We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Beaver Run Resort and Conference Center(Breckenridge)(Great Value!)
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge(Breckenridge)(Great Value!)
US$150
US$128
Doubletree.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$294
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge at Breckenridge(Breckenridge)(Great Value!)
US$229
Marriott
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pine Ridge Condominiums(Breckenridge)(Great Value!)
US$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lodge at Breckenridge(Breckenridge)(Great Value!)
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crystal Peak Lodge(Breckenridge)
US$261
US$230
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$230
US$220
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$156
US$142
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$83
US$80
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (979)
Filter reviews
979 results
Traveller rating
549
279
67
48
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
549
279
67
48
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbar and grillpools and hot tubsin townchristy sportsthe kitchentime sharefree shuttletimeshare exchangeon site restaurantshuttle servicebedroom unitwasher and dryerski weekpool tablenice resortcrock potindoor outdoor pool
Filter
Updating list...
451 - 456 of 979 reviews
Reviewed March 13, 2016

Overall nice place to stay. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The shuttle is great, responsive, and the drivers are very nice and have great recommendations about Breck. We had a good sized 2 bedroom which was clean and very comfortable. The kitchen had everything we needed. Washer and dryer worked great. My son said the sofa bed was very comfortable too. It is close enough to easily walk to town which was nice. Only negative really was the shower water pressure seemed low and look a while to get hot.

We were in building 1. I'd recommend staying at Building 1 if possible since that is where the shuttle picks up and there is a small pool, indoor and outdoor Jacuzzi there. The ski locker is on the wrong side of the building for greatest ease of getting your skis to the shuttle but that is a small point. Next best bet would be building 5 since that is really the only place you can ski out from, sort of as I'll describe below.

To be clear the place, though very nice, is not ski-in/ski out. Unless you count skiing out from Building 5 for about 50 yards, taking off your skis, and walking a block. You might be able to do it if there was a lot of snow and the sidewalks were not cleared. You can ski in to building 5 at least pretty easily thought a nice run. I did not take the other route via the snowflake trail since even the staff there recommended against that since it sounds like a long flat painful catwalk. Most everyone takes the shuttle to the Bever Run Chair base to start the day. The shuttle runs very frequently so it was not a problem to dot hat.

One staff negative was we were parked in the garage in a numbered space near a door that has a sign saying you shouldn't block the door. I was careful to park as far to the side as possible and was not blocking the door. Some surly staff member left a note on our windshield basically saying "can't you read" and why did we park there? If they don't want you to park there then why is the space marked with a number instead of being marked as do not park? Maybe that person was having a bad day?

So overall I think, unless you are looking for a super high end place, most people will be very happy with a stay here. It's very nice and we had a good stay. I'd consider staying there again.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank NatAtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle E, Assistant General Manager at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2016

Dear NatAtl,
Thank you very much for your very thorough review. In regards to the two access points we have to get to ski trails, I am sorry to hear that you never tried the other route that takes you to the Snowflake lift. It is right across the road from the main entrance and is only a short, downhill cat track to access the Snowflake chairlift. This chair does tend to be a little slow however and does not take you very high up the mountain so we do often times recommend taking the shuttle over to Beaver Run which is a full top to bottom chairlift. I must apologize for the note that was left on your car. At night our security guards walk around with notices for cars that either have an expired parking pass or are parked in a blocked off spot. From how you described where you were I have a pretty good guess as to which spot you are referring to and as long as you were not blocking the door then it should have been fine. I will be reviewing with my staff the proper way to handle this in the future. It sounds like overall you enjoyed your time with us and I hope to welcome you back again.
Sincerely,
Michelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 13, 2016

The purpose of our stay was skiing. It is a truly ski in but a 40 yard walk, so not truly ski out. BUT, as lazy as I am I would still pick this over the property next door that was also ski out where we stayed previously. The reasons: Christi ski rental is in the building. Extra convenient. The multiple outdoor hot tubs and indoor-outdoor pool are very well laid out, become a great gathering spot after skiing, and the bar serves you right in the hot tub. Speaking of the bar, it is good and the food is acceptable when you're too lazy to go out. (BTW, there is a second pool and hot tub area at the other end of the property.) The private shuttle is easy and personalized. The place is well kept, not tired looking at all. The staff are helpful. The parking is free and easy. And the spa did great work.

Room Tip: If you are skiing, Building 5 is most ideal ... the ski rental and/or storage is in that Building and it also right at the large pool area.
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AustinTravelMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle E, Assistant General Manager at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2016

Dear AustinTravelMan,
We greatly appreciate you sharing your feedback about your recent stay that the Grand Timber Lodge. We love to hear that you enjoyed our on property amenities such as our multiple pool areas. Between the two buildings, we actually have the largest aquatics area in all of Breckenridge which is great for our owners and guests! We would have to agree with you that the Christy Sports on property is especially convenient as well as our on property restaurant and spa, the Lodgepole Bar and Grill, and Refresh Spa. Thank you again for your review and we hope you to see you again in the future!
Sincerely,
Michelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 12, 2016

This is a triple A Condo. Accommodations are superb; staff is friendly; there are at least 2 fitness areas with swimming pools and hot tubs. One fitness area has a sauna and steam room. There is indoor parking. I went there to ski for a week. GTL provides a shuttle to take you to the various parts of Breckenridge ski resort but you can ski in and ski out. The shuttle took you to various spots in the town of Breckenridge. I parked my car and only took it out one day because I went to a nearby Vail ski resort and planned to run some errands afterwards.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ceejay A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle E, Assistant General Manager at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2016

Dear Ceejay A,
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of the Grand Timber Lodge! We are so happy to hear that you fully enjoyed your time spent with us. Parking your car for the week and taking the shuttle during your stay is definitely the way to go! Our shuttle drivers are happy to take our guests anywhere with the town of Breckenridge. We hope you will return for another visit in the future!
Sincerely,
Michelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 2, 2016 via mobile

Fantastic lodge. Great rooms!! Had a kitchen with all the necessary gear for cooking. Fantastic mountain views. Ski in and out!!! Rental shop right on the resort. Underground parking and heated sidewalks made getting around really easy. HOT TUBS!!!!!

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle E, Assistant General Manager at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2016

Dear Jason M,
Thank you so much for your wonderful 5-star review! We truly love seeing that our guests enjoyed their time spent with us. It sounds like you enjoyed every element of your stay and we hope that you will come back for another visit soon!
Sincerely,
Michelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 28, 2016 via mobile

As in many times prior we had another great stay at Grand Timber Lodge. We've been coming every year for over ten years. The pools, hot tubs and conveniences of being close to town and the slopes can't be beat.
It's equally as nice in the summer as well. The staff is there to assist.
The rooms are comfortable and spacious. Always nice to enjoy having the balcony as an option.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Ssea_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle E, Assistant General Manager at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2016

Dear Ssea_10,
We absolutely love hearing that you are so happy with your time spent here at Grand Timber Lodge that you have been returning for over 10 years. Thank you very much for your kind review and we look forward to welcoming you back for another GRAND vacation next year!
Sincerely,
Michelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews