We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 12:00 a.m. - 11:59 p.m.
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Rio Celeste
from US$111.00
More Info
from US$85.00
More Info
from US$105.00
More Info
Reviews (1,377)
Filter reviews
748 results
Traveller rating
545
146
42
11
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
545
146
42
11
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river blue water hot springs national park beautiful waterfall hiking shoes rubber boots great hike rainy season worth the trip entrance fee rental car long hike dry season easy hike take your time hour drive
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 748 reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago

The trail up to the waterfall is in excellent conditions. Mostly concrete or gravel. Then the steps down to the waterfall are not for everyone but if you are in good shape you can do it!
The rest of the trail to the end is more muddy but nothing too bad! So, if you are scared of getting your shoes dirty, it is not for you. Very interesting to read about how the color is created at the junction of the two rivers to create Rio Celeste.
We were told by locals, and it seemed obvious, that if it rains a lot it might not be as spectacular. Luckily for us, we had a good day and it was beautiful!
Down side: I think the fee should be a bit lower for what it is. Considering they charge you for the parking too.

Thank Danyboy8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Unfortunately due to heavy rain we didn't get to see the waterfall in his bright blue color. However, down stream all the way to the end of the trail we got to see the beautiful colors!
It isn't an easy hike, you'll definitely get sweaty and it is very steep at some points BUT, very pretty views :)
P.S. the mud isn't that bad, especially in the morning when not a lot of people have been walking around.

Thank katieg303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

Was a long ride from Lafortuna to Rio Celeste but wow was it worth it! This was a hard hike, not easy by any means at all! It's rough terrain, lots of steps, rocks, and mud! I highly suggest you wear pants, hiking boots, hat, and rain jacket. You'll definitely need some water you'll be sweating like crazy. Make sure you save room for fresh coconut milk after the hike, there's a cute old man that sells fresh coconut milk right outside of the entrance. The looking points were not great when we went you couldn't see the volcano which was fine because the waterfall was definitely the attraction! The beginning of river where the colors meet was amazing as well as the boilers but that waterfall was the most beautiful thing we've ever seen! You have to give this place a try, you will not be disappointed! We were able to see white faced monkeys which was an amazing site but that was about all we found on this hike! Pura Vida!!

Thank Brooke B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This is no easy hike but worth it! There are four stops but we only did two because of time. We saw the waterfall and volcano view. Very worth the steep hike but allow time for breaks and bring lots of water!

Thank Catherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 6, 2018 via mobile

Excellent hike, the best attraction in Volcan Tenorio National Park. Worth every step specially if you have rain boots and Rain-Proof jacket. The whole trail can take up to 2 hours and 30 mins. Enjoy!.
Ps: USD 12 is the admission fee to access the park. There are guides at the entrance, ask for Chary, he is very nice and cheap!.

Thank adrianlmarano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 4, 2018 via mobile

After enjoying several waterfalls in La Paz and Rio Fortuna including - we were pretty sceptical about driving for 1 and a half to Rio Celestial park to look at waterfall there. We are glad we did!!! Amazing blue water - states blue even during rain due to aluminum and cilicia minerals along with oxygen! If you hike a mile trail all the way to the end - you see where it all starts! - regular water mixes with blue - AMAZING!! will not regret!
Warning- trail is pretty wild - not suitable for elderly or anyone with impaired mobility. Lots of steps. Cost $12 to enter park and closes by 2pm to enter. We downloaded Google map of Costa rica area and used it without WiFi to drive around.

1  Thank YoLNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 4, 2018

Beautiful Blue water and wonderful waterfall well worth the hike, but don't forget to look around you lots to see, Butterflies, flowers, Snakes !!!

Thank 303chrissie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 28, 2018 via mobile

This is a spot I would tell every person visiting to stop by, but only if you're ready for an intense hike. The hike to the waterfall isn't too bad, but it is all uphill. It's a moderate hike. Once you get to the waterfall though, that's where it gets much more strenuous. The waterfall is halfway on the trail, it is an out and back trail. You have to walk down a pretty long staircase to get to the waterfall but it is just absolutely beautiful once you get down there. When we were there, it had not rained for a few days and the water was absolutely stunning. The climb back up the stairs is tough, not because of the amount of stairs, but because they aren't all the same height. As someone who is very short with short legs, some of the steps felt huge to me. After the waterfall you can choose to hike on to the Blue Lagoon, lookout, and other things to see. I highly recommend this but the trail really ramps up in intensity and is almost all uphill. What you get to see is absolutely beautiful, but it's definitely not a hike for people that are out of shape. I have asthma and I had to stop a few times, but I pressed on and I was glad I did. Not just is the river beautiful, but the forest is beautiful as well. I can't speak to how the trail is during the rain because we were lucky to have been there during a time where it had not rained for a few days. Rio Celeste was such a beautiful hike and we had a great lunch at the restaurant next door after!

1  Thank dinosaursrawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 20, 2018

amazing color and a nice walk very enjoyable trip and a nice place to see on the way to Arenal or to the opposite direction,
we also did a night in a hotel next to the waterful and that's was a great refreshing on the way to Santa Teresa

Thank Maayan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 15, 2018

This rain forest hike is pretty serious - try to do it on a nicer day - if it was raining quite hard this hike would be a pretty big mess. The rain forest is interesting but the trail is arduous - streams, rocks, tree roots - this is not a trail for people who are out of shape. The final decent to the waterfall is steep and long and arduous - going down is a challenge - going UP is very strenuous. If you are in moderately good physical condition - you can do this whole hike, but you will be tired and sweating when you finish. If you are in poorer physical condition this is not the hike for you. The map is well-marked - this is a good value if you don't use a guide. We rented the rubber boots - I believe they were $5.00 per pair - and I'm glad we did - the trail can be quite wet and muddy and sloppy. We also bought rain ponchos - I would recommend those as well - they are quite inexpensive. Was it worth it? Yes.

Thank 493Ron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews