We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still a good hotel, but could use a refresh.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in West Hollywood
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 11 October 2017

The last time I was at this hotel was 2001, but I recently stayed for a long weekend in 10/2017. We enjoyed the pool and bar areas, they are still visually pleasing and the “beautiful people” still seem to flock here. The hotel rooms and common areas are showing their age however. Our room had signs of neglected maintenance in items like the shower grout, and other little things. The hallway carpet, paint, and lighting were looking very tired on our floor. I would not recommend a room along the Sunset Blvd side, as it is noisy at night and the windows don’t keep out all of the traffic noise. It felt like a fire engine drove by every five minutes at this location. The room itself was small, and the bathroom was right next to one of the beds, meaning if you used the toilet you were all of two feet and a sliding privacy door away from one of the room’s bedrooms. Not a great layout. We did eat poolside,and the food was great. We especially enjoyed the bartender at the outdoor restaurant, which is separated from the pool area.

Room Tip: Avoid Sunset Blvd rooms, due to road and traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank KentTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis S, Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Hello KentTravels,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback! We are so happy you enjoyed our pool and bar areas! Should your travels bring you back to West Hollywood please feel free to reach out to me directly. I can be reached at MondrianLA@sbe.com.

Kind Regards,
Luis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

60 - 66 of 2,135 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2017

For my prior two most recent business trips to Los Angeles I stayed at Ritz Marina Del Rey due to proximity to my meetings. For this trip I returned to one of my favorite hotels, Mondrian. True, it is not what most people would say is a 'traditional' business hotel, but it is exactly what I like when in LA. I absolutely love breakfast outdoors and try to get as much work done as possible near the pool. Nikki, Nubia, Alex and Jennifer were all very pleasant.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis S, Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Hello Joel H,

Thank you for the great review! We are so happy to hear that we are one of your favorite hotels! Come back and visit again! Please feel free to reach out to me directly should your travel brings you back to West Hollywood. I can be reached at MondrianLA@sbe.com.

Kind Regards,
Luis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017 via mobile

Must admit that Mondrian LA is completely something else than the rest of Morgans Group hotels...
Unless you are a trashy, constantly drunk type of a guest there is nothing for you because if sober you wouldn't like the 'customer service' they provide.
Hotel staff has pretty nasty attitude.
Highlights:
*Doorman will totally ignore you, with all your bags in hand, wont call the elevator since it room key to scan.Not even greet you-it happened every day of our stay.
*Valet told us to get the f*** out of the car while being dropped off.
*Know that hotel guests are the last ones to have priority at the pool area. All of the chairs are always reserved for bottle service.It is obvious that their target group is pool party crowed, which doesn't stay in hotel.
I guess hospitality over there is hell of a work. Such a shame...

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank DanicaMia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis S, Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Hello DanicaMia,

We appreciate your feedback as it is very important to us in order to improve. Please feel free to reach out to me directly should your travels bring you back to the West Hollywood area. I can be reached at MondrianLA@sbe.com.

Kind Regards,
Luis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017

Rooms are in slight need of an upgrade but there is no better place to stay in LA if you want a good atmosphere around the pool. Great location but more expensive than next door but if you stay at both you will realise why.

Stayed: April 2017
1  Thank Carl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis S, Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2017

Hello Carl H,

Thank you for the great review. Should your travels bring you back to West Hollywood please feel free to reach out to me directly. I can be reached at MondrianLA@sbe.com.

Kind Regards,
Luis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

The Mondrian is located very centrally in West Hollywood although I was still surprised at the lack of restaurants and bars close to the hotel. That's fine for me as I wasn't wanting to be out every night but maybe not so for others.
My first night was a Friday night and the sky bar was in full swing. All I wanted was to sleep having travelled over 36 hours to get there, but I knew it was a Friday and I was not one to make a complaint on my first night, and also knowing I was tired and easily annoyed at that moment! However, the music was loud, I mean really really loud, to the point where I didn't even bother trying to sleep until it went off at 2am. I had a room with a balcony on the 8th floor overlooking the pool with two lots of double glazed windows, but the noise still came through. Clearly they are aware of the noise... thankfully the Friday night was the only really crazy night and the others were no issue otherwise I would have requested a room change. I was in room 812.
Mr room itself was good size for a solo traveller or a couple. Good bar fridge and snacks, good toiletries but no additions such as toothbrush, comb, makeup removal wipes etc so pack your own.
The king size bed was sooooooooo comfortable.... I stayed in it one whole day during my trip and didn't regret it at all! I love a good bed and it's one of the things I am fairly picky about when travelling. This bed and the sheets were the best I've had anywhere by far.
The room service menu, and menu in the restaurant, is well below average. Really only serving a few salads and otherwise sandwiches or burgers. I ordered take away two nights because I couldn't find anything I liked. The hotel had no issue with this to their credit.
The decor is getting a little old. The carpet desperately needs replacing and a fresh coat of paint would do the hotel the world of good. The pool is nice and has a good amount of shade and sun.
Overall it was a nice place to stay but I didn't think it was amazing for the price and, apart from the bed, I would probably stay somewhere else next time.

Room Tip: Don't get a room with a poolside balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveljm1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis S, Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Hello Traveljm1982,

We appreciate your feedback as it is very important to us in order to improve our overall service. Thank you for the candid comments. Please feel free to reach out to me directly should your travels bring you back to the West Hollywood area. I can be reached at MondrianLA@sbe.com.

Kind Regards,
Luis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017

I stayed at the Mondrian after it was renovated years ago. 1998? It has held up well and they must have done a renovation in between because this is the type of hotel that gets trashed. All white furniture, party crowd, etc.

I would never stay here by choice. It was okay for business. The pool scene is tired. The food is meh. I found the staff to be very pleasant and helpful. Stay away if you want anything but a super young party scene.

Room Tip: City view, high floor is you want quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJDS15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis S, Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2017

Hello SJDS15,

We appreciate your feedback as it is very important to us in order to improve. Please feel free to reach out to me directly as I would like the opportunity to hear more regarding your experience with us. I can be reached at MondrianLA@sbe.com.

Kind Regards,
Luis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017

While we enjoyed our stay, we don't think we will return to the Mondrian. My husband and I are in our mid to late 30's and feel that this hotel is targeted more towards the high flying 20 somethings that check in and check out, and are covered head to toe is designer clothes and accessories.
The Ivory restaurant was fabulous, food and service was wonderful, I cant speak highly enough of the staff, all of the food quality on each dining occasion was lovely. The interior design of the restaurant is quite luxe and the views of LA are incredible.
However I did feel the crowd was quite pretentious at their bar.
Sky bar was quite similar - it looks amazing, the floral external walls are just gorgeous, the pool gets very busy, whether it be guests or friends of guests, its hard to get a spot by the pool which was disappointing, and my husband and I felt like as we weren't there to "party" and buy magnums of alcohol we received less care and attention.
The vibe of the whole hotel is very "cool" rather than luxurious. it is very clean, comfortable and staff are nice and well presented.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Morgans Hotel Group
1  Thank tdegraaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis S, Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2017

Hello tdegraaff,

Thank you for the great review. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us. Should your travels bring you back to West Hollywood please feel free to reach out to me directly. I can be reached at MondrianLA@sbe.com.

Kind Regards,
Luis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Hollywood
West Hollywood
The London West Hollywood at Beverly Hills
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#6 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,753 reviews
West Hollywood
The Jeremy West Hollywood
The Jeremy West Hollywood
#7 of 19 in West Hollywood
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Andaz West Hollywood
#4 of 19 in West Hollywood
3,096 reviews
Central L.A
Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills
West Hollywood
Grafton on Sunset
Grafton on Sunset
#11 of 19 in West Hollywood
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel

Address: 8440 Sunset Boulevard, West Hollywood, CA 90069-1912
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > West Hollywood > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in West Hollywood
#10 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
#10 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
#12 Luxury Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range: C$368 - C$913 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mondrian LA is a parallel universe of perpetual possibility. Rejuvenated by Benjamin Noriega-Ortiz, this luxury boutique hotel in the heart of West Hollywood captures everything the Strip stands for - excitement, invincibility and glamour. Entering Mondrian through its signature, thirty-foot mahogany doors, guests will find the recently expanded lobby, accented with hues of deep purple and complemented by custom-designed furniture, a Lucite indoor swing and a mushroom-inspired concierge desk. Complimentary high speed wireless internet access is offered in the lobby. Ivory On Sunset, a restaurant which is a collaboration with John Terzian of The h.wood Group, Built Inc. and Hakkasan Group, celebrates California cuisine and comfort foods to encourage diners to embrace the restaurant's communal philosophy, while our Lobby Bar serves a full cafe menu in the morning and small plates in the evening. Up in the sky, amid the clouds of Los Angeles, guests can enjoy the stunning view from our Skybar lounge, Los Angeles' mainstay for nightlife. Exxhibit Boutique, our gift shop, offers curated items tailored for the LA scene. Mondrian is located right on the Sunset Strip, close to Fox Studios, Paramount Pictures, Staples Center, Dodgers Stadium, Hollywood Hills, Santa Monica, Rodeo Drive and Getty Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel West Hollywood
Mondrian Hotel West Hollywood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing