We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value. Great service.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Lodge Crested Butte

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Lodge Crested Butte
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Crested Butte
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good value. Great service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

We reserved the "Pitkin Suite" for a family group of 5, thinking it would accommodate our needs. It included a kitchenette, which was adequate as an "ette," but not nearly as fully equipped as a kitchen (which I had somehow imagined it would be). There was a single hot plate, a microwave that doubled as a convection oven. No baking pans, mixing bowls, or toaster included, so we toasted the bagels we brought over the hotplate and never baked the cookies we'd planned on making. It's a very limited kitchenette. However, the hotel does set out a big plate of fresh-baked cookies in the lobby in the late afternoons--nice touch. And they were wonderful about responding to our every call for service (brought extra plates to our door). They were not able to help us with a DVD player, though (they have none; a disappointment since we brought along a bunch of movies to watch).
Overall, comfortable and great service. Not super luxury or condo convenience, but fine. Pool was also fine--nothing fancy, but bathrobes for traipsing to and fro a nice touch. Convenient location for walking over to ski lift and leaving skis with ski concierge.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank g s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    298
    185
    54
    20
    25
See reviews for
211
197
17
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norman, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

Location of the hotel is great, very close to the slopes and the rooms are good. I will definitely plan to come again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Petrusha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

Great concert Event with very affordable packages. The location is very pretty and the village and town is very cool. Lots of good restaurants-much option. Everything is in walking distance in the Villiage.

Room Tip: Just talk with the Crested Butte reservation people and they will help you find the right place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keller, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

Close to base lifts, ski rental, lift tickets and restaurants. Had the standard king suite which suited us a family of 4. Kitchenette was very useful as was two televisions. Clean room. Friendly staff. Will consider staying there for a summer vacation in the future although the rooms do not have air conditioning. Would stay there again for future skiing vacations.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wolac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood, Colorado
Level Contributor
110 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

I too was led to believe that I was getting a room at the Grand Lodge Hotel when it was actually Crested Butte Lodging & Property Management who was in charge. I'll never do this again!

We had to also check in and pick up the room keys at another location, which I was aware of, though I didn't understand that the room we were getting was not a hotel room but a privately owned room until later. When I asked about buying a lift ticket at the discounted price I was quoted when I made the resos two months earlier, they said I would have had to buy them two weeks before arrival to get the discount. "No one told me that when I made the resos," I said, so someone jumped up from a back office and said they would "see what they could do" and "could accommodate us." We weren't in our room ten minutes when someone showed up with the lift ticket. I was impressed. However .... upon checking lift ticket prices at the ticket window and checking our receipt upon departure, we discovered that 1) the quoted discount price was only $5 cheaper than buying it at the window (for a two-day ticket) and 2) we ended up paying MORE than the ticket window price for this act of generosity. (The room cost us $243/night.... you think a $5 discount on a lift ticket would break the bank?)

The printed reservation confirmation indicated there is a flat screen TV in the room. NOT. Just two old tube TVs.

We ate at the in-house restaurant and charged it to our room. Later we got a call that we couldn't do that because we were not with the hotel but with Crested Butte Lodging, so we had to go back and do a credit card receipt. Not a huge issue, but it would have been nice to have this explained to us by CB Lodging. (I'll bet this happens a lot.)

The pool was really nice; we used it every day. Day one, the keyed doorknob opened without a key. Day two, there was no doorknob at all. Day three, our room key didn't work and we had to have someone from the front desk (the hotel part, of course) let us in.

Other than that, the only problems we had with the room were that the guest book is falling apart and all the information in it is outdated. And I got claustrophobic sleeping in a room with no window. (The bed was located right inside the door; past that was the bathroom, and past that the little living room area and kitchenette with windows, only one of which opened, thankfully.)

We turned off the heat altogether and used the fan in the bedroom all night. March 2012.

Room Tip: Don't get a west side room if you don't like it hot with the afternoon sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilbert, Arizona
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

The staff was friendly and helpful, the rooms were so affordable and huge! Great place to stay!

Room Tip: The studio's are huge and the hotel was very quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank k9luverjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murphy, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

Beautiful surroundings, very friendly staff, super convenient to slopes and free buses to town.

JS, Murphy TX

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank newwalkabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crested Butte
0.1 km away
Lodge at Mountaineer Square
Lodge at Mountaineer Square
#2 of 11 in Crested Butte
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
0.2 km away
The Elevation Hotel & Spa
The Elevation Hotel & Spa
#3 of 11 in Crested Butte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
0.2 km away
The Plaza Condominiums
The Plaza Condominiums
#4 of 11 in Crested Butte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
40.1 km away
The Inn at Tomichi Village
0.3 km away
The Nordic Inn
The Nordic Inn
#1 of 9 in Crested Butte
5.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
3.9 km away
Inn at Crested Butte
Inn at Crested Butte
#7 of 9 in Crested Butte
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Lodge Crested Butte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Lodge Crested Butte

Property: Grand Lodge Crested Butte
Address: 6 Emmons Loop, P.O. Box 1369, Crested Butte, CO 81225
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Crested Butte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Crested Butte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Lodge Crested Butte 3*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Lodge Crested Butte features 226 oversized hotel rooms and spacious suites to accommodate all types of travelers. Every room is surprisingly affordable and includes comforts and conveniences to make your stay ideal, any time of the year. Each room at the Grand Lodge is equipped with a ceiling fan, box fan, and at least one opening window to assist with climate control. Climate Control Each room at the Grand Lodge is equipped with a ceiling fan, box fan, and at least one opening window to assist with climate control. Consistent with most Colorado mountain resorts, the Grand Lodge does not offer air-conditioning in guest rooms. Pet Friendly Property The Grand Lodge welcomes well-behaved dogs of all shapes and sizes. Pet friendly rooms are limited, so please reserve in advance. A nightly $30 fee for each pet will be charged to your room, and a portion of this fee will be donated to P.A.W.S., a local animal rescue service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Grand Lodge Crested Butte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Lodge Crested Butte Hotel Crested Butte
Grand Hotel Crested Butte
Grand Resort Crested Butte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing