffer through the stay. They make you sign a noise wavier, but they odviously don't adhere to the rules since I was kept up half the night listening to the adults and kids in the pool, and after calling the front desk nothing was done to fix the problem. If I am ever FORCED to stay at this property I will request to stay as far away from the pool as possible, or refuse to sign the waiver.

Room Tip: stay as far away from the pool as possible, unless you don'tnt to get any sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoffery187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2011

Staybridge Suites always has everything you need. This place was just that! Unlike other Staybridges, entrances to your room are outside the hotel. So no need to walk through the halls, you can go straight to your room. The ktichen had everything you needed. The rooms have everything you need, including a large walk-in closet.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KYM123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

First the good part - Just like any other staybridge, this hotel has far more amenities compared to other hotels for about the same price - e.g - you usually get a suite or a 1-2 bed room apartment like room that is complete with kitchen that includes - pots and pans, a fridge, microwave, dishwasher, toaster, utensils etc.., TVs, study tables, a comfortable bed, a walk in wardrobe and a decent bathroom. Outside your room, you get a swimming pool, free do your own laundry, parking lot that goes around the building. Also comes with free breakfast and sun-downers three nights a week. Once you check in, its almost like living in an apartment complex - you just drive till a spot closest to your room (sometimes right outside) and never have to go through the hotel reception each time. The rooms are pretty clean and automatic sensors keep the temperature regulated to your liking. So far so good eh!

Now for the not so good part - Although its pretty close to the Del Amo mall and the offices in Torrance, the block this hotel is in seems to be a bit tacky. Feels very industrial than a shopping/commercial place and there arent any restaurants or shops in walking distance (but hey! EVERY one drives in California - if you haven't - you totally SHOULD!). The bathrooms for some reason seem to come across as very run down and sometimes a bit dirty - they just dont seem to go with the decor and cleanliness of the rest of the suite. There are three floors on every building and there arent any elevators - so avoid taking rooms on the higher floors - if you have too much luggage. People in suites above or next to yours must pass through yours and hence - you end up having to keep the blinds shut all the time - can be a bit annoying sometimes. The walls between the rooms are seriously thin sometimes - I think on one night I swear I could hear someone snore in the next room!! They keep broadcasting messages to all guests using the voicemail system on phones and the guy who announces it has a very very strong spanish accent! If you're not used to it - it can be very hard to understand what he is trying to say.

Overall - I personally like the place as I can make my own stuff and eat it, feels spacious and very homely.. If you dont like that kinda feel and like the 'Plushness' of a four/five star - this one may not be the one for you.

Room Tip: Ask for a one bedroom suite - preferably at the back of the hotel. You can park right outside your r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank row_heath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torrance
1.4 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Avita Suites
1.4 km away
Residence Inn Los Angeles Torrance/Redondo Beach
1.9 km away
Doubletree by Hilton Torrance - South Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Torrance Marriott Redondo Beach
5.1 km away
Residence Inn Los Angeles Redondo Beach
4.0 km away
Extended Stay America - Los Angeles - Torrance Harbor Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staybridge Suites Torrance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Torrance

Property: Staybridge Suites Torrance
Address: 19901 Prairie Ave, Torrance, CA 90503
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Torrance
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Torrance
#3 Business Hotel in Torrance
#4 Family Hotel in Torrance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Staybridge Suites Torrance 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome home to the Staybridge Suites Torrance, an all-suite property offering a resort style atmosphere located in the heart of the South Bay. Our central location near the 405, 90, and 110 freeways, as well as both the Long Beach and Los Angeles International Airports, make us the perfect accommodation for your corporate, leisure or extended stay needs. Our guest suites have a villa-type feel and offer fully equipped kitchens, separate bedrooms, DVD players, and free high-speed Internet. You will also enjoy our daily buffet breakfast, our mid-week manager receptions, the heated outdoor pool and Jacuzzi, BBQ grills, fitness and business centers. These complimentary amenities are our way of saying Thank You for your business. At the Staybridge Suites, you are just minutes from the Redondo, Hermosa and Manhattan Beach communities. Take a quick jaunt up the Pacific Coast Highway and enjoy Venice, Marina Del Rey and the Santa Monica Pier. We are also convenient to the Home Depot Center in Carson, CA, the nations most complete training facility for Olympic, amateur and professional athletes. The Long Beach Aquarium, the LA Harbor World Cruise Center as well as the popular Del Amo Fashion Center and South Bay Galleria are nearby. Here for business? Experience why we are the preferred hotel for Honda, Toyota, Exxon, Northrup Grumman, Boeing and Lockheed Martin. Staybridge Suites is a proud member of the elite and award winning Priority Club Rewards loyalty program. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Staybridge Suites Torrance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Torrance Hotel Torrance
Torrance Staybridge Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing