We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (314)
Filter reviews
314 results
Traveller rating
294
15
1
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
294
15
1
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews high school old school bed and breakfast principal's office breakfast was delicious place to stay jack dempsey homemade cookies gracious hosts warm hospitality historic building b and b valentine's day made us feel at home home away from home other guests rooms are beautiful
Filter
Updating list...
173 - 178 of 314 reviews
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Although the historic facility is very interesting, the inn keepers left a bit to be desired. Upon arrival is was more about what we could not do (smoking, dogs, etc...which we don't do) that what we could. We were directed to our upstairs rooms (no elevator) and were only offered help with out luggage after we started up the stairs. During breakfast, the inn keeper hovered around us watching us eat, and taking the plates as soon as we put our fork down - felt very rushed. The cook and another lady were also there in the kitchen watching us eat - very uncomfortable. It should also be advertised that there is no A/C or place to hang clothes (Room 25) and its very noisy when the bars close. We won't go back to stay - but the tour of the building is worth the 30-minutes.

Date of stay: September 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BikesOften
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Well-decorated, nicely re-furnished. Interesting photos and historic momentos. Reserved parking right in front was a nice thought for guests. It's a steep walk up from the casinos! Chalkboards in the rooms are different, but added some charm. My only recommendations would be to upgrade the pillows - they were flat, hard, and uncomfortable. I stayed in the Carr Suite, and the TV was so far from the bed you couldn't read the words on the TV channel guide (which is ok, but why have a TV if you can't see it?). You do hear the folks ripping it up coming out of the casino late at night, and in the afternoon can here the fairly constant whistling of the tourist train that runs in and out of town, but the property itself is quiet. Breakfast was good, seemed like too many staff floating around, all asking the same questions about orders over and over - might be good to provide a menu in advance so each guest could just make a selection - wasn't very peaceful during the ordering process. Also noticed that there is no real table assignment, so the early birds got their own two-tops and those that arrived later for breakfast were forced into potentially sitting with strangers as there were no other options (which I don't mind, but others might). There's no place nearby to get a decent espresso - might be nice if the Carr manor invested in a machine. Great place though! just my two cents.

Room tip: Pick one with a door!
Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EricO1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Our room #1 had a remote control ceiling fan. We had a chalk board in our room. The bed was comfortable. You can get a tour guide to tour the beautiful rooms. Its cool a high school bed and breakfast. Thank you. Rita Bennett and Steve Nordstrom from Westminster Colorado.

Date of stay: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ilovetotravvel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 30, 2013

The Carr Manor is one of those must return experience's that we rarely find today . From the decor to the friendly gracious staff every small detail for your comfort and enjoyment is provided. Once you stay here you will want to return.

Date of stay: August 2013
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Leo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 26, 2013

This is a very unique bed and breakfast in Cripple Creek. It was once the school for the Cripple Creek area. The school rooms have been changed in to rooms for guests. The décor has been kept so as to preserve the history of the building. The innkeepers are very hospitable and nice and the breakfast was excellent. We would definitely stay again.

Room tip: Ask for a room away from the street
Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank golferkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews