We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room reeked of Mold, broken bathroom vent fan and thermostat!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Union City/San Jose
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Union City
Waltham, Massachusetts, USA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Room reeked of Mold, broken bathroom vent fan and thermostat!”
Reviewed 19 December 2011

After a long drive from Los Angeles, and in need of a goodnight's rest, I got stuck with a room that just fell apart on me. I walked in the room that masked a faint scent of mold. I tried to slide open the windows that had a lock and only opened two inches wide. I took a shower and went out for dinner just to find out that the odor of mold got worse and the small opening from the window did not help airing out the room. I then realized that not only the thermostat to blow air out of the room was broken, but the bathrooms vent fan did not work either possibly causing the mold in the room! I spoke to the night clerk wanting to change to another room since I'm staying here for two days. He wanted to make sure that the room did smell like mold prior to allowing me to change to another room, so I told him to come upstairs. I moved next door just to find out that the non-smoking room I got smells like someone smoked in it. The bed was hard and squeaked every time I moved and the worse part was my room faced the major street and it felt like you were living in a third world country. The noise pollution from passing vehicles resonated in the bedroom even though you had the windows closed. It was bad. On the other hand, the lady in the kitchen during breakfast was nice as well as the cleaning lady. I agree with one's review of the place in need of updating and better ventilation system.

Room Tip: There's another hotel a few feet from this place. Stay in that one instead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AACC777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bhupen12, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Union City/San Jose, responded to this review, 22 December 2011
Dear Waltham,

Thank you for your comments and input. I will personally check the ventilation and thermostat in your guestroom as your experience is unacceptable. Please be assured that we will address these issues right away and confirm that other rooms also do not have similar problems.

We appreciate your compliment regarding our staff and will certainly pass along your kind words to our team. We invite you to return on your next visit to Union City and we assure you that your stay will be much better. Thank you again for your time and Happy Holidays.

Sincerely,

Marie Cornell
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express - Union City, CA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    39
    12
    3
    6
See reviews for
19
15
5
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level Contributor
89 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2011

We were here on a business trip and we chose this hotel because of the location.

The rooms two of my coworker and I stayed in this hotel were outdated, all of our rooms had bad odor and the internet is incredibly slowed here. We were not able to log on to the internet to do our work.

The rooms were old, dark, and we were not able to get any sleep during our entire stays. This hotel definitely needs a lot of remodeling to bring it up-to-date.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbn60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bhupen12, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Union City/San Jose, responded to this review, 23 November 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We are sincerely committed to excellent service and quality at our hotel. In fact, we recently completed a major renovation including new furniture, lighting, bedding walls, tubs and bathroom finishes.

We will continue to look for ways to improve. Based on your comments, we have contacted our Internet Provider about upgraded bandwidth and coverage. These upgrades should be completed within the next week.

We appreciate your time and consideration. We hope you will give us another opportunity to earn your business soon. Thanks again and happy holidays!

Ann Marie Serador
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverton, Utah
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2011

We stayed here for only one night October 29, 2011. Unfortunately,the circumstance that brought us here was a funeral, but the hotel met our needs. It is conveniently located right off I-880, and amdist a huge shopping complex loaded with stores and restaurants and even a movie theatre. If you stay here, you'll easily be able to find something to do at night!

Our room itself was a little worn, but was more than adequate for the night, and the price was right, too. The neighborhood and surrounding environs feel completely safe.

I must commend the hotel for allowing a SUPER-early check-in. We flew into Oakland on a morning flight, and stopped by the hotel before the funeral to see if we could drop off our bags. Not only did they let us do that: they had our room ready for us at 10:30am! Excellent job!

There is only one elevator, and it it is little slow, but overall, I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bhupen12, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Union City/San Jose, responded to this review, 13 December 2011
Dear Marykdan,

Thank you for your feedback and input. Though we are sorry that you were attending a funeral, we are pleased that we were able to help accomodate you. Thank you for your kind words about our service, value and location. We truly work hard to provide the best quality for our guests and it is always nice to hear positive feedback.

We hope to see you again soon, under different circumstances. Happy Holidays from all of us at the Holiday Inn Express in Union City!

Sincerely,

Marie Cornell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Big Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
469 reviews
193 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2011

Rooms were clean and the bed was comfortable. My room had a microwave and a fridge. What I would expect from a HIE. There are several dining and shopping locations, as well as a grocery store all within walking distance. The one issue I did have was the road noise and thin walls. Rooms facing Alvardo-Niles Road should be avoided. I was startled awake by sirens and a loud motorcycle in the wee hours. Internet was sloooooowwww. I rebooted my computer a couple of times and speed improved but it was only temporary. A real disappointment. Business center is a small desk in the lobby. Overall an acceptable stay but nothing more than average.

Room Tip: Stay away from roadside rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2011

Our family spent 6 days there and had awonderful stay. the rooms and housecleaning were outstanding. the staff was 2nd to none and helped us in any way they could. the pool and hottub were clean and convenient. The breakfast was very good and had a few differences everyday. The rates were reasonable and was an all around hit with our family. They had wine and snacks from 5-7 every evening. The location to restaurants and attractions was perfect. I still am amazed at how friendly the staff was. If yu stay check out the fresh start restaurant. and the IFLY indoor skydiving. There are discounts online for it my son loved it.

Room Tip: Rooms are clean and well taken care of by the housekeeping.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robs2346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alaska
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2011

The Good:
The hotel is clean and they have free wine and snacks sometime after 5:00pm.
They're next to everything.. there's ihop, fedex, Texas Roadhouse, TGI Friday's, Inn-in-Out a grocery store and a movie theatre. My goal is to make it back and use the indoor skydiving facility that is next door. The staff is friendly and helpful.

The Bad:
Its been recently renovated and its an old building... my ceiling started to leak at some point and they moved my rooms. I stayed here for at least a few times over the month for what seems like a couple weeks (all this traveling starts to blur together after awhile).

Good lord, they have some of the slowest internet I've used in awhile. Get it together.

The Funny:
I used a trolley to take some heavy pelican cases to my room and forgot about it. Unbeknownst to me, they started a hardcore investigation looking for it. The housekeepers swore that it wasn't in any rooms they were cleaning. (I always leave a do-not-disturb sign on the door). They made a decision to open all the do-not-disturb doors and peek in... and that's how they caught me. Anyways, anytime it went missing after that, I was the first person they tracked down to ask about it.

Too funny.

Room Tip: The normal king size rooms are actually better than the executive rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kenjini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bhupen12, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Union City/San Jose, responded to this review, 12 July 2011
Hi Alaska,

Thanks for the feedback and humor. Sorry about the overzealous attempts to track down the "missing luggage cart" and we will definitely check on our internet speeds. Oddly, we just upgraded to Hi Speed Cable service (vs slower DSL), so hopefully it is just a setting issue.

Please come again soon and enjoy some new wines at our reception and shops at the Union Landing center. The Sky High indoor parachuting is a real thrill and definitely worth a visit.

Thanks again!

The Holiday Inn Express Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Union City, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 March 2011

The worst hotel experience ever. We were harassed repeatedly by other guests in the hotel. While sitting in the hot tub we were flipped off, mooned, and called horrible names. I broughtthis to hotel staff attention several times. The next morning the problem contiued in the breakfast room. I again brought it to hotel staff attention and requested the police be called. They did not. They allowed for teenagers to roam all floors of the hotel till late hours of the night. They used the luggage racks as race cars in the hallways. I requested a new room would not accomidate. There was no management. I am still waiting for a call. The worst customer service. We were scared there was no security. I was left to deal with the situation. They would only call the chaperon down to the lobby have me talk to them. That made the chaperon mad and the situation worse. They hung out by our door and every time we went out the door they would block it so we couldn't pass and would continue with the name calling.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glangley63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ashpujara, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Union City/San Jose, responded to this review, 25 March 2011
Dear Ms. Langley,

We truly regret the terrible circumstances encountered between you and the school group staying at our hotel over the weekend. Please understand that our staff did sincerely attempt to resolve this dispute, and was eventually forced to call the police to intervene on behalf of all parties.

Our hotel prides itself on exceptional service and care for our guests and their comfort. Unfortunately, this situation escalated beyond all of our control and we are grateful that no one was injured. We have compensated you for the inconvenience and again extend our most sincere apology.

If you have any further questions or comments, please contact me or the police officer involved directly, as we must respect everyone’s (including the minor children’s) privacy under these circumstances. Thank you again for your cooperation.

Respectfully yours,

Ashish Pujara
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express – Union City, CA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Union City
0.3 km away
Hampton Inn Union City
Hampton Inn Union City
#1 of 4 in Union City
278 reviews
0.9 km away
Crowne Plaza Silicon Valley North-Union City
0.2 km away
Extended Stay America - Union City - Dyer St.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 km away
Aloft Silicon Valley
Aloft Silicon Valley
#3 of 9 in Newark
244 reviews
9.4 km away
Best Western Plus Garden Court Inn
10.9 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Newark-Fremont
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Union City/San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Union City/San Jose

Property: Holiday Inn Express Union City/San Jose
Address: 31140 Alvarado Niles Rd, Union City, CA 94587-2701
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Union City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Union City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Union City/San Jose 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Union City, CA! We are located in the heart of the SF Bay Area and at the gateway to Silicon Valley! The new Union City Holiday Inn Express Hotel offers all the modern amenities with the convenient to Oakland, Hayward, Fremont, & San Jose. We are also central to several major universities & attractions including Cal State Hayward, UC Berkeley, Jack London Square, Oakland Coliseum & Arena, Chabot College, Stanford University, Great America Theme Park, and San Jose State University. Located adjacent to the Union Landing Entertainment Complex, our guests can choose from over a dozen restaurants, a variety of shopping options, IFLY (indoor skydiving) and 25 movie screens within walking distance. Choose to dine at Chevy s, Chili s, TGI Friday s, Texas Roadhouse, Applebee s, IHOP, or just pick up a snack at In-N-Out Burger, or Krispy Kreme Donuts. The hotel features an indoor/outdoor solar heated pool, heated whirlpool spa, on-site fitness center plus our renowned complimentary Express Start breakfast bar. Our guest rooms feature free high-speed internet access, coffee makers, iron and ironing boards, two-line speaker phones with voice mail and ergonomic chair. We are central to all Bay Area airports: San Jose, South (SJC), Oakland, North (OAK) and San Francisco (SFO) - each within a 25 mile range. We look forward to serving you on your next visit to the Bay Area! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Union City/San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Union City/San Jose Hotel Union City
Holiday Inn Union City
Union City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing