We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cottonwood Cabin”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pioneer Guest Cabins
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 December 2011

Our family loves it here! In 2010 we stayed at Oh be Joyful & this December at Cottonwood. We needed to drive a few minutes up Cement Creek for cross country skiing since this year the snow was spotty right from the cabin. Jotul woodstove cranks out the heat and there is a back up gas stove for when you are out or overnight so it the cabin does not become too chilly. We are very comfortable & appreciate being "unplugged" in this special place. Our boys (ages 8 & 11) really appreciate coming here. We hope to come every year at the holidays. We have yet to visit during the warmer weather but the mountain biking & fly fishing must be fantastic. The hosts are available & attentive but are also not at all in your space - it is very private.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmgully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (190)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 190 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2011

We spent about a week searching for a cabin in CO that fit what we were looking for when it comes to the balance between rustic and comfortable. Pioneer Guest Cabins was one of our first choices but we kept searching for days just to make sure. We always came back to Pioneer and their excellent web site with great pictures, descriptions and easily navigated site.

The cabins are situated in the woods next to Cement Creek less than 7 miles from Crested Butte and less than a mile from Crested Butte South (small community with a general store for any forgotten supplies).

We arrived after 7pm do to a 5 hour drive from Hayden/Yampa Airport on several back country roads, but were delighted to have a a note on the office door with our cabin key and instructions. We arrived in our cabin, "Homestead", which had been dimly light and already heated by the quaint gas fireplace. It was perfect!

After settling in we headed to Crested Butte for dinner at "The Secret Stash" for a gourmet pizza and a few beers. Back at the cabin we settled in for a cozy and comfortable nights sleep in a surprisingly solid and draft free cabin, which is amazing considering it was built in the 1930's. The sheets and towels were fresh and clean and the kitchen had everything we needed to prepare most meals. The cabin is small and the bathroom is tiny, but it was perfect for two people and a dog. We didn't use the second bedroom except to put our clothes and such, but another close couple or a child (or two) would be fine sleeping there.

The next day we meet with Matt (the owner) and settle up on the bill and got a lot of useful information about places to eat in town, trials to hike right from the cabin as well as were to get any supplies for the cabin right there in the office if it was late or the owners were not home.

We headed back to Crested Butte for a wonderful breakfast at Paradise Cafe then to Mountain Earth Whole Foods for supplies for our dinner on the camp fire later that night.
After a lil window shopping in town we headed back to Pioneer for a steep hike that begins from the just behind the cabin to a trail that took about an hour and a half to the old warming house on top of the mountain left over from the old ski resort that existed on the property in the mid to late 1930's.

That night we prepared a fire on the private fire pit in front of the cabin along side the cement creek, which was a perfect setting for couples, friends and families alike. The site and cabin are semi private with about 75 to 100 yards between most cabins, but you really feel like your out in the woods, but not so separated from civilization that your alienated. The owners are very accommodating and friendly, including their two dogs, "Kita" and "Toby".

We could not have asked for a more pleasurable place to stay and would recommend it to anyone. I know we'll be back!

Room Tip: We only were in our cabin "Homestead", but could tell from the outside that the other cabi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kyle Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

Would just like to say a big THANK YOU for your hospitality. God created the world in seven days but he needed one extra day to create the beautiful scenery in Colorado. We have traveled all over your state and seen some beautiful country, but staying in the "Wild Rose" cabin was very special. The perferct getaway, quiet, peaceful, the fresh air, and all the surroudings. This was our first visit to Pioneer Guest Cabins and it won't be our last. An inspiration for "Little Warrior"
Matt and Leah - Thank you!

Edward and Anne - Crosby, Texas

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
Thank Edward R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

Great Hospitality! We loved the peace and serenity of the mountains. We stayed in the OH Be Joyful, and the cabin was perfect for our family. While we were there, we experienced horseback riding with Tenderfoot Outfitters (Awesome!!!) fishing, and white water rafting with Scenic River Tours. I must say my favorite thing was hiking in the mountains where I saw the most beautiful country God has ever created!!! We loved our vacation at the Pioneer Guest Cabins and we will definitely go back.

Room Tip: Oh Be Joyful is perfect because it is at the end of the road. There is no traffic, and the view is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vicki w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

Beautifully furnished log cabins, idea for families or couples. Just what you imagine a log cabin should be. BBQ and fire pits available to watch the stars. Excellent hikes and trails surround the cabins. Close enough to Crested Butte to feel part of it but surrounded by wilderness for a more rustic experience. Web site is very informative with great photos of all the cabins.

Room Tip: Book well in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kazzadownie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

This was our second stay at Pioneer Guest Ranch. It is such a wonderful place to spend a relaxing vacation. The cabins are so well taken care of. They are old cabins that have been completely modernized on the inside. Not at all what you would think of for such an old historic setting. The cabins are well spaced apart so there is a great deal of privacy. Each morning we enjoyed waking to the hummingbirds at our window and listening to the sounds of the creek as it ran near our cabin. The owners, Matt and Leah are such welcoming hosts. As a long time camper that finally decided to upgrade to rental cabins ones of my most favorite things of these cabins is that each cabin is supplied with it's own fire pit and a pile of wood to burn. All that is required of you is to place the wood in the pit and light the match!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJpratt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2011

My family of 5 stayed at the Pioneer Guest Cabins in Dec 2010. It was a vacation for the memory books. These amazing cabins take you back to another time in history. They are quaint and beautiful, heated by a gas stove or make your own fire. During the time we were there they were having record snowfall. They are located in the Gunnisen National Forrest so the view outside is unsurpassed. My 8 year old thinks this is the greatest place on earth. We are planning another visit to Pioneer Guest Cabins this December.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank Courtney G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crested Butte
12.7 km away
The Elevation Hotel & Spa
The Elevation Hotel & Spa
#3 of 7 in Crested Butte
807 reviews
12.9 km away
Lodge at Mountaineer Square
Lodge at Mountaineer Square
#1 of 7 in Crested Butte
272 reviews
30.8 km away
The Inn at Tomichi Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 km away
Three Rivers Resort
Three Rivers Resort
#1 of 1 in Almont
136 reviews
13.0 km away
Grand Lodge Crested Butte
Grand Lodge Crested Butte
#2 of 7 in Crested Butte
649 reviews
13.1 km away
The Nordic Inn
The Nordic Inn
#1 of 9 in Crested Butte
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pioneer Guest Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pioneer Guest Cabins

Address: 2094 County Road 740, Cement Creek Road, Crested Butte, CO 81224
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Crested Butte
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Crested Butte
Price Range: $224 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pioneer Guest Cabins 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
8 cabins surrounded by the Gunnison National Forest with Cement Creek running through the property. Just a 12 minute drive to Crested Butte. Cabins feature fully equipped kitchens, baths, fireplaces and all linens and firewood provided. Outside cabins are picnic tables, grills, fire rings and adirondack chairs. Snowshoe and xc ski trails out your door in the winter and hiking and mountain biking in the summer. Pet and kid friendly. Open year round. Free wi-fi in all cabins. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Pioneer Guest Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pioneer Guest Cabins Hotel Crested Butte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing