We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Walnut Creek
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 11 November 2011

I have have to stay at quite a few hotels (to say the least) along with several co workers through out the year. We all had the pleasure of staying at the Holiday Inn Express in Walnut Creek, Ca. When we arrived the front desk staff greeted us all with a warm and welcoming reception! The rooms are very clean, as well as the entire hotel. I however requested to be in a room with certain feature accommodations. The front desk clerk, Margaret, all though very busy, was extremely helpful making sure that my needs were met. She kept a pleasant and sincere smile all the while! Not only did she give it her all to meet my needs, she treated us all as though we were all #1 guests! I along with many of my associates will always choose this site because of the gracious service this young lady provided us. Big Thanks and appreciation to Margaret!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (573)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

464 - 470 of 573 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2011

I stayed about ten days in the Holiday Inn in Walnut Creek and can recommend it especially to price sensitive bookers. The key advantages and disadvantages are:

Pros:
- Good value for money
- Spacious, clean rooms
- Friendly staff

Cons:
- Very noisy and drafty, outdated air condition/heating under the window
- Low budget breakfast with a lack of fresh food; paper plates

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JansTippp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

The staff was very helpful. The room was clean and quiet. The breakfast was also pretty good. Many of my co-worker like the place too. Not far from bay (SF) area.

Room Tip: Silvia a front counter staff is a friendly and helpful person.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Stayed here for a week with my partner on an 8 day trip to San Francisco.

The areas itself is lovely with hills and greenery and is close to the BART station at Pleasant Hill, a 6-8 minute walk. They have a suttle to the station that operates weekdays 8-4pm within (3 mile radius).

We chose not to rent a car in SF as it really was not necssary with all the transport options. You can get the pittsburg Bay area train from the airport direct to Pleasant Hill. It takes about an hour. If the shuttle has stopped running and you do not feel like walking there is alos a bus from the station to outside the hotel which takes about 3 minutes and costs $2 We rarely had to use this option apart from once on a late return to the hotel when we were too tired to walk.

We travel alot and often stay at Holiday Inns. This was one of the best hotesl we have ever stayed in.

The room we were originally allocated overlooked the side of the hotel. The room itself was fine. It would have been OK for a short trip. The next morning we asked if a change to a poolside room was possible. The gentleman at reception a young hsipanic looking guy sorted this out within 10 minutes. The room was identical but had a nicer view of the pool area and had a fridge and microwave.

We were checked in by lady named Sylvia who was wonderful and helpful.

On the first night we were too tired to go out. There was a god chinese restarant less than 5 minutes walk which seemed popular with the locals. I would recommend this place.

I felt the area was safe even in the evenings.

I usally like to stay slightly ot of town when I travel. The BART got you into town within 30 minutes with no changes.

The bathrooms and rooms were clean. The bed was bliss. We used the jacuzzi near the pool. The pool and jacuzzi are open 10-10. There was adequate storage space in the room to hang clothes etc. The aircon/heating worked well though we did not need to use them.

The train goes through some beautiful country areas. It was worth the travel and
I would stay here again.

The place is pet friendly. It was very quiet and peaceful. We loved it. We had originally chosen a place closer to town but am glad we changed our minds.

Room Tip: Pool side looks nicer
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlie67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

The staff was very helpful. The room was clean and quiet. The breakfast was also pretty good. My family will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AngelaMM_49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

It's what you'd expect for a HI-Express...well appointed lobby, very, very clean rooms and helpful front-desk staff. Ample free parking is available - there was one dedicated motorcycle spot right in front of the hotel. Recommend asking for rooms on the side of the hotel that is not facing the rock crushing operation. My first room was on that side and the work crews start work fairly early in the morning - lots of truck noise, "back-up beeping" sounds, etc. The hotel is pretty big so they should be able to accomodate your request - they certainly did for me. Breakfast was good and substantial each morning - however it did get crowded in there so seating was at a premium. But the staff did a great job keeping everything stocked, hot and fresh. There is only one lobby computer for guests and it was being used frequently. There is a decent "locals" sports bar right across the street w/ decent bar food. Very convenient location to jump on I-680 and lots of "box store" shopping w/in close driving distance. Overall a very good experience.

Room Tip: Ask for room away from the rock crushing operation... as you face the hotel, the rock quarry is to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JANDC007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

Our church youth group stayed for one night. in August 2011. The location was perfect and safe. We loved Silvia, front staff was very kind to our kids. The manager, Robert was great and very professional to work with. Breakfast was wonderful! Definitely will stay again next year.
PrescottH from Seattle,

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank PrescottH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Walnut Creek
0.6 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Walnut Creek
1.3 km away
Walnut Creek Marriott
Walnut Creek Marriott
#1 of 7 in Walnut Creek
788 reviews
0.6 km away
Renaissance ClubSport Walnut Creek Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Diablo Mountain Inn
Diablo Mountain Inn
#5 of 7 in Walnut Creek
80 reviews
5.4 km away
Hilton Concord
Hilton Concord
#1 of 8 in Concord
982 reviews
2.2 km away
HYATT house Pleasant Hill
HYATT house Pleasant Hill
#1 of 6 in Pleasant Hill
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek

Address: 2730 N Main St, Walnut Creek, CA 94597-2732
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Walnut Creek
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Walnut Creek
#2 Family Hotel in Walnut Creek
#3 Business Hotel in Walnut Creek
Price Range: $157 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek the perfect hotel for business or pleasure in the East Bay area of San Francisco. The Holiday Inn Express has transformed into a warm and modern hotel featuring contemporary furnishings, a natural light conservatory and a relaxing library area. The Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek, CA hotel, minutes from Concord, Pleasant Hill and Moraga, offers access to I-680 for access to Oakland, San Francisco, San Jose, and all parts of the San Francisco Bay Area. Or, if you prefer to avoid driving, BART is 3 blocks away and takes you to San Francisco within 30 minutes. Visiting St. Mary s College, Concord Pavilion, & the upscale Broadway Shopping Plaza of Walnut Creek are all easy from the hotel.If you re working in Walnut Creek, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel makes visiting PMI, Siemens Oncology, Kaiser Permanente or PG&E easy and stress-free. In Contra Costa County, the Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek, CA is well known for being one of the only hotels in Walnut Creek to offer free high-speed Internet access, free parking, and free shuttle service within 3 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek Hotel Walnut Creek
Holiday Inn Walnut Creek
Walnut Creek Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing