We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Walnut Creek
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
san francisco
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“a great stay”
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We stayed here for 2 weeks and were very, very happy. The beds comfortable, the rooms quiets
and especially the friendly and helpful staff. One front desk person, Jairo Cisneros went out of the way to help us whenever we had a problem ... like when we changed rooms and left some property in the old room and didn't remember it until the very end of our stay.

Room Tip: room off the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank p967052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    237
    207
    77
    18
    8
See reviews for
180
119
41
145
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 5 nights as the end of our CA road trip to visit friends in the bay area and attend a wedding.

Room basic and clean, parking is free, front desk really helpful. Slight noise from the freeway behind the hotel, but not disruptive. Thin walls could be a problem if you have noisy neighbors but we didn't experience any issues. Mainly frequented by business travelers unless you are staying in the school break or weekends, when could be noiser.

Room got a little cold ( although heaters worked really well when manually switched on), probably due to old ill fitting windows.

Breakfast included in room rate was good, and varied, though would suggest that they could do with more fruit / non carb options. Coffee was not very good though.

All in all though, good value for money if you just need a base and somewhere to sleep.

Good location for walnut creek, pleasant hill, and Bart into the city, as well all plenty of restaurants, banks and shops etc less than 5 mins drive away.

Would definitely stay again.

NB charges extra $10 per night if you ask from a fridge in your room which is ridiculous!

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank chrissywissy100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redding, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Cheap hotel in an expensive location, so that was why I ended up booking it, so what can you expect? I would have given it a four, but there was a blood stain on the sheet and some other weird stains in the room. Then again, some people may not even have noticed this stuff and thought that the room was fine. Other than that, the hotel served its purpose: a one night stay en route to our vacation location. Overall, it was clean and the free breakfast was nice.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sopinion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
sopinion,

Thank you for your recent stay, and providing feedback. It is IHG's goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We look forward to hosting you on your next trip!

Ben J
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 March 2012

My parents stayed here on a visit from Canada and thought the value was great. Clean ros, good services and a steal for the price

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanadianMikeJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
League City, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Were very accomadating. Faxed info needed to do my Job. Provided a 'fridg" and microwave.
Breakfast selection was excellant. Had coffee available all day and evenihg. Had business center which allowed me to print schedules, forms etc ( had my laptop, but no printer)
Ample parking.
Close to Burger King, Wendy, IHop, and Good Italian Resturant, and Chinese Resturant.
Made my five week stay very pleasant

Room Tip: Never had an issue with my room, so can't offer any sugestions
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronald L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
234 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

We enjoyed our two day stay in Walnut Creek - to visit an old college friend. The motel was excellent - reception really professional, the rooms great, drinks and snacks throughout the day very welcome, very good breakfasts and a really nice outdoor pool area. The only drawback was the noise of the nearby freeway - we asked to be moved for our second night and that was much more peaceful.
Walnut Creek itself is pleasant - we walked into the historic centre the first night. Then we walked up the canal, adjacent to the motel, up to the excellent Ruth Bancroft Garden. We went from the nearby BART station into San Francisco which was very convenient. We drove up and hiked on wonderful Mount Diablo - well worth a visit. Oh - and we experienced an earthquake while sitting in the foyer of the motel - it was no big shakes, but the local television made a big deal about the quake!

All in all a very enjoyable and eventful stay.

Room Tip: ask for one facing away from the freeway
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robinhenshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaGrange, Georgia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

The hotel is well priced but I could hear the people next door like they were sitting in my room. I could hear 2 men talking most of the evening. A woman and 2 kids arrived @ 2am. Since there were kids with them I assumed they'd quiet down within 20 minutes or so, but by 2:40 I had to call the front desk for assistance. They did respond, but people really didn't settle down until after 3am. The hotel is clean and the staff very friendly and helpful. It is too bad that people are so inconsiderate of others when traveling.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlabamaTraveler33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, IHGCARE at Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek, responded to this review, 29 March 2012
Dear AlabamaTraveler33,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. I certainly apologize for the inconveniences you experienced

I was disappointed to read that you had a poor experience when you stayed at our hotel. I am pleased that our staff was able to assist and off set this displeasure with great service.

Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us. We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope your future travel plans will continue to include IHG.

Regards,
Brenda J.
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Walnut Creek
1.3 km away
Walnut Creek Marriott
Walnut Creek Marriott
#1 of 7 in Walnut Creek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
0.6 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Walnut Creek
0.6 km away
Renaissance ClubSport Walnut Creek Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
HYATT house Pleasant Hill
HYATT house Pleasant Hill
#1 of 5 in Pleasant Hill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
2.5 km away
Courtyard Pleasant Hill
Courtyard Pleasant Hill
#2 of 5 in Pleasant Hill
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
4.5 km away
Lafayette Park Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek

Property: Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek
Address: 2730 N Main St, Walnut Creek, CA 94597-2732
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Walnut Creek
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Walnut Creek
#2 Family Hotel in Walnut Creek
#3 Business Hotel in Walnut Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek the perfect hotel for business or pleasure in the East Bay area of San Francisco. The Holiday Inn Express has transformed into a warm and modern hotel featuring contemporary furnishings, a natural light conservatory and a relaxing library area. The Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek, CA hotel, minutes from Concord, Pleasant Hill and Moraga, offers access to I-680 for access to Oakland, San Francisco, San Jose, and all parts of the San Francisco Bay Area. Or, if you prefer to avoid driving, BART is 3 blocks away and takes you to San Francisco within 30 minutes. Visiting St. Mary s College, Concord Pavilion, & the upscale Broadway Shopping Plaza of Walnut Creek are all easy from the hotel.If you re working in Walnut Creek, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel makes visiting PMI, Siemens Oncology, Kaiser Permanente or PG&E easy and stress-free. In Contra Costa County, the Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek, CA is well known for being one of the only hotels in Walnut Creek to offer free high-speed Internet access, free parking, and free shuttle service within 3 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity.ca, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek Hotel Walnut Creek
Holiday Inn Walnut Creek
Walnut Creek Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing