We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in Crested Butte!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Elk Mountain Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Elk Mountain Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
washington dc
1 review
“Best place to stay in Crested Butte!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

We came to town to visit with family that live in Crested Butte and decided to stay at the Elk Mountain Lodge. It was perfect. The room was comfortable and quiet, the breakfast in the morning was fresh and local and delicious, Mike and his staff made us feel welcome, and the location could not have been better. An easy walk to all that CB has to offer.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ken m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    56
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
45
127
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

If you're looking for something unique, quaint, memorable, comfortable, and still want exceptional service, quality, and value, search no further and book at the Elk Mountain Lodge. I promise I've not been compensated in any way to make that pitch. My wife and I were one of only two rooms booked during the end of the ski season and we totally enjoyed our stay. The lodge is two blocks from Elk so you can walk to all night life. You can walk to the free bus that will take you up to Mt. Crested Butte. You can also use the recreation trail and just walk to Mt. Crested Butte (3.5 miles) from the lodge. The lodge had ski storage, and indoor hot tub, a nice balcony from our 3rd floor queen, clean private bath, and an awesome great room to have breakfast (complimentary) every morning. They had a reading/game room and a family room with couches to chill out and meet with other guests. They also had a small bar. We did some hiking and running over 2 days and the nice young woman at the front desk even let us launder our dirty stinky clothes due to the lack of guests. It's a great place I assure you.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sgpostle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffield ,Connecticut
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

My husband and I arrived on a Tuesday for a five day stay at the Lodge. But we are extending our stay due to the wonderful Elk Mountain experience and the great ski conditions. The owner Mike and the Staff especially Brian, Elisa, and the others are welcoming, helpful and knowledgeable about the area. The atmosphere and location are fantastic!!! The common rooms are very warm and inviting. Our room 14, had three windows and was a corner location on the second floor with views of Mt. Crested Butte and the town and surrounding mountains. We are so very happy with everything here and hope to return!!!

Room Tip: Room 14 for the views!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diandebra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

My husband and I have spent over a week at the Elk Mountain Lodge. The owner and staff were fantastic! They were most accommodating and friendly. Excellent breakfast each morning and we never felt rushed. Our stay was relaxing, good location, great value and wonderful people!!! This was our second stay and we will return next year. Ron and Viki
Thank you to Mike, Bryan, Erica and Lindsey...

Room Tip: We liked the second floor!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilson, Wyoming
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

Wow! We bucked up a big drive to race at the Alley Loop in Crested Butte and arrived at the charming Elk Mountain Lodge in the wee hours of the morning. Not only were we greeting by plush beds, we awoke to a gourmet breakfast and espressos. The owner and staff went out of their way in every way to make sure that we could wax our skis for the race on their wax bench and have a fuel-hardy breakfast. The icing on the cake after our race was the delighful hot tub soak. We will be back and will bring the rest of the family for an excellent vacation!

Room Tip: Families, there is a first floor that looked excellent and we were informed that you could book the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamsen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skowhegan, Maine
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

My wife and enjoyed our 1 week stay here very much.we found it to be very comfortable and restful.all the staff were helpful and friendly.we heartily recommend it to any one looking for a nice,reasonably priced place to stay in crested butte which is a fun and unique ski town.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ajervey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
94 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2011

We have travelled to Crested Butte several times and decided to visit in Ocober to get an early dose of cold weather away from Texas. Knowing town would be basically deserted this time of year, waited until last minute to book. Everything was easily handled over the internet and a key was waiting for us at the front desk upon arrival. Elk Mountain Lodge is a privately owned establishment, not a chain and you definitely feel that from the moment you enter. Owner Mike Nolan runs a tight ship and all the details are taken care of. Not luxury accommodation - it is quite an old building, but way beyond "no frills". Decor and style of hotel is more in keeping with small town Colorado. Comfortable bed; clean, decent sized room; modern, well appointed bathroom. No complaints what so ever. Even though there were just a couple of guests in the hotel due to the time of year, we were still served a very filling, adequate breakfast. Mike even cooked us eggs himself one morning. The lodge's location is perfect - 2 blocks off of Elk Street.

All in all a very nice stay in a very comfortable hotel and I would very definitely recommend to any CB visitors.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eurotripper22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crested Butte hotels
3.7 km away
Lodge at Mountaineer Square
Lodge at Mountaineer Square
#2 of 7 in Crested Butte
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
3.6 km away
The Elevation Hotel & Spa
The Elevation Hotel & Spa
#3 of 7 in Crested Butte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
3.7 km away
Grand Lodge Crested Butte
Grand Lodge Crested Butte
#1 of 7 in Crested Butte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 km away
The Nordic Inn
The Nordic Inn
#1 of 9 in Crested Butte
5.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
0.7 km away
Inn at Crested Butte
Inn at Crested Butte
#7 of 9 in Crested Butte
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
0.7 km away
Cristiana Guesthaus
Cristiana Guesthaus
#5 of 9 in Crested Butte
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elk Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elk Mountain Lodge

Property: Elk Mountain Lodge
Address: 129 Gothic Ave, At Second & Gothic Ave, Crested Butte, CO 81224
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Crested Butte
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Crested Butte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Elk Mountain Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“Crested Butte’s Historic Inn” A modest, yet elegant, bed & breakfast lodge with 19 quaint rooms downtown Crested Butte. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Elk Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elk Mountain Hotel Crested Butte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing