We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best experience”
Review of Sunset Tower Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunset Tower Hotel
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in West Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 September 2017

Took my fiance to LA for the first time and we stayed in the Sunset Tower Hotel, the staff was super friendly and we received excellent service especially from the Manager Barbara, Go see Angel in the Restaurant. he will take good care of you

Room Tip: love it here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidRico1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimSales, Guest Relations Manager at Sunset Tower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

David,
Thank you for your great feedback. I will be sure to share this with the staff. We hope LA will be your next go to vacation moreover the Sunset Tower Hotel.
Hope to see you again.
Best regards,
Tim Cunningham
Director of Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,047)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 1,047 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2017

My husband and I always stay at the Sunset Tower Hotel whenever we visit our son in Los Angeles; and every time we do we have breakfast in the Terrance. The continental leaves much to be desired, but our server ANGEL more than makes up for it. He always recommends the omelet which comes at a considerable discount more than 50% off. He also always has our coffee with almond milk ready before we even ask :). He takes the time to introduce all the new faces (as we've been coming for years) this time around there was an Eric and a Larry. Both of them were nice and treated us like VIPs. When it was time for Angel to leave he passed us off into the more than capable hands of Tony. All in all a wonder time as usual, but Angel is the icing on the cake of this place.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LovlyTimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017

Great location, storied property and reasonably good service. Sunset Tower Hotel, like the Chateau Marmont (where I have also stayed and rate equally), represents this city's glamorous old guard, standing watch over a nostalgic style and elegance that is currently in scarce supply in LA and Hollywood.

I booked through Amex fine hotels, so received a sweet upgrade, free breakfast and a $100 hotel credit. We enjoyed two meals in the Tower Restaurant, which were OK but not great. I guess you don't really go for the food, it's more about the people watching and drinks (I always see real celebs when I am dining there).

Pros:
* The vibe
* Clean, reasonably sized, comfortable rooms
* Location

Cons:

* The hotel is a bit tired and I'm hopeful it will get a much-needed rehab now that billionaire Len Blavatnik has taken it over.
* Linens are quite rough, cleaning/turn-down lacks attention to detail.
* Free bedside water bottles are infant-sized.

All-in, a decent property and a good value at $300/night (I would not pay more than $400). Next trip to LA I will probably stay at the Beverly Hills Hotel.


Stayed: August 2017
1  Thank jdg76nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017

This hotel is in serious need of a refresh. The textiles, curtains, rugs, really everything other than the hotel bar and restaurant feels very dingy and run down. The (queen) rooms are unbelievably small. Would not return unless serious upgrades were made to do justice to what was clearly once a beautiful, art-deco gem of Hollywood.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danielle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017 via mobile

We have been visiting The Sunset Tower Hotel for over a decade now and it is unparalled in comparison to all hotels in service and boutique experience. One of the most caring and truely amazing staff members is Angel who creates who has been reliably kind, caring and truly wonderful since we have come to the hotel. Most recently he surprised us with a bday morning serving for breakfast at the restaurant by the pool. We always love coming back to Sunset Tower which exudes old Hollywood charme and a most unique boutique experience. Part of that experience is all the attentive staff of which Angel is to us a very outstanding member.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ksfr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017

I came into the Sunset Tower for lunch with a business associate, and have to say it was quite the treat.

The Good:

Our waiter Tony was on point in his ability to assess what we needed without disrupting the flow of the meeting. He introduced the gentleman who brought us our food as Larry and he made sure to ask if there was anything else we needed; then proceeded to take care of our request instead of passing the buck to someone else. Rounding out the team was the manager who also moonlighted as a host Barbara. One of the most pleasant people I've ever had the pleasure of meeting.

The Bad: For the price the food all in all was above average, but not exceptional. Nothing to make you crave it days later. I personally would avoid the avocado toast as the bread was amazingly hard and super thick.
Other than that a pretty decent place with a great team lovely scenery.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michmccallum2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017

Every time my husband and I leave Sunset Towers we plan our nextstay. it is that good-superlatives would never be an exaggeration. We are treated like family and feel very at home. The ambience is magnificent-beautiful spot , lovely people looking after us so well and providing every comfort-our list of thanks is unending but special mention to Tim and Angel. There are plenty of 5 star options in LA but this is the one to choose, every time.

Room Tip: if you cn afford one of the suites then every penny is well spent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank MrsMcCallum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Hollywood
West Hollywood
The London West Hollywood at Beverly Hills
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#6 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,728 reviews
West Hollywood
Petit Ermitage
Petit Ermitage
#3 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Hollywood
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
#13 of 19 in West Hollywood
2,086 reviews
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#16 of 355 in Los Angeles
2,037 reviews
Andaz West Hollywood
#4 of 19 in West Hollywood
3,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Tower Hotel

Address: 8358 W Sunset Blvd, West Hollywood, CA 90069-1516
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > West Hollywood > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
#1 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
#1 Luxury Hotel in West Hollywood
#2 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range: $468 - $853 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset Tower Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed in 1929 by architect Leland A. Bryant, the Sunset Tower Hotel was a trendsetter from the moment it opened. Its location on Sunset Strip and proximity to area restaurants, nightlife, and boutiques make it a popular choice for guests visiting West Hollywood/Beverly Hills. Guests enjoy elegant Art Deco styling combined with modern conveniences and amenities including the famous Tower Bar. The Sunset Tower Hotel also features a luxurious pool area, fitness center, group facilities, and pet amenities. Tucked away inside of one of Hollywood's most recognized architectural landmarks is the Cure Salon & Spa, which features some of the most celebrated international stylists, aestheticians, therapists and med-spa practitioners. Rooms reflect the elegance of the property with stunning views from floor-to-ceiling panoramic windows, Kiehl's Bath Products, gourmet mini bar, flat screen TVs, custom furnishings and artwork. Complimentary WiFi is offered throughout the property. At Sunset Tower Hotel, our goal is to provide a Hollywood-style experience to each guest and ensure their stay is not only comfortable, but exceptional. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sunset Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Hotel West Hollywood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing