We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive, not great”

Trabuco Oaks Steak House
Reserve with OpenTable
Trabuco Oaks Steak House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: US$20 - US$30
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed April 9, 2016

We went to Trabuco Oaks Steakhouse hoping to have a really good steak dinner. Unfortunately, our porterhouse steak dinners were not very good. The salad was limp, the steak was not very tasty and the potato was nothing special. My steak tasted old, like it had been sitting in the fridge too long, and was not very tender. Our server was prompt and attentive. The rustic ambiance is cute, with cut-off ties hanging everywhere, but in my opinion, ambiance should enhance the dining experience, not be a substitute for good food. A $38 steak should be delicious. Mine was not. Won't be going back.

Date of visit: April 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 61aprilh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (99)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 43 of 99 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2016

Count on a really good but expensive steak. The service was excellent. The atmosphere is one of a kind and very casual. The only complaint I have is not that everything is old but that it's dusty.

Date of visit: January 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sbadOcca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 11, 2016

Trabuco Oaks Steakhouse is out in the canyon, away from everything else. When you enter, it seems like you are stepping into an old house with sloping floors. You carefully wind your way back to the dining area where there is a large oak tree growing up right thru the middle of the room. The place isn't fancy and if anyone has mistakenly worn a tie, it will soon be cut off by their waiter and hung on the wall. Run our has it if you ever find your tie on another visit, your meal is free.

The steaks and ribs are outstanding. There are plenty of different cuts and sizes to satisfy any appetite. Sides are baked potatoes, corn, or baked beans. The kabobs are also very good. You will have plenty to eat, that's for sure.

We like to come here because it is something different and relaxing. The food is good, the people are down to earth, and kids are easily entertained by walking around looking at all the funny ties and checking out the tree. Sometimes it is forgotten since it's down in the canyon, but it is a nice change of pace.

Date of visit: November 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 8, 2016

Locals mostly and dont wear a tie in as they will cut it in half and hang it on the ceiling or wall. Dark, casual and somewhat expensive considering the quality and the other fine steakhouses in Irvine or even RSM CA.

Date of visit: January 2016
Thank Bob O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 18, 2016

This little gem of an "off the beaten path" eatery is still one of Orange County's best kept secrets. That may soon change with them developing a brand new website. A group friends and I have been utilizing this excellent steak house as our go to restaurant, as a starting off point, for a more casual approach to New Years Eve for many years. We have always left quite satisfied.

If you go there, don't expect "fancy." A gravel parking lot - yet valet serviced, a simple plywood front door, ties hanging from the rafters, picnic style vinyl table coverings. Tree trunks in the middle of the dinning room. Kinda reminds you of a patio addition on steroids. What's not to like? If you notice the pictures of celebrity endorsement's, on the wall, you then realize this place's ultimate draw. The food is THAT good!

If you love steak, this is a place that prides itself on value, quality, and most importantly, consistency. I have ordered a variety of the many different cuts they offer, in the well over the two dozen times or so I've ventured here, and every single plate was cooked as requested. There is something to be said about how they mesquite grille the meat, in one word, masterful! This particular night called for their 8oz. Filet Mignon that was still sizzling when it came to the table, a beautiful marbled round cut that, as they say on their menu, "melts in your mouth". Perfectly cooked to medium, it needed no sauce whatsoever. Bravo to Trabuco Oaks.

I like that you can order a baked potato, and they leave you a table server of butter, sour cream, and OK, diced scallion greens. Rich and slathered to the last bite. You also get a small serving of "western beans", although to my liking flavor wise, are a little bit runny. Do your self a favor and order the "fresh off the prairie" skillet, you can get mushrooms, peppers, & onions, or a zucchini version with cheese, I prefer the former, or try a mix of the two. By itself, or as a topping to your steak, it's all good.

The salad that starts off most meals is at no additional cost, I do wish their Italian dressing was less oily & more creamy, but if it ain't broke, don't mess with it. And, if you have room for a dessert, by all means go for it. The "hot gizmo" flavors can vary, except the signature cherry, if they have peach, I recommend the comfort factor here. It is a good size portion, and you can always share.

They have other items on the menu, chicken/fish/pasta, that I have yet to try, I just get such a craving due to many steaks I've polished off over the years, and as I mentioned before, if it ain't broke, don't mess with it.

The service is prompt and always available to bring you refills, sauce requests, or whatever is needed to compliment the delicious feast before you. As always, I have received a genuine, friendly, "yes with a smile," every time. The great, casual, & family atmosphere is just another reason to be here. So giddy up! Oh, and bring your appetite.

Date of visit: December 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank maitaimike2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trabuco Oaks Steak House also viewed

Rancho Santa Margarita, Orange County
Trabuco Canyon, Orange County
 
Lake Forest, Orange County
Trabuco Canyon, Orange County
 
Trabuco Canyon, Orange County
Trabuco Canyon, Orange County
 

Been to Trabuco Oaks Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing