We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Loved this Bodega

We were exploring Rioja and found a review of this gem online. It was one of the better wine tours... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
Rob M
,
Guadalajara, Jalisco, Mexico
Unique and Fun Wine Tasting Experience

We had a wonderful tour and tasting with Cristina on our trip to Bodega Conde de los Andes. It was... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Jilian B
,
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Read all 71 reviews
  
Reviews (71)
Filter reviews
71 results
Traveller rating
63
5
1
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
63
5
1
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wine tasting la rioja great cellar cristina centuries caves host winery guide tour
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 71 reviews
Reviewed May 23, 2018

Cristina, the host, treated us to a very interesting and exciting tour of the premises. We were a group from the UK who were keen to learn about business management matters, and Cristina was very knowledgeable. The facilities are second to none, and so were the wines. I would come back to this winery again.

2  Thank Abel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CondelosAndes, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Bodega Conde de los Andes, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2018

Muchas gracias Abel por venir a vernos y compartir una bonita tarde. Fue un placer recibiros y compartir con vosotros vinos y momentos. Saludos y gracias por tu opinión.
Thank you very much Abel for coming to see us and share a nice afternoon. It was a pleasure to receive you and share with you wines and moments. Best regards and thank you for your opinion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 29, 2018 via mobile

We arrived to the cellar at the perfect time as they were preparing the tour. Ideally you should make a reservation as the tour takes about 3 hours and they close the doors during it.
We were just 8 people, so nothing to see with the massive tours in the most populars cellars.
More than 1 km of caves with more than 400.000 bottles resting there for years.
We had a wine tasting in the caves and the another one at the end of the tour with ham pairing.
Definitly I will recommend this tour.

2  Thank Josep S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CondelosAndes, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Bodega Conde de los Andes, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2018

Thank you very much Josep for sharing your opinion and a nice afternoon, we look forward to you next time. Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 7, 2018

In the heart of Rioja Alta lies the village of Ollauri that sits on the edge of a hill that has been tunnelled into since the middle ages. The most major excavations are thought to have occurred in the 16th and 17th centuries creating the present network of caves or ‘Calados’ that stretch for over a kilometre in length and vary between 18 to 40 metres below the surface. The environment in these tunnels is idea for the storage of wine holding a constant 12 degrees throughout the year. In 1894 Federico Paternina built the ‘modern cellar’ to improve the production of the wine that had been made by his ancestors over dozens of generations. Following a number of ownership changes in the 20th century, the property is now owned by the Murúa family of Muriel Wines who have invested in Conde de los Andes to bring it back to its former glory. The old buildings today house museum pieces including some of the old wine presses and a collection of the old wooden vats together with a tasting room and restaurant. A separate location houses the current winery.
The visit is all about what happens underground. We were provided with vests to keep us warm before descending into the tunnels. We were visiting in April so it was not particularly hot but in the height of summer, visitors would certainly notice the temperature difference and would not be dressed for the cool environment underground. Descending into the Calados, you are struck by the size of the excavations and the huge number of dust encrusted bottles stored on racks and cages; it is also fairly humid, another good feature for the preservation of the wines. Apparently there are wines dating back to 1892 although these were not actually pointed out to us! Also noted were a couple of unexpected features and cartons that relate to a former visitor. I am glad we had a guide as I am sure we would have got lost in the maze of tunnels otherwise!!
After the tour came the tasting and needless to say the wines were excellent so as well as a thoroughly interesting tour, you could also carry away a permanent memento of the trip, (well permanent until you open the bottles!)
Our guide was passionate and knowledgeable about the winery and spoke excellent English so I fully recommend this tour to anybody in the area.

1  Thank Hurleys256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CondelosAndes, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Bodega Conde de los Andes, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2018

Dear Hurleys256, thank you very much for your detailed recommendation. We are glad that you enjoyed the heritage treasured by Conde de los Andes.
Best regards and best wines!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 8, 2018

Cellar tour and tasting with our lovely host, Christina. We toured their extensive network of caves with some bottles dating back to the late 1800's and tasted a gorgeous 2005 Rioja in one of the main caves. Great experience!

2  Thank danhquinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CondelosAndes, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Bodega Conde de los Andes, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2018

danhquinn, thank you very much for your words, for coming to visit us and share a nice afternoon, best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 20, 2017

The visit to the wine caves was absolutely worth it. We had a great guide (Cristina) who handed us vests to make sure that we we not cold, and gave us a really interesting and personal view of the wine and the area. The wine tasting was one of the best we had in the region, with plenty of wine and good cold meats.

The caves (calados) are massive, and they hold some excellent wine from the old Paternina winery. The history of the place and its atmosphere was very hard to beat during our 3 days in La Rioja.

1  Thank jednesog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CondelosAndes, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Bodega Conde de los Andes, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2017

Thank you very much for your opinion jednesog and for the photographs. An incentive to continue our policy of excellence.
Muchas gracias por tu aportación en RRSS, un placer recibiros!! Saludos y hasta pronto ;)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews