We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice motel close to downtown”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Canon City
USA
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice motel close to downtown”
Reviewed 12 October 2010

Nice, clean motel (with king beds!) conveniently within walking distance of the shops and restaurants of downtown Canon City. Comes with breakfast (pastries, waffles, cereal, etc.)

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amiex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    47
    28
    20
    14
See reviews for
57
29
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Walled Lake, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2010

The facilities weren't perfect, but they were clean and adequate. Much more important, the staff wasn't just nice, they were outstandingly helpful. The whole city seemed especially friendly, but Bonnie and the rest of the Comfort Inn staff were excellent.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jss8390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina SK
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2009

The room was filthy and the woman at the desk would not send anyonre. The thing that really irked me was that the room AC (it was hot that day) was bypassed to where the fan doesnt work. Also the thermostat is bypassed. Simply what this means is to save cost only the automatic option works to save the hotel money by not using much electricity in your room. Me and the wife and kids fell asleep waiting for the service guy to come look at it and we both woke up 6 or 7 times that night and left around 6 am (2 hrs earlier than we wanted). My stepson's gf hair turned green in the pool which was nasty and she cried for hours..We were at other pools at other hotels and her hair was fine..Do what you want but remember that I say dont stay there. If you want to waste money or you have absolutely no choice than stay there,..,It is better than getting in a wreck I guess..

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marbenjes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Canon City hotels

McKinney, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2009

First the good news - the room was OK. Not great, but acceptable. the hotel has a good location - right across the street from the train station. If you're taking that excursion train thru the Royal Gorge, call ithe hotel in advance and tell them you have a train reservation, and they'll give you a special "Train Rate."

Now the bad news - the place really looks old and run down. Most unappealing lobby we've ever seen. The comp. breakfast was very meager and the room was overcrowded - they ran out of things and had little interest in replenishing. On our second morning, we went elsewhere for breakfast.

Next visit to Canon City, we'll stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TexasZuggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2009

Stayed two nights here, no complaints.

The women at the front desk were very very friendly. Great with check in and answering any questions we had about the area.

This is an older hotel. But it was clean. The only thing was the pool area, could have been a bit more clean but was not horrible. Also, the water in the pool was a darker color, not sure if it's dirty or chemicals. My son swam as did many other people and had fun. The pool itself is fairly small. There is a hot tub.

Our hotel room was great. It was clean. There were some black scuff marks on a couple of walls. The wall above the shower could use a swipe of cleaner. I'm not remembering the carpet but it must have been ok.
They have coffee in the rooms. The TV had a lot of channels.
The beds were fairly comfortable, firmer than I like but ok.

The breakfast was good, waffles, donuts, bagels, toast, hard boiled eggs and yogurt. I never saw any fresh fruit though. The breakfast area was kept clean, small room.

They do not have an elevator, we were on the first floor so was not an issue for us.

One of the best things, there is a Baskin Robbins right next door.

The location is great.
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CNW901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2009

We stayed for 2 nights and the hotel was alright. Definetly nothing fancy, but it was overall pretty clean even though it's a little older of a hotel. The room was very basic. The free breakfast was decent: waffles, bagels, cereal, yogurt, etc. The staff was nice and kept some food in the kitchen fridge for us when we asked since there was not a fridge in the room.
The best part is the location. It's right across the street from the Royal Gorge Railroad and the Dinosaur Depot. One block the other way is Main Street- the part of town with many old buildings, antique shops, restaurants, an old one screen movie theater, etc. We could walk from the hotel to any of these so that was very convenient.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kawaiifvb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2008

I always do research on places to stay before we travel especially if we're staying more than one night. That's what I did this time too and have never been so wrong. We booked four nights at Comfort Inn and only stayed one. I wouldn't have done that if there was any other solution. It was dirty, the toilet had problems, the room which was supposed to be non smoking had a bad smoking odor, the hot tub had green "stuff" in it and on the sides, the pool was filthy and when our grandson got out he had a wad of hair clinging to his leg. Had the health department known would they would have closed it down. Our whole experience was disgusting. I felt sorry for the employees working there especially the young lady who tried to deal with the hot tub when another guest reported the green yuck. When we checked out and canceled our other nights I was asked if there was anything wrong. There was no point in going into detail if the management couldn't see the obvious. Don't stay here until you see better reviews.

  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GabbaIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canon City hotels
5.0 km away
Hampton Inn Canon City
Hampton Inn Canon City
#4 of 13 in Canon City
538 reviews
4.2 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#10 of 13 in Canon City
203 reviews
1.6 km away
Holiday Motel
Holiday Motel
#7 of 13 in Canon City
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Super 8 Canon City
Super 8 Canon City
#1 of 13 in Canon City
427 reviews
5.4 km away
Best Western Canon City
Best Western Canon City
#3 of 13 in Canon City
481 reviews
2.3 km away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Canon City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 311 Royal Gorge Blvd, Canon City, CO 81212-3744
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Canon City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Canon City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Canon City
Canon City Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing