We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room - quiet. Great location. Forget breakfast.”
Review of North Block Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
North Block Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Yountville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 January 2018

All good. We'd come back - but the idea that there is a breakfast is false. Some coffee, sweets, fruit. They have a very nice restaurant and we were disappointed they no longer serve breakfast. There are not a lot of choices in Yountville either. That said, we had a very comfortable, quiet room. The location is convenient to anything one wants to do in Yountville - one of our most favorite and quaint towns. French Laundry - just down the block if you are lucky to get a reservation.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank rickbrounstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ty A, General Manager at North Block Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Dear Rick,
Thank you for your recent visit.
While I'm glad you enjoyed your stay, I apologize breakfast didn't meet your expectations. Most of our guests are very happy with a quick bite in the mornings, so our spread is simple, but tasty - pastries from Bouchon, organic yogurt, granola and fresh berries.
Please let me know when you're coming again and I'll personally arrange something more substantial.
My very best,
Ty Accornero
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (391)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8 - 14 of 391 reviews

Reviewed 26 December 2017 via mobile

We decided to stay over Christmas for a little holiday R&R. It was recommended to us by a friend. Beautiful room, super comfy bed, loved the cozy chair for reading and the service was excellent! We were even surprised with some Bouchon gingerbread cookies on Christmas. Now how cool is that? We will definitely come back. Oh and the location is perfect...in walking distance to dining and shopping.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Susie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ty A, General Manager at North Block Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Hi Susie,
Thank you for your visit.
I'm so happy to hear that you enjoyed the special touches over the holidays.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
My best,
Ty Accornero
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2017

Yountville is a cute little town full of fantastic restaurants. So, staying in Yountville downtown is pricey, but the convenience is hard to beat. It was such a luxury that our hotel room was just 5 mins walk away after the incredible meal (with lots of drinks) at The French Laundry. Ciccio, a fun and delicious Italian restaurant is across the street. We also enjoyed 10 mins peaceful walk to Bouchon Bakery for breakfast.

The North Block has bikes for hotel guests to use. There are many great wineries within 10-30 mins distance. We cycled to some of them, which was A LOT of fun.

We stayed at the Premium King room. This room was nice but not special. The bed was too soft for me. The problem was a noise from traffic. Since the North Block is located next to St. Helena Highway, I heard a traffic sound all night. It was not too bad, but that definitely affected my sleep quality. There may be quieter rooms inside the property, but I don’t know. It’s worth asking on reservation.

Everyone at the Front Desk was attentive and friendly.

Swimming pool and jacuzzi were fun.

Inclusive breakfast (at Redd Wood) was not worth going.

Room Tip: Worth checking if they have quiet rooms before making a reservation
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sunshine_Akiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ty A, General Manager at North Block Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Dear Sunshine,
Thank you for your visit to North Block.
I'm so pleased to hear that you enjoyed so much that our wonderful town of Yountville has to offer.
Although we typically don't get feedback on the noise, we do have many rooms in very quiet locations - please let us know prior to your next visit and we'll do our best to be sure your stay is perfect.
My best,
Ty Accornero
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2017

We picked this hotel randomly for a quick stopover in Yountville. We were greeted by a very friendly staff who checked us in early and held our luggage while we went out on a wine tour.

When we returned we were met with a glass of wine and more friendly service.

The rooms are very well decorated with a plush, warm vibe.The bathrooms in particular were luxurious with a huge tub and rainfall shower head. The robes were the best I have ever seen and I really wanted to steal one. Instead I purchased one for $120.

The bed was extremely comfortable. All of the soaps / oils etc first class.

Next time we are in Yountville we will 100% be back.

Thanks so much North Block!

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Digital_Noir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ty A, General Manager at North Block Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Dear Digital Noir,
Thank you for the five-star review of your stay at North Block!
I'm so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back.
In the meantime, I hope you enjoy the robe!
My very best,
Ty Accornero
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2017

Adorable rooms amidst a beautiful courtyard. Really, really nice foliage and overall vibe. Very relaxing and fantastic location. Good restaurant on premises. Service was exceptional and would stay there again!!!

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank iloveargentina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ty A, General Manager at North Block Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Dear iloveargentina.
Thank you for your visit to North Block.
It's wonderful to hear how much you enjoyed your stay.
My team and I look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Best regards,
Ty Accornero
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2017

Beautiful hotel and rooms with excellent service, quality & location. Came to visit the wineries and restaurants in Napa area and were delighted with this hotel. We loved our stay and would absolutely come back.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank sarahadreyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ty A, General Manager at North Block Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2017

Dear Sarah,
Thank you for the wonderful review.
The NB team and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best regards,
Ty Accornero
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2017

Having been a wine country lover for many years, my fiancé and I were devastated when the wildfires impacted the Napa and Sonoma communities. Once the fires were extinguished, we made a point to purchase additional wine from both counties and to spend a few nights up north to support the impacted tourism industry. What was interesting to us was how normal it felt on the way up there and once we arrived in Yountville, we were relieved to see no devastation whatsoever. Upon entering The North Block Hotel, we were warmly greeted by their reception representative who quickly checked us in and offered us a glass of chilled Fume Blanc. Our luggage was whisked away and placed inside our room as we walked around the property to acquaint ourselves with the lovely manicured grounds.

Our room was very spacious, elegantly appointed and provided the respite we needed from the hustle and bustle of city life. Highlights of the room included a gas fireplace that ignites with the flip of a switch, a heated bathroom floor, tub to soak in (with bath salts), and a rainfall shower head in the tiled shower. What more could one ask for? Oh, and a very special bottle of wine was placed in our suite by the hotel welcoming us for our stay there.

The first evening at The North Block Hotel, we had pre-dinner drinks at their on site restaurant/bar, and chose several bottles from the extensive wine list. Friends from a neighboring hotel joined us and we ended up staying a bit longer than we expected. The staff was quite knowledgeable regarding the wine list and they helped us choose appetizers that paired perfectly with our wine selections.

The second day, my fiancé and I enjoyed a few hours of pure relaxation at the Block's spa located on the subterranean floor of the hotel. It was quiet and peaceful. We were greeted by our two massage therapists who showed us to our rooms for our individual treatments. My fiancé remarked that it was, to date, the very best massage he's ever received. Mine was blissful as well.

Sadly we had to depart on the morning of our 3rd day in Yountville. There is no doubt we will return to the North Block as their attention to detail, dedication to service, incredibly warm hospitality and outstanding restaurant will soon welcome us back. Do yourself a favor and splurge a bit by staying at this gorgeous property.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mgregg100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ty A, General Manager at North Block Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2017

Dear mgregg,
Wow, thank you for sharing such a great review with all the wonderful details of your visit.
We appreciate your support after the wildfires and look forward to welcoming you and your fiance back anytime (honeymoon, perhaps?).
My very best,
Ty Accornero
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yountville
1.3 km away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#1 of 6 in Yountville
1,104 reviews
0.2 km away
Napa Valley Lodge
Napa Valley Lodge
#3 of 6 in Yountville
1,467 reviews
0.4 km away
Vintage House
Vintage House
#6 of 6 in Yountville
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#2 of 6 in Yountville
1,343 reviews
0.9 km away
Villagio Inn and Spa
Villagio Inn and Spa
#5 of 6 in Yountville
945 reviews
12.3 km away
Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Block Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Block Hotel

Address: 6757 Washington St, Yountville, CA 94599-1311
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Yountville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Yountville
#3 Luxury Hotel in Yountville
#4 Spa Hotel in Yountville
Price Range: $435 - $1,028 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — North Block Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
North Block is a modern boutique hotel located in Napa Valley's idyllic town of Yountville; wine country's most coveted epicurean locale. Situated at the north end of this culinary mecca, North Block is a perfect destination for food and wine connoisseurs: a short stroll to top Michelin starred restaurants and small production wine tasting rooms and home to Redd Wood restaurant. A mix of old world charm and modernity, North Block Hotel is designed for an unpretentious wine country escape. The stone facade and welcoming entrance are lined with citrus trees, hand-painted tiles and softly lit lanterns. The guest rooms are well-appointed and sophisticated with modern touches like luxurious linens, flat screen televisions, wi-fi and iPod entertainment docking stations. For a truly unique and unforgettable sojourn in wine country that seamlessly blends casual comfort and sophistication, look no further than North Block Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your North Block Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Block Hotel Yountville, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing