We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Escaped The Valley Heat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Donner Lake Village
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Truckee
Reviewed 15 July 2017

Living in the Reno area, we were looking for a convenient "one night getaway" up in the mountains, to escape the 95 degree + valley temperatures. I first came to know of the Village while kayaking at a boat launch site a short way down the road. A followup perusing of their web site led to a call to confirm our options for a one night stay. Allowing a one night stay during the peak summer season, by the way, was very much appreciated!

We chose an Upgraded Studio Deluxe Lake View unit, and were very pleasantly surprised and pleased when we arrived. It indeed had wonderful views, was an excellent room - completely upgraded with a nice bathroom and well stocked kitchen.
And the beach and dock area really made our stay first rate, enabling a very enjoyable paddle boarding experience. My wife and I also had a blast renting a very reasonably priced two place kayak next door.

The Village turned out to be a very convenient and enjoyable trip from the Reno area, and the staff was very friendly, efficient, and helpful, from the initial phone call to the answering of our numerous questions regarding our next visit by Nicole, upon our checking out. Thanks for the wonderful experience!!

Room Tip: Ground floor very convenient, with slider and screen door directly out to beach/dock area. And pay a...
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank twmorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (104)
There are newer reviews for Donner Lake Village
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2017 via mobile

Upon arrival to the resort I was pleasantly greeted by Nicole at the front desk who was so excited to let me know they had upgraded my Studio reservation to a 1 bedroom room !! With a lake view!! This gesture warmed my heart so much as I had booked this weekend getaway to try and quiet my mind and find some peace at the end of a life changing week. The resort made me feel welcome from the moment I arrived.
My room (222) had a nice lake view and was clean at arrival. I found it to be peaceful, quiet and beautiful. My unit was absolutely clean, equipped with all necessities and very good size! The private beach may be small but it is enjoyable and wasn't crowded at all at this time of year. I will absolutely recommend Donner Lake Village Resort to all my business & personal contacts; and I will be back eventually and next time I will definitely have my kids come enjoy it as well!!! Amazing weekend and beautiful scenery!

P.S.- love the keyless entry for your unit & the main doors after 8:00 p.m.! Great touch!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
Thank Lucretia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beckymoore, Manager at Donner Lake Village, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2017

Dear Lucretia H, thank you for taking the time to write a great review of Donner Lake Village. We hope we see you again soon!
Becky Moore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2017

We were not sure what to expect, this place is so heavily under marketed.
Chech in was a breeze with a super helpful and friendly staff member. Our room was a 1bed lake view room, which was amazing. Wonderful views , excellent room completely upgraded. Nice bathroom and well stocked kitchen.
It is less than 10min drive to Boreal with easy freeway access. Lots of food /restaurants around the area.
Wonderful stay would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Parul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2017

I chose Donner Lake Village (DLV) despite some of the reviews I read because my trip was last-minute. I was lucky to get a room here at a great price with the help of very accommodating staff who were willing to let me "sleep on it" and book the next day after ensuring flights, etc. I was traveling solo and arriving late at night without knowing the area. DLV' proximity to the highway and the staff's step-by-step guidance on what to do when arriving late made my arrival easy and comfortable. I never had a need not met by the front desk or housekeeping and the maintenance of the property and parking area (important in a season experiencing 175% increase in snow!) were impeccable. My unit appeared to recently renovated with the latest appliances and warm and comfy furnishings. Being within a 10-20 min. drive of several ski resorts that I wanted to experience was perhaps the winningest feature for me...after all, that''s why I came. I will stay here again and I'll book in advance to ensure they have a room for me. Hope you enjoy your stay as much as I did!

Room Tip: Book early. Ask for a room with a view of the mountains and lake.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Penelope G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beckymoore, Manager at Donner Lake Village, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2017

Thank you for your wonderful review Penelope G. And thank you for mentioning our Donner Lake Village staff who do work hard to accommodates our guests' needs.
We look forward to your return!
Becky Moore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2017 via mobile

We arteries on a Friday and walked in our room. It smelled awful so I called and absolutely nothing was done. Finally we just opened up windows with temps outside at 30.

Then we had to extend due to extreme snow and roads opened an hour later but they refused to provide any discount. Money is everything and services is non existent

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Bhavit D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beckymoore, Manager at Donner Lake Village, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2017

I am very sorry that there was not a quick response to take care of the room smell. We do strive to take care of our guests' needs and I am sorry this did not occur for you during your stay.
Becky Moore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2017

We always have great stays at Donner Lake Village for our ski trips to Sugar Bowl. This week we stayed in a wonderful Lake View Studio room, making great use of the kitchen. During the rain and 7 feet of snow that shutdown the ski slopes, we enjoyed the fast free internet, TV channel selection and DVD player. The staff cleared mountains of snow from the parking lot and handled a 15 hour power outage with grace. They gave us the option of checking out early, no charge, due to the conditions, but our room was too cozy to leave and we still got in two days of skiing. Special appreciations to Dan, Bob, Liz, Nicole.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank SugarBowler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beckymoore, Manager at Donner Lake Village, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2017

Dear SugarBowler, I am happy to hear you had a great stay during the big storm! And Thank you for highlight the staff who worked hard during your stay.
Becky Moore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2017 via mobile

We spent a week here over Christmas break and had a great time. With the location so close to Sugar Bowl and Boreal we couldn't say no. Town is only a few miles down the road which provided us with the serenity we needed. My husband and I decided to get one of their deluxe/remodeled rooms, and was pleasantly surprised with the granite counter tops and SS appliances in kitchen. Liz at the front desk was very helpful with suggestions on where to eat and what to do around town. We did not splurge for a lake view room but next time we will. They have a common area fireplace that has beautiful views of the lake which was so nice to sit by and read my book. Overall we had a great stay and will be back soon!

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Margaret T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truckee
15.1 km away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#2 of 5 in Olympic Valley
1,875 reviews
10.8 km away
Best Western Plus Truckee-Tahoe Hotel
15.1 km away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 km away
Squaw Valley Lodge
Squaw Valley Lodge
#5 of 5 in Olympic Valley
341 reviews
14.9 km away
The Village At Squaw Valley
The Village At Squaw Valley
#3 of 5 in Olympic Valley
625 reviews
6.5 km away
Inn at Truckee
Inn at Truckee
#11 of 13 in Truckee
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Donner Lake Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Donner Lake Village

Address: 15695 Donner Pass Rd, Truckee, CA 96161-3649
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Truckee
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Truckee
Price Range: $123 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Donner Lake Village 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Donner Lake Village is a year-round condominium resort nestled in the pines on the west shore of Donner Lake, one of the Sierra Nevada's most charming and beautiful alpine lakes. Our friendly staff can help you plan your visit, too. Encounter serenity in a one or two-bedroom suite, studio or spacious room complete with microwaves, refrigerators and FREE high speed wireless internet. Easy access to year round activities. In summer enjoy our private beach and marina with boat rentals. In winter hit the slopes at eight nearby world class ski resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Donner Lake Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donner Lake Village Hotel Truckee
Donner Lake Hotel
Donner Lake Resort
Donner Lake Village Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing