We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect LA Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in West Hollywood
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“The Perfect LA Experience”
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Stayed here for Three nights at the end of April -
I thought the hotel would be really snobby and prententious but I had the complete opposite experience - The staff were really lovely and very laid back, they made me feel welcome immediately and went out of their way to accomodate my requests.
The Hotel is perfectly located on Sunset with the very best of LA at your doorstep
I enjoyed the design of the room, the beds were comfortable and the shower was really powerful
My only small (slightly random) concern would be the Food at Asia de Cuba; which would have been absolutely delicious if only if was served Hot! For some reason the food always came out luke warm; you may want to request your food extra hot when ordering.

I definately intend to return ...once the Pool is open

Room Tip: I think they've got great views all round; but I was on the 5th Floor with a view of the Hills w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lola s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChloeGEM, Guest Relations Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2012
Thank you for staying with us at Mondrian!! I love to hear your great comments regarding our staff. We really pride ourselves on making our guests feel like family and close friends. I am glad you enjoyed the location, and I will definitely pass on your feedback regarding the temperature of the food at the restaurant to our Chef. Our pool is now open, so please come back and visit us. Regards, Chloe Linder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,996 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    825
    592
    284
    160
    135
See reviews for
195
781
125
342
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (439)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

The service was fantastic, staff went out of their way to ensure everything ran smoothly. We were a little disapointed that Skybar and the pool were closed for renovations however there were some extra perks during this time.

Amazing rooms, bathrooms a little small but still lovely.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LD85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChloeGEM, Guest Relations Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2012
I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! The Pool and Skybar are now open so we hope to see you in the near future. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback. Sincerely, Chloe Linder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
78 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012 via mobile

The hotel has a simple and completely white design, contemporary and the opposite of the dark average W-Hotel. Although a refurbished old hotel, the overall design is at the top end of the scale when looking at the average Ian Schrager hotel. Very nice and large rooms, creative and different clever layout/design which is also functional. Cool typical LA-style bar (screaming girls do to some boy group in front of the hotel), and very friendly/professional/competent staff. Simply a well managed hotel! The breakfast at Asia de Cuba wasn't great, but my criticism was handled extremely professional by the hotel, so that I don't belief it reflects the average experience (I in fact had some great breakfast there before). 

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GermanWorldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChloeGEM, Guest Relations Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2012
I appreciate your feedback! I am glad to hear you enjoyed the design and functionality of our hotel rooms. I am sorry you did not enjoy your breakfast at Asia de Cuba, but I am happy to hear that the staff handled your criticism in a professional manner. I hope you get the chance to come back and visit us really soon! Sincerely, Chloe Linder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

I go to the Mondrian three times a year since 2005 and I have tried a lot of different other hotels in LA but none of them has its charm. Great location, restaurant and rooms. One of my favorite hotels in the world. I recommend it to everyone and especially if it is your first time in LA. Ask for a room with a view on the city.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeleconiac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChloeGEM, Guest Relations Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Thank you for posting this awesome review. Glad you are a part of the Mondrian family. See you soon. Regards, Chloe Linder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

We stayed there for a total of 5 nights. The experience we have is an utmost service. The staff from valet, reception and in the restaurants are all professionals and friendly. The knowledge of the staff in the restaurant are exceptional. Plus the foods are amazing and worth the price you are paying for.

The pool is close until May but am sure once it's open it will have an amazing atmosphere and tons of vibrant people.

Great job everyone!!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank generationspartan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChloeGEM, Guest Relations Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
I love hearing this kind of feedback! Thank you for your compliments regarding our service. I am glad our staff was able to provide you with a memorable experience. I hope you come back soon to visit. Sincerely, Chloe Linder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

By far the best hotel we have ever stayed in. All the staff were super friendly, helpful and efficient.
The hotel is both light, trendy and laid back in styling. The pool was unfortunately closed due to refurbishment; however the staff were very apologetic and upgraded our room for free.
The room was amazing. The view was superb and the location I think is the best in L.A.
We would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rahulandvictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChloeGEM, Guest Relations Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Thank you for your nice comments. I am happy you had a superb experience with us! Please come back and visit soon. Regards, Chloe Linder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

I did not stay the hotel (though I have in the past, pre-renovation, and it was great, as are all my stays at Morgans Hotels ...) ... this time I just came for lunch, and it was delicious. The restaurant staff were gracious, hilarious, fun & knowledgable and I enjoyed an absolutely amazing meal with my friends. The view is gorgeous, and I can't wait go back after the outdoor dining area reopens in mid-May. totally worth it !!

The three of us had a TunaPica, a lobster roll, the calamari salad, then split 2 entrees (monkfish and the chicken with chimuchurri sauce) and 2 sides: the rice and the boniato mash. Then we couldn't decide between desserts, so we got the Coco de Cielo AND the Mexican donuts. OH MY GOD we were deliciously stuffed. That was probably enough food for an extra person at the table ! But I loved it all.

one of my favorite restaurants of all time, for sure.

Room Tip: The views of LA are incredible !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KSham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChloeGEM, Guest Relations Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Thank you for your recent visit to Asia de Cuba. It sounds like you had an amazing time. I am glad you enjoyed the service and food. My favorite dishes as well are the Tuna Pica and the Calamari Salad. We will see you in the summer when the patio re- opens. Regards, Chloe Linder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Hollywood hotels
Andaz West Hollywood
#4 of 19 in West Hollywood
2,814 reviews
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#5 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,663 reviews
West Hollywood
The London West Hollywood
The London West Hollywood
#3 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Hollywood
Sunset Tower Hotel
Sunset Tower Hotel
#1 of 19 in West Hollywood
984 reviews
West Hollywood
Petit Ermitage
Petit Ermitage
#2 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,005 reviews
West Hollywood
Grafton on Sunset
Grafton on Sunset
#10 of 19 in West Hollywood
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel

Property: Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
Address: 8440 Sunset Boulevard, West Hollywood, CA 90069-1912
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > West Hollywood > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in West Hollywood
#10 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
#10 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
#11 Luxury Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mondrian LA is a parallel universe of perpetual possibility. Rejuvenated by Benjamin Noriega-Ortiz, this luxury boutique hotel in the heart of West Hollywood captures everything the Strip stands for - excitement, invincibility and glamour. Entering Mondrian through its signature, thirty-foot mahogany doors, guests will find the recently expanded lobby, accented with hues of deep purple and complemented by custom-designed furniture, a Lucite indoor swing and a mushroom-inspired concierge desk. Complimentary high speed wireless internet access is offered in the lobby. Ivory On Sunset, a restaurant which is a collaboration with John Terzian of The h.wood Group, Built Inc. and Hakkasan Group, celebrates California cuisine and comfort foods to encourage diners to embrace the restaurant's communal philosophy, while our Lobby Bar serves a full cafe menu in the morning and small plates in the evening. Up in the sky, amid the clouds of Los Angeles, guests can enjoy the stunning view from our Skybar lounge, Los Angeles' mainstay for nightlife. Exxhibit Boutique, our gift shop, offers curated items tailored for the LA scene. Mondrian is located right on the Sunset Strip, close to Fox Studios, Paramount Pictures, Staples Center, Dodgers Stadium, Hollywood Hills, Santa Monica, Rodeo Drive and Getty Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel West Hollywood
Mondrian Hotel West Hollywood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing