We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is the trade off- Needs major renovation!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Donner Lake Village
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Truckee
Reviewed 27 November 2016

The location is such that the "resort" ( which needs to be dropped from its sign until they overhaul it!), would be paid back in spades if they bit the bullet and spent the money and time to start over.

I personally would refer to it as a 2-star motel, but the location and view bumps it up to a three star, just barely.

PROS:

1. Peaceful and serene location as you wake up to an immediate view of Donner Lake. No traffic noise.

2. Great location! Just a short and stunningly beautiful drive to Sugar Bowl ski resort, (turn left out of the resort to get to Sugar Bowl), or a short drive to any of the other Tahoe Northshore ski resorts. Close to the quaint town of Truckee and the historic Donner Pass museum and area.

3. Fairly comfortable beds.

CONS:

1. SUPER outdated. The bathroom had the feel of a clean gas-station restroom.

2. "little things" like no nightstands next to the bed to set things on such as a book, or cup of coffee, or your phone etc.

3. Not enough available outlets to plug in a computer or phone. The outlets I did find were very loose (plug kept falling out) and I do believe that can lead to a fire hazard.

3. Incredibly thin walls! You know it's a bad sign when you find earplugs waiting for you in your room! We could hear literally everything from the rooms next to us and above us. It was equivalent to sleeping in a tent, as far as noise from other rooms.

4. Exterior and interior hallways are dismal. The hallways , while I think??....are trying to look "rustic", look like old dirty plaster that is years overdue for repair.

5. Dirty corners.

Overall, this is a place that one can stay if they just want a place to crash while they ski, but considering what you get for the price they charge- until they invest that money into making this the resort that it has the potential to be, I would say that it is overpriced.

( overhaul tips: Deep clean the place! Add fireplaces, new carpets, renovate bathrooms and create a more inviting atmosphere when people enter the "hotel". Add and fix outlets so guest feel safe. Add some charm. Do that and the place will never have vacancy! :-)

Room Tip: Make sure to get a Lake-View room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank SusanWPetaluma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2016

the lake its no so big, good for smimming and phising. its perfect in july, also the beach its very crowdy. you can rent small boat or you can do watersports. or just lying on the beach bad enjoy the mountain sun

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ciprisam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2016 via mobile

There are pro's and cons to Donner Lake Village Resort. Pro's: right on the lake. Watersports equipment rental on site. Comfortable room. Small private beach. Close to Truckee. Con's: outdated rooms and fixtures. $114 per night for room over looking parking lot. Coffee maker leaked all over. Towel rack fell off of wall. Overall...I liked the place. Staff was nice, room was fine, loved the location

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DTGPM, General Manager at Donner Lake Village, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2016

Dear Kelly, thank you for highlighting our beach, great location and easy access to watersport rentals. I was very sorry to hear about your towel rack falling and the coffee mishap. I hope that you notified the front desk so they could send someone to fix things while you were still with us. We hope you return to see us again soon.
Sincerely,
Dan Tester

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

No, not the adult diapers! Everything about your time at this place depends on a few things. We've stayed here 4 times this past year and in general it's a pleasant experience. It doesn't reach a good or bad extreme.

The first "depends" consideration is the room. Every room here is actually a privately owned condo. So every owner decorates them and updates them (or doesn't update them) independently. I've had a beautiful clean and modern room and a room where the shower head and toilet seat have not been changed since the 80's. I've had excellent new mattresses and a mattress that was manufactured during the Carter administration. This also goes for the kitchenettes, or lack of them. Many rooms have some type of "kitchen" facility, but not all have the same or the same quality amenities. If the kitchen is important to you, make sure you plan ahead for that need.

Location of room is another "depends"....If your room is not facing the lake, then the view is either of the parking lot, or the road out front. Both are unappealing... But... In general it's a good location with a private marina, nice sitting area and docks in front of the lake and picnic tables / bbq's in the lakefront courtyard.

The other "depends" has to do with what's going on during your stay. 4th of July, Labor Day, Memorial Day, and New Years are very very crowded, and fun, but definitely not if you're looking for peace and quiet. Im not sure if the front desk is staffed overnight, but it doesn't seem to be. The last time we were there the place was populated almost entirely by families who allowed their kids to run wild till fairly late into the night. The halls sounded like there were multiple screaming / door slamming contests occurring one after the other. I didn't see any staff around to complain to but I'd be surprised, if there was staff on site, that they didn't hear this...in any case, if they did hear it, they didn't do anything about it.

In general it's a cool place, very unique and scenic location. I'd just warn to look into the variables I've listed before your visit, if any of them are important to you.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank Duke363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DTGPM, General Manager at Donner Lake Village, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2016

Dear Duke, thank you for your comments about the unique and scenic location at Donner Lake Village. You are correct that the lake view rooms are the best, however as you noted, even if your room is not a lakeview, there is easy access to the lake from any room on the property. I did want to let you know that you can call the front desk to take care of any of your concerns. Generally the holiday times are the busiest times of the year and therefore, probably the noisiest. There is always a manager on duty that will be able to help with any concerns.
Sincerely,
Dan Tester

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2016

We have been staying at these condo's off and on for the last 15 years and the location is really special and breath taking at times. This visit was a last minute overnight stay and BEFORE we exited our car the manager was telling us we couldn't park there if we weren't staying there...We indicated to the Manager that we were and before we gave her our name she blurted out that our room wasn't ready... She continued to have a rude attitude from there on out..
It's quite disappointing as we have stayed there a lot and really enjoyed everyone and the location. The Manager (Julie (?) has really put a damper on us visiting again..
My advice to the management company out of Squaw Valley is to review their staff interactions and use this as an opportunity to improve.

Stayed: August 2016
2  Thank nvlandguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DTGPM, General Manager at Donner Lake Village, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2016

Thank you for your long-term loyalty to Donner Lake Village. I was sorry to read about your recent encounter and would love to speak to you directly about it. Please contact me at dant@gpeak.com . Again, we are very sorry about your experience and are working hard to make important improvements at Donner Lake Village.
Sincerely,
Dan Tester

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2016 via mobile

We came here last year and stayed in a Lodgette room which was not what we expected, we were very disappointed. This year we booked a room in an updated studio closer to the lake (away from highway noise) and we had a great time! It came with a kitchen, balcony, comfy bed and places for 2 girls to sleep. We love Donner Lake and will come back here again. We will just make sure to book the same room next time.
Tip:
Make sure you're in an updated room away from road noise

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank TimandSamC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2016 via mobile

We have been coming here since the early 90's and always enjoyed our time here.
In May, I reserved our lakefront place and requested the ground floor because of an ankle tendinitis.
Their cancellation policy is refund if done 7 days prior to arrival.
We arrived at 4 pm to discover that there we would be on the second floor and for the next two hours, spent time on the phone with pointless discussions with all levels of staff.
My inquiry about elevators brought the response from the clerk "we are not required to comply with ADA".
She offered to refund the full amount because the unit could then be re-rented at a higher rate.
She then offered another unit which was a few steps higher than the second floor.
We moved into the second floor; the balcony was small and the seats high with no room to elevate my legs.
The next two days were either spent in the room or aggravating my ankle.
On the 3D day, we were moved to the ground floor.
On our last day, the manager called but she was as pointless as the others and as uncooperative .
We dealt with several staff in our 4 nights there; they were absolutely terrible.
On our return, I was most pleasantly surprised to hear from Mr. Tester. We were able to resolve the issues and he and Becky restored my unpleasant memories.
Kudos to both Mr. Tester and Becky for their understanding and professionalism.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Srbellee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DTGPM, General Manager at Donner Lake Village, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2016

Dear Srbellee,
Thank you for your comments about your follow up. We were very sorry we could not move your room as others had already checked into the hotel. We were concerned and sorry when we read your online comments I am pleased we were able to discuss your stay personally.
Sincerely,
Dan Tester

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truckee
10.8 km away
Best Western Plus Truckee-Tahoe Hotel
15.1 km away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
6.5 km away
Inn at Truckee
Inn at Truckee
#11 of 13 in Truckee
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 km away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#2 of 5 in Olympic Valley
1,978 reviews
14.9 km away
The Village At Squaw Valley
The Village At Squaw Valley
#3 of 5 in Olympic Valley
634 reviews
15.1 km away
Northstar Lodge by Welk Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Donner Lake Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Donner Lake Village

Address: 15695 Donner Pass Rd, Truckee, CA 96161-3649
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Truckee
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Truckee
Price Range: $142 - $374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Donner Lake Village 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Donner Lake Village is a year-round condominium resort nestled in the pines on the west shore of Donner Lake, one of the Sierra Nevada's most charming and beautiful alpine lakes. Our friendly staff can help you plan your visit, too. Encounter serenity in a one or two-bedroom suite, studio or spacious room complete with microwaves, refrigerators and FREE high speed wireless internet. Easy access to year round activities. In summer enjoy our private beach and marina with boat rentals. In winter hit the slopes at eight nearby world class ski resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Donner Lake Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donner Lake Village Hotel Truckee
Donner Lake Hotel
Donner Lake Resort
Donner Lake Village Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing