We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (161)
Filter reviews
161 results
Traveller rating
108
28
14
7
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
108
28
14
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lobby and pool area lox breakfast spread natural wood yogurt beautifully appointed rooms within walking distance napa valley set the tone working fireplace we loved our stay french laundry made to order omelets omelette bar great property charming hotel guest rooms
Filter
Updating list...
156 - 161 of 161 reviews
Reviewed October 11, 2017 via mobile

We have stayed at the Vintage Inn, which is what is was called prior to the ridiculously poor renovation, for many years. It used to be quaint, fairly priced, with a great breakfast and evening cocktails, in a charming environment. But, they have simply ruined it with the room makeovers which our awful and lacking - you feel like you got the most inappropriate unsellable Restoration Hardware furnishings possible. Are we suppose to be impressive with RH even if they don’t fit the room or style?? I’m not! The bathrooms were improved, I’ll give you that but there are still no towel bars or hooks to hang anything. The once charming lobby is gone, there is zero personalized attention anymore but for the rather strange hoard of bellmen that descend on you the moment you open your car door. They used to take care of their repeat customers with a modest discount demonstrating their appreciation for loyalty - that’s gone! In fact, the front desk doesn’t have a clue if you ever been there before. We’ve stayed two times in the last 6 months and have endured an utter mess in the parking lots and construction mess and tenting all for the attractive price of $595.00 a night during the week and a ridiculous $795.00 a night on the weekends. This place is a joke for those prices. No where near justifying these prices. Did I mention the deterioration of the once fabulous breakfast? Gone is the omelet station, oh, excuse me, you can walk down 3 blocks to the sister property Villagio if you want an omelet - seriously that offer was made to us when we asked what happened to the omelet station. Yes, I’d love to be mid-line breakfast and walk 3 blocks to get an omelet especially at the 5 star prices being charged. The quality of the breakfast offerings have deteriorated. Oh, and try to get a table to sit for breakfast. Chairs outside everywhere, wet from the sprinklers....you’d think they might consider repurposing some of the bell staff to actually set up the breakfast tables and bus them. This is long winded I grant you but don’t go here! They’ve ruined the place and it’s not worth the money. I give it an F. There are lots of other options.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
8  Thank Becky065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel1Y, General Manager at Vintage House, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2017

Dear Becky065,

Thank you for posting your review and we appreciate your comments. While I was surprised by your assessment of our newly renovated rooms and lobby, I do realize individual tastes with regards to decor can vary greatly. We certainly appreciate your patronage and do hope we have another opportunity to have you as a guest once again. Thank you again for your feedback and I will be sure to share it with all appropriate department managers.

Best regards,
General Manager, Vintage House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 8, 2017 via mobile

Just stayed for four days. Great food and wine across Napa and Sonoma. One of my favorite trips.

Vintage Inn, now Vintage House didn't live up to our previous experience.

First the construction. I was a bit confused when I first saw the ads introducing "Vintage House coming in Late Summer". I looked forward to seeing what was in store.

Nobody told us that "Late Summer" opening had bled into fall. The lobby wasn't read and they were using an onsite conference space for checkin and breakfast. I travel extensively and am used to a quick note preceding my arrival "pardon our ongoing construction...".

Second, our room. Same spacious and well appointed space. Nothing new under Vintage House but same quality I expected. Until... I realized we were right by the highway. Noise all night. And a view of cars and construction. Don't get room 503.

Third, breakfast. Last visit we marveled at the selection including omelet station and chicken and waffles (cool). This time it was "super continental" with the classic pan of scrambled eggs. Nothing hot but the scrambled eggs. Marriott concierge lounges have better selection (except the mimosas). On the second day there was a placard that said "country potatoes". Alas it was put out in error. On the fourth day (Sunday) we arrived to find one person working the buffet and cleaning tables. Couples were waiting to sit while 8 of the tables remained dirty. I felt bad for the employee.
Maybe the limited food and staff was caused by the temporary space but again how about giving us a heads up.

Last, the new lobby. It opened up on our third day. Couldn't figure out where to checkout on Sunday. Beautifully decorated and appointed. Very modern. Surprised it was renamed Vintage House.

Will likely try somewhere new next time.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
4  Thank gplotkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel1Y, General Manager at Vintage House, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2017

Dear gplotkin,

We are truly sorry that we did not meet your expectations on this visit. We value your patronage as a returning guest and we certainly hope we have another opportunity to have you visit us again. We do appreciate your feedback and will make sure to share your comments with our hospitality team. Thank you for your time and consideration.

Sincerely,
General Manager, Vintage House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 7, 2017 via mobile

Stayed for four nights over the last week of September and first week of October
The hotel was completing some significant building work so on arrival things were a little chaotic though the hotel staff did everything they could to make things work.
The rooms were perfect, complimentary bottle of wine on arrival, great TV and secluded garden or patio. Situated right in the centre of town one could fall out of ones bedroom into Any one of several great restaurants.

The patio has gas fires for the cold mornings and cool evenings and a bar serving decent drinks and even beer. The staff are generally excellent.

Two minor quibbles
- the hotel backs on to the St. Helena highway so if you're wandering the hotel grounds during the day you can hear traffic roar. The rooms though are completely quiet
- the breakfast buffet food was fine but the seating was in short supply and was uncomfortably overcrowded and noisy. Reminiscent more of a cheap all in holiday not a luxury hotel.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ogilvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel1Y, General Manager at Vintage House, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2017

Dear Ogilvy,

We are very pleased with your 5 star review. Thank you for posting and we are glad you enjoyed the visit. Thank you for the feedback regarding breakfast. We will certainly share this with our staff and managers to ensure the service level and comfort of our guests is maintained to our usual standards. We hope to have you visit us again in the very near future.

Sincerely,
General Manager, Vintage House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 23, 2018
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded June 27, 2018
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 17, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews