We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (667)
Filter reviews
667 results
Traveller rating
297
250
71
30
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
297
250
71
30
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews maggie pond full kitchen stayed at the marriott bedroom villa main street great location daily activities charter sports pull out couches within walking distance parking garage marriott timeshare whirlpool tub outdoor pool in town ping pong blue river
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 667 reviews
Reviewed August 3, 2018

The best attribute of this Marriott is the location - at the far end of town but everything is within a very easy walk. The hotel itself is older: the common areas have a very run down look and feel; the rooms are decent enough but furnishings and fixtures are a bit older and spare. The studio suite is not as large in reality as it appears on the website and as the square footage would have you believe. It is a bit choppy in layout with some wasted space at the entry and then a tight fit in other areas.

The hotel has several major flaws which would cause us not to return to this hotel.

1. The balcony is incredibly tiny and none of the balconies in any rooms at this hotel have any furniture - not even two cheap plastic outdoor chairs. Sitting on the balcony to enjoy the view and the stars was the main reason we chose this Marriott and that was simply a non starter given that you could barely fit two people standing.

2. The hotel lacks air conditioning. Some may say that "oh in the mountains you don't need it." Guess what? You do, in the summer. We kept the sliding glass door open all night and there was no breeze or air flow into the room so we hardly slept at all.

3. The hot tubs are part of the pool complex and have no views or privacy, much less a separation from all the children hollering and splashing in the pool. The hot tubs should be separated from the pool itself and all the kids in an "adult only" area for peace and quiet.

4. The parking is in a different building which is about a 5 - 10 min walk. There are signs at each space that say "Marriott Assigned Space" which makes you think that the spaces are reserved and assigned to a specific room. The desk clerk did not make it clear at all that any space is available for a Marriott guest. Also, be sure not to park in the spaces assigned to guests of other hotels.

5. Our card keys frequently did not work and every single time it took five or more tries to get the keys to work and flash the green light. This was incredibly annoying.

6. There are no views to speak of other than a tiny view of the woods and a sliver of the river and mountain.

7. Housekeeping service is expensive and a la carte. If you request "just" trash emptying service, they charge you $10 a day. For a full cleaning, it is $50 a day. REALLY???? At the price of $250 a night, they are going to charge additional fees for housekeeping? I was astonished.

It has a full kitchen that smartly uses the space (dishwasher, frig, stove, microwave) that is well equippped. There is a square table with several chairs that is in the middle of the room. The bed is a queen. The linens and towels are decent quality. The room had a safe in the closet, an iron and ironing board, and a humidifier but no fan or air conditioning.

The desk clerk was snarky and sarcastic. We had to wait several minutes for one to appear any time we needed to speak to someone.

Be aware that this hotel seems to cater to families like several other Marriott vacation club spots. There are kids everywhere.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank dvorac4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottVacationClub, Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge at Breckenridge, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and leave a review about your stay at Mountain Valley Lodge. While we are sorry to hear about your concerns, our team appreciates you letting us know about your experience. Please know, your review will be shared with the senior resort management. We look forward to exceeding expectations on your next Marriott Vacation Club stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 2, 2018 via mobile

We stayed for a 5 night stay. We requested a different room when seeing our room had minimal views. Jennifer accommodated us immediately with the best available view room. The studio suites have corner views but she got us the best available with a gracious smile. Much appreciated! The location of this lodge is perfect for enjoying views while being close enough to Main Street to walk to restaurants and shopping. All of the personnel are so friendly and accommodating. Only reason I am not giving 5 stars is the small inconvenience that the parking was a bit off site overall, great resort and stay.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank 82012mimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottVacationClub, Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge at Breckenridge, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2018

We are always delighted to hear about #vacationgreatness! Thank you for your review and for making Marriott Vacation Club a part of your travels. We look forward to welcoming you home again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 30, 2018 via mobile

A huge shout out to Spencer who helped us in our time of need- we had rented a larger house from Turnkey Vacation Rentals and arrived to find a green hot tub and a dirty disaster of a house. So we left and were scrambling to find suitable accommodations at 6pm with hungry children in tow for our larger family. Spencer apologized for our experience, which Turnkey had not, and worked with us to find a unit. He was so easy going and friendly and made our whole ordeal so much less stressful.

The unit itself I believe was not one of their updated ones, but it was clean and had a nice mountain feel to it. It was basically decorated, but it felt homey. It was on the smaller size, but we still enjoyed our evening. We would be back!

Stayed: July 2018
Thank blessed_mama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottVacationClub, Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge at Breckenridge, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2018

We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for choosing Marriott Vacation Club for your getaway and for your kind words for Spencer. We do hope your travels bring you back to see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 28, 2018 via mobile

This is probably the worst Marriott property we’ve ever stayed at. This is saying a lot given we’re Platinum members. We called ahead (by 4 hrs) , arrived ahead (by 1.5 hrs) and were told since we were early they would get housekeeping working on the room. Check-in time arrived and no room. Checked again and were told another 30-45 minutes because the room was being “inspected to make sure it has enough coffee creamer”. Which anyone who’s ever stayed in any hotel, let alone stayed in numerous of the same chain of hotels knows this is ludicrous. We were given many excuse from the “manager” Chris and never an apology of any kind. He was rude and condescending asking if we had actually stayed at a Marriott of this “type”. Will never recommend and will never stay again. Pretentious and zero accountability to serve the loyal customer.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank chellebellere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottVacationClub, Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge at Breckenridge, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2018

Thank you for your review of your recent visit to Mountain Valley Lodge. We are sorry to hear your villa was not ready at 4PM and would like to learn more about your experience. Please contact our customer care team at 800 936 6824 or by email at customer.care@vacationclub.com so that we may personally assist you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 21, 2018

By far, this is the best Marriott timeshare resort studio unit we have been too. We exchange into a lot of different Marriott locations - ski resorts, resort towns, hawaii, etc., and the Breckenridge Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge has the best laid out arrangement for a studio that includes a full kitchen (that's right - oven, stove top and decent apartment size refrig, plus microwave and all the other kitchen appliances), plus a sofa sleeper and a dining table that could actually seat 5, and a very large bathroom with double sinks and or course the bedroom cove. Why exchange for a one bedroom when the studio suits two just fine! There is also a small veranda. This property shares a pool with another resort, and hot tubs .... but they are large enough for everyone during the busiest week of the summer - 4th of July. The location couldn't be better - right at the ski resort, and at the end of Main Street. Terrific staff willing to help you with whatever you need.

Room Tip: Most rooms are going to have a view of mountains near or far, or the quaint town. Studio's have full kitchens
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Dory W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottVacationClub, Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge at Breckenridge, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2018

It's wonderful to hear your stay was five-star at Mountain Valley Lodge! Thank you for your review and for choosing Marriott Vacation Club for your travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews