We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A Bit Grunge-y” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Boulder

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard Boulder
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Boulder
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A Bit Grunge-y”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

My husband and I are Marriott members, and stay in their hotels where possible, in all different formats because we can always expect a fair price and a consistent experience. We stayed at the Courtyard in Boulder while visiting our daughter in college for a long weekend. We have stayed at this particular hotel in the past, but noticed during this visit that the hotel felt a bit dirty and dated. The room had stains in the carpeting, the shower curtain was old, the pillows were a bit lumpy, the linens were thin, and the complimentary coffee in the lobby was empty at 8a. Sorry Marriott, this hotel needs a little love.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hobie58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
courtyardboulder, General Manager at Courtyard Boulder, responded to this review, 12 January 2012
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel. I regret to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. I sincerely appreciate you taking the time to share your conerns. Comfort levels in our guest rooms is a top priority and we are continually updating our rooms to maintain Marriott's very high standards. I apologize that the room you received caused you dissatisfaction. I have shared your comments with our team here at the hotel to ensure that future guests do not experience the same issues. Again, I appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback and it has assisted us in improving our level of service.
We look forward to the opportunity to serve you on your next visit to Boulder.

Kind Regards,
Fred Warren
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    136
    53
    12
    8
See reviews for
94
64
21
93
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
western ny state
Level Contributor
70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

Located in a business park and kinda out of the way. The rooms are very nice and the amenities are on par with what one would expect from Marriott. I called for a reservation at the last minute and the room was only $99. It was only a short drive to restaurants. The on-site restaurant for breakfast worked out fine so we could be on our way after having a hot breakfast. Pool area and exercise room, very nice. Interior courtyard too

The only reason for not giving this a higher rating is it's location right next to the railroad tracks. However, I only recall a couple of trains going by which is much better than listening to non-stop highway traffic.

Marriott is finally getting it with free wi-fi.

Room Tip: Don't look for a big sign to find this place...........it's back in off the road on the righ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suzieq77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
houstonburbs
Level Contributor
312 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2011

The Courtyard never disappoints us! And this one was no exception! What a wonderful management and staff! I really wish all other hotels could be as nice as the Marriott chain of hotels! I HIGHLY recommend this to anyone in this area!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ladybugtx76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Neck, Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

Love Marriotts generally, and usually Courtyards...rude, attitude women at front desk.

Coffee all out (2 large cannisters) by 8:30 am, and passive/rude about situation as if clients are a bother. Only way this happens is inattentive staff, or not caring

Wine prices exhorbitant! It's a Marriott thing, but charging more per glass $9.95 to $16 for second rate wines that don't cost that much a bottle at the market!

Rooms very close to noisy highways and loud trains...interrupted sleep of this heavy sleeper.

I don't recommend this property.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AGenealogistMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troy, NY
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

Spending a week in Colorado, and loving it. Chose to stay at this Courtyard Marriott in Boulder, and what a place it is. Indoor hot tub, indoor pool, coffee shop, bistro, nice lobby to work or watch a game on the big screen. The rooms are comfortable and have nice features. And the price is reasonable, a great deal I thought. Even without the discount, it's only about $175, which is pretty good for Boulder. Not sure where the one reviewer gets the $240 per night price. Great staff too. I was on a first name basis with many of the staff. Great folks behind the counter at the coffee shop and bistro (Thanks Chris). Vegetarian choices are good too.

Room Tip: Any room that faces the courtyard is great. And on the third floor you can see the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jollybill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

This Courtyard needs to be spruced up. The rooms were clean and everything worked fine but the overall look was blah. Some updating in the rooms would make a big difference.
The staff was helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lindy826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2011

This place has awful customer service and untrustworthy staff in housekeeping! I accidentally left $500 worth or clothes (two pairs of designer jeans and a top) in the dresser when we checked out, and when I called to report it less than 24 hrs later, my clothes were gone! The front desk said the room had been cleaned, but no one had turned anything in. Mysteriously, no other guests had checked into our room since we left and the only people who had access were housekeeping staff and the front desk. When I spoke to the manager of housekeeping, he was a total jerk, completely unsympathetic, and yelled at me on the phone for suggesting that they should be responsible if things go missing in a customer's room. They claimed they had inquired with the housekeeping staff who cleaned the room and that no one had turned anything in to lost and found. In short, I feel totally ripped-off and that I have no rights protecting me or my personal belongings if they go missing in the room. Apparently, there's some Innkeepers law in CO that allows hotels to be exempt from responsibility for personal items that go missing and/or aren't turned in to lost and found. In short, do not stay here! Their staff is untrustworthy and, God forbid you should leave anything behind, it will likely not get returned to you.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RNM80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boulder hotels
6.5 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Boulder - North
0.8 km away
Hyatt Place Boulder / Pearl Street
3.1 km away
Hotel Boulderado
Hotel Boulderado
#3 of 19 in Boulder
4.5 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Boulder Inn
1.6 km away
Boulder Marriott
Boulder Marriott
#13 of 19 in Boulder
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
1.0 km away
Residence Inn Boulder
Residence Inn Boulder
#7 of 19 in Boulder
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Boulder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Boulder

Property: Courtyard Boulder
Address: 4710 Pearl East Cir, Boulder, CO 80301-2472
Region: United States > Colorado > Boulder
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Boulder
#8 Family Hotel in Boulder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Boulder 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com, Marriott and Priceline so you can book your Courtyard Boulder reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Boulder Hotel Boulder
Boulder Marriott
Boulder Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing