We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Smoking rooms ONLY; filled with smoke and dangerous chemical fumes” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Radisson Hotel Whittier

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Radisson Hotel Whittier
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Whittier
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Smoking rooms ONLY; filled with smoke and dangerous chemical fumes”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

Because I had prepaid on Priceline, was forced into one of their smoking floors - a filty room full of smoke and chemical fumes with a window you can't open. The manager said too bad, "read the fine print": you have no rights at the Radisson Whittier.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SMOKEALERT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radisson W, Director of Sales at Radisson Hotel Whittier, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations on your recent visit with us at the Radisson Hotel Whittier. We will definitely follow up with our staff with your comments so we may better serve our guests; which is always our #1 goal. I hope we will have another opportunity to assist you in the near future once we complete our room renovations.

Regards,
Tiffany Young
Director of Sales & Marketing
Radisson Hotel Whittier
tiffany.young@radisson.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    163
    89
    95
    77
See reviews for
214
94
31
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Imperial, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

This hotel was so disappointing. It is only a Radisson by name. The entire stay was horrible. From the moment the bellman left my luggage unattended in the lobby while I parked my car and had to eventually lug it to the room myself, baby in tow... To the loud music playing until 2am from the club six floors below. (no one ever informed me about the music). I tried to call the front desk to complain but neither phone in the room worked so I had to use my cell phone. (what if there was an emergency?) The evening manager offered us complimentary breakfast the next morning in the restaurant that never came after one hour of waiting in a nearly empty restaurant. It was a ridiculous cost for a horrible weekend sleeping on blow up beds in a loud, cheaply decorated, lousy hotel after trying to care for a relative with terminal cancer. Thanks a lot for NOTHING! You should be ashamed of yourselves...

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radisson W, Director of Sales at Radisson Hotel Whittier, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Thank you for posting your staff with us and we are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us as anticipated. We are renovating the sleeping rooms this year. I will make sure to share to contact you for our future changes. Please contact me directly for any future stays at 562-945-8524 or tiffany.young@radisson.com.

We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again once we have completed all stages of our renovations so that we can exceed your expectations.

Regards,
Tiffany Young
Director of Sales & Marketing
Radisson Hotel Whittier
tiffany.young@radisson.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Whittier hotels

Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

Ended up staying here by accident. it was alright but the rooms are older, the exercise room is garbage and the Wifi was barely usable

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radisson W, Director of Sales at Radisson Hotel Whittier, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Thank you for posting your stay with us and we are happy that overall you enjoyed your stay and our location. We hope to have the pleasure of serving you on your future travels to the East Los Angeles Area. Please note we are making every effort to exceed our guests' expecations and I will share this review with our Director of Operations to see how we improve the areas mentioned. We are starting our rooms' renovation this summer. I hope you will give us another opportunity to show you our renovated sleeping rooms.

Warm Regards,

Tiffany Young
Director of Sales & Marketing
Radisson Hotel Whittier
tiffany.young@radisson.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redwood City, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

Very old and worn. Shower fixtures rusty and crusty. Very noisy out by the pool until well after midnight and the hotel didn't seem to notice or care. Very nice lobby but that's where the fun ends. The hotel is in the condition I would expect from a Motel 6 or similar.

Room Tip: try a room away from the pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank RC94065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radisson W, Director of Sales at Radisson Hotel Whittier, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations on your recent visit with us. We will definitely follow up with our staff with your comments so we may better serve our guests.

Regards,
Tiffany Young
Director of Sales & Marketing
Radisson Hotel Whittier
tiffany.young@radisson.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2011

My husband and I spent 1 night here. There really aren't that many hotels to chose from in Whittier and I imagine this is the best choice. It was disappointing as they are remodeling. The dining room is basically in the lobby and there were no computers available "during remodeling" but I could "go to a cafe down the street". The room was drab with an old, small screen TV. The room was clean and quiet. Other places to overnight in Whittier are pretty much motels, so I would stay here again since I prefer the many floored hotels when traveling.

Room Tip: Let this place remodel then give it a try.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dosumd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radisson W, Director of Sales at Radisson Hotel Whittier, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us as anticipated. We were renovating all of our public space and meeting rooms during your visit. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again now that it has been completed so we can exceed your expectations.

Regards,
Tiffany Young
Director of Sales & Marketing
Radisson Hotel Whittier
tiffany.young@radisson.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2011

The staff was friendly, the room was fine--nothing special, but clean and with the usual Radisson features incl. sleep number beds. The bar closed early and that was annoying, as the alternatives within walking distance were not suitable (i.e., really loud rock & roll clubs, or places where I wouldn't feel too welcome). A plus: Location is in an interesting shopping & entertainment area. Hotel seems to be used by a lot of tour groups. Side comment: I left some clothes hanging in the closet and while the folks on the phone have been extremely helpful by offering to send them back to me, I've called 3 times and they still haven't sent them.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank MikeSacto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radisson W, Director of Sales at Radisson Hotel Whittier, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Thank you for posting your stay with us. Our staff will be very happy to hear their mention from you. We will also acknowledge their service to you among our staff. We look forward to serving you again on your travels to the Radisson Hotel Whittier. Please call or email me directly to advise if the clothes were mailed to you. 562-945-8524 or tiffany.young@radisson.com

Regards,
Tiffany Young
Director of Sales & Marketing
Radisson Hotel Whittier
tiffany.young@radisson.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacrament, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2011

The room(s) appeared fine. The first room was very hot and stuffy and the air conditioner did not work. The second room had a working a/c unit but very noisy. The moisture from the a/c unit had caused black mold on the wall. Sleep was virtually impossible because the bed linens were crispy. If you moved at all during the night, the sheets were so uncomfortable. The next day we all met for breakfast in the lobby restaurant. The service was very slow and by the time our food was served, it was cold. This hotel could use a complete renovation. If you prefer comfort and good service, this isn't the place to stay.

Room Tip: Completely check out your assigned room before deciding to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sunnydaze021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radisson W, Director of Sales at Radisson Hotel Whittier, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations on your recent visit with us at the Radisson Hotel Whittier. We will definitely follow up with our staff with your comments so we may better serve our guests. Please note we have just completed the renovation of our public space, restaurant, bar/lounge and meeting rooms! We are starting the sleeping room renovations in two weeks. We look forward to inviting you back to the hotel to have a new experience that exceeds your expectations.

Regards,
Tiffany Young
Director of Sales & Marketing
Radisson Hotel Whittier
tiffany.young@radisson.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whittier
2.3 km away
Vagabond Inn - Whittier
Vagabond Inn - Whittier
#4 of 11 in Whittier
3.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
1.8 km away
Lambert Inn
Lambert Inn
#5 of 11 in Whittier
3.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
7.7 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles - Norwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles-Downey
8.3 km away
BEST WESTERN Norwalk Inn
10.7 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles Montebello
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Hotel Whittier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel Whittier

Property: Radisson Hotel Whittier
Address: 7320 Greenleaf Ave., Whittier, CA 90602 (Formerly Hilton Whittier)
Region: United States > California > Whittier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Whittier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Radisson Hotel Whittier 3.5*
Number of rooms: 202
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Radisson Hotel Whittier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Whittier
Whittier Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing