We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Near the highway, for better and worse”
Review of Vintage Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vintage Inn
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Yountville
Certificate of Excellence
New York, NY
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Near the highway, for better and worse”
Reviewed 11 March 2012

We spent 3 nights at this lovely property, in an upstairs room with a view of the rolling hills and, more immediately, the highway. As many reviewers have pointed out, the highway noise is ever-present in the highway-facing rooms, and even in the courtyard rooms, once the fountains are turned off late at night, you can probably still hear a din inside.

Nevertheless, this was one of the most relaxing places I have stayed at in a long time. Charming touches like the fireplaces and complimentary logs, the jet tub, champagne brunch, afternoon tea, resident cats, etc. add to the experience.

While being near the highway does take away from the otherwise rural setting, it is very convenient, as many of the restaurants and wineries are a ways away from Yountville and each other. Additionally, staying in Yountville allows you to walk to many terrific restaurants including French Laundry, Bouchon and Redd, though Yountville is not as lively or historic as downtown St Helena or Healdsburg.

If we come back to Napa, we would probably opt to stay in the hills (Auberge du Soleil, Solage) or off the Silverado Trail, which has much less traffic than the main highway, and an even more relaxing experience.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yaneh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    500
    168
    37
    16
    8
See reviews for
90
473
6
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

I have stayed at this Inn on and off over the past 20 years and it continues to be one of my favorites. It is located in the tiny town of Yountville so it is easy to walk everywhere. The hotel serves a excellent brunch. It is not the heavy "roast beef" style however everything offered is very good. They have added an omlet bar since I was last there but with all the other offerings we did not make it there. They added an afternoon tea which is very good w small sandwiches and deserts. You most likely can tell that I am into food. All too true.
Yountville is the home of the top rated resturant The French Laundry. With sufficient notice the hotel can get you a reservation though you may need to be flexible on the time.

Back to the hotel: there is a wonderful pool and hot tub, access to a gym (neglected to ck out) and to a spa w/in walking distance. Rooms are large w fireplace, patio/deck and baths have large soaking tubs most likely w bubbles. Again, I did not try. The deep tub may be somewhat difficult to climb in if one has mobility issues however, I am certain they have a variety of rooms.
This trip I went w my son. He went bicycling while I walked around, went to the few stores and read.

Room Tip: I think they are all good. I generally go for the best deal. I have yet to be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nlwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

My friend and I stayed at the Vintage Inn last minute. We wanted to be close to our restaurant reservations. The stay at Vintage Inn was fabulous and friendly. They have two house cats on premises that have the run of the place; they are endearing. They also have an amazing breakfast in the morning, providing everything from fresh omlettes to mimosas and bloody Mary's. We love this place; well worth the cost!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JetSetNY22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Great central location. Walk to various restaurants, including the famous French Laundry. Easy access to highway that leads to all of the top wineries just driving minutes away. Vintage Inn is a series of low rise separate wings set amidst impeccably groomed grounds, lush and green with beautiful flowers. We had an upstairs (2nd floor) room with a fireplace and logs waiting in a basket as well as a bottle of wine. The bathroom was quite spacious and I enjoyed having windows that opened in all rooms. Even during the summer, the nights cooled off, and the fresh air was wonderful. Some people may find this hotel a tiny bit on the quaint side if they only like super-modern, ultra 5 star. You do have to climb stairs to get to a second level room. But with all of the good food and wine, I'd hope that people would enjoy burning off an extra calorie or two.

Room Tip: Even though our room's balcony opened onto the main street, there was no late night traffic, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LasVegasTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Read the details below for the amazing perks of this very special place. This review is 10 years/30 visits past due. If there were an Oscar for the best hotel Manager in Napa Valley Jeff Smith deserves it. Since our first visit 10 years ago until today Jeff makes us and every visitor feel appreciated to chose the Vintage Inn. We have always received exceptional service with room requests, restaurant recommendations, transportation to wineries, ect. We have recommended the Vintage Inn to our friends around the country and they can't thank us enough. Don't make the mistake of going to another newer pricier hotel to be treated like a nobody. The rooms, grounds, brunch, staff ect make the Vintage the perfect choice. Thanks Jeff-- The Logan's

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Caroline L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

Amazing place, location, rooms and Spa. And the Signature Champagne Breakfast is addictive! We reviewed it here:
http://www.stillservedwarm.com/breakfast-vintage-inn-yountville-napa/

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Still Served Wa... S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, CA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

My fiancé and I recently stayed a night here to celebrate my birthday and had a wonderful time. We stayed there around the same time last year and couldn't pass up on a good internet deal. The hotel grounds are beautifully landscaped and maintained while the rooms themselves are nicely appointed with Nespresso coffee makers, a fire log and complimentary bottle of red or white wine. We enjoyed a dinner at Bouchon across the street so we just had to walk our full bellies back 2 minutes to our room. The hotel staff are professional and very accommodating. The complimentary breakfast and tea time always make our day. My fiancé especially likes the complimentary access to the spa facilities at the adjacent Villagio Inn! No doubt we will be back again next year!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scotty2975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yountville
0.4 km away
Villagio Inn and Spa
Villagio Inn and Spa
#5 of 6 in Yountville
894 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#1 of 6 in Yountville
1,047 reviews
0.3 km away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#2 of 6 in Yountville
1,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Napa Valley Lodge
Napa Valley Lodge
#3 of 6 in Yountville
1,314 reviews
13.5 km away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
1,991 reviews
12.7 km away
Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vintage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vintage Inn

Property: Vintage Inn
Address: 6541 Washington St, Yountville, CA 94599-1300
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Yountville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Yountville
#3 Luxury Hotel in Yountville
#4 Spa Hotel in Yountville
#5 Business Hotel in Yountville
#5 Romantic Hotel in Yountville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Vintage Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vintage Inn, an AAA Four Diamond Award property, is an intimate French inspired country-style inn that blends 19th century romance with simple California Napa Valley wine country elegance. A central waterway flows through the luxurious gardens of the 80 room inn creating a relaxing environment for total rejuvenation of mind, body and spirit. Every guest room features oversized sunken whirlpool bathtubs framed in rich French woods, ceramic wall and floor tiling, large fireplace, robes, a complimentary bottle of wine and in-room coffee and tea. A daily complimentary champagne breakfast buffet and afternoon tea service is included with every stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Vintage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vintage Hotel Yountville
Vintage Inn Yountville, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing