We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vichy Springs Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Vichy Springs Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Ukiah B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glendora, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Paradise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2011

We have been coming to Vichy Springs for many years and it continues to be one of the most excellent bed and breakfast establishments. If you are looking for rest, relaxation and the best champagne baths in the world, look no more. The springs are like sitting in a bottle of carbonated water. They are called the "radio baths." After the bath your skin will feel as soft as a baby's bottom. That's not all, the waters take your aches and pains away too. We love watching the wild turkeys, quail, and deer roam through the property. At night you can see more stars than you can believe. Mendocino county is beautiful, and this property is some of the finest in the area. See why Mark Twain and Jack London traveled here. You will love it. Lynn and Hunter Jamison

Room Tip: The cottages are our favorite, but we like the river rooms too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tomatoehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    44
    12
    10
    8
See reviews for
37
78
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Pederagal, Cabo San Lucas, Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2011

I love this resort. It is family owned by a couple who have traveled to over 125 countries so they know what travelers want. The historic integrity of the property has been maintained and everything is beautiful. It reminds me of the charming French country inns with the lovely decor and numerous flower arrangements.
The mineral baths are amazing and my skin is always so soft after bathing. I had one of the best massages I have ever had. I always make a point to enjoy the baths at night so I can look at the stars.
I also always hike to the waterfall too. Well worth the hike.
Breakfast is a feast in a beautiful dining room.
My children love the pool and all the deer, newts, turtles and lizards. Vichy is a beautiful park with acres to hike.
We will return again and again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaboMargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mill Valley, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

The grounds of the resort are lovely and well kept but I get the slight feeling they are taking advantage of the sites history to attract visitors from far and wide. For approximately $190.00 a night they should have towel service by the pools and springs, as well as robes in the rooms. Resurfacing the bubbly mineral tubs every other year or so would go a long way as well. Small upgrades like these would add a level of generosity to their price point that would make me more interested in going back.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AntonetteBernadine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springville, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

If a vacation in a peaceful setting with only the noise of gurgling streams and singing birds appeals to you, then this is the place for you. The huge pool and mineral baths were quiet and relaxing. The property is huge and there are several hiking trails including one to a set of pretty waterfalls. The breakfast was very good with fresh pastry, fruit and cereal. We had a simple but pretty room (Creekside) and when we opened the window at night it was the first time we ever fell asleep to the sound of a babbling brook. We also had a couples massage which was most relaxing especially after soaking in the tubs and hot jacuzzi. We missed having a TV at night but leaving it all behind and chilling out is part of the charm of this hidden gem...bring a book along and relax!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Krista J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
98 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

I have been going to Vichy Hot Springs once a year for several years.

Pros:
I like the gardens, flowers, environment and the springs.
The breakfast is good and hearty, and the rooms are small and beautifully appointed.\
I also enjoy the hiking trails and the baths.


The cons:
1. The noice from the shooting ring near by. You can hear it by the pool, especially in the morning.
2. They allow day use and sometimes it gets very crowded and it is hard to find an open mineral bath. On one stay, they had a big group of people coming in, and they were loud, noisy and used all the facilities. It was awful. They should limit the number of day users mainly on the weekends. It is not fair for the guests that paid full price to stay there, since the resort is not cheap.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BayAreaTra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Jorge, Portugal
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

On a road-trip back from Oregon, I stumbled upon Vichy Hot Springs. It couldn't have been a more perfect to spend the last night of my trip. The manager let me check in a little early, so I immediately went to the pool, the spa, then an individual tub. I've been to other hot springs (Esalen, Turkey), but never to carbonated springs. The sensation was completely different than anything I've experienced. The water bubbles along your skin, then all of a sudden, the most lovely, peaceful warmth generates throughout your body.
The rooms are lined up ranch-style...no TV's and beautifully furnished. You are very close to your neighbor, though. There were several families when I stayed, playing softball on the lawn into the evening. Everything quieted down by 9pm. A lovely breakfast awaits you in the morning.
Although the spring water is amazing, I prefer a little more privacy in my accomodation. A great place to return with family.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank littlefoot129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taylorsville, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

Vichy has great compact, comfortable rooms without TVs and I love that. It's not clothing optional however there are private outdoor rooms and they are heavenly. Since it's a warm spring, it's best during warmer weather. No sulphur smell, the bubbles make it seem like you're floating in a champagne glass. Staff is great, breakfast is great and it's family friendly.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Akcally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ukiah
5.1 km away
Hampton Inn Ukiah
Hampton Inn Ukiah
#1 of 15 in Ukiah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
13.0 km away
The Lodge at Blue Lakes
The Lodge at Blue Lakes
#2 of 3 in Upper Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
5.2 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites Ukiah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.2 km away
Baechtel Creek Inn
Baechtel Creek Inn
#4 of 9 in Willits
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
4.0 km away
BEST WESTERN Orchard Inn
30.7 km away
The Old West Inn
The Old West Inn
#3 of 9 in Willits
5.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vichy Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vichy Springs Resort

Property: Vichy Springs Resort
Address: 2605 Vichy Springs Rd, Ukiah, CA 95482-3507
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Ukiah
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Ukiah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Vichy Springs Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vichy Springs is the best of two worlds a country inn and a hot springs resort. Rooms and cottages for overnight stays include full use of the naturally warm and carbonated Vichy mineral baths, hot soaking pool, Olympic size pool in summer and 700 private acre reserve to walk and explore. Breakfast is included in the morning, WIFI and telephone. Massage, facials and hot stone massage are available from 8am to 8pm daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Vichy Springs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vichy Springs Hotel Ukiah
Vichy Hot Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing