We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality service, food and Flavorful”

Roaming Buffalo BBQ
Ranked #309 of 3,483 Restaurants in Denver
Price range: US$9 - US$18
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Takeout
Description: Serving Colorado Craft Bar-B-Que in Denver. Chef Coy, originally from Plainview, Texas, takes great pride in the Bar-B-Que that he prepares. All of his meats are smoked low and slow using pecan and oak. The menu includes Colorado Bison Short Ribs, Lamb Shoulder, Beef Brisket, Chopped Pork, Turkey and Jalapeno Cheddar Sausage and Venison Sausage that is mixed and cased in-house. The homemade classic or spicy sauce is served on the side, a wonderful compliment but not required for the tasty, smoked meats. Be sure to try the Smoked Poblano Cheddar Mac and the Cilantro Lime Cole Slaw. Don't miss the Bourbon Carmel Corn Puffs or Caramelized Banana Pudding for dessert. They are open Tuesday-Sunday from 11am until they sell out.
Reviewed April 9, 2017

First time to visit for Sunday Lunch. Rachael super personal and down to earth. Great recommendation w/ brisket sandwich-tender, juicy, meaty [with fat-cut option]. Homemade chips- tasty. Iced tea-fresh. Coleslaw was crispy and good portion with variety of subtle flavors! Choice of BBQ sauces were all good including strawberry jalapeño jam.Come early, they may sell out. You can only make so much with slow cooking tex bbq.

Date of visit: April 2017
Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (64)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 31 of 64 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2017

My first visit to Roaming Buffalo had some mixed opinions and in their defense they responded with a sincere apology wanting more details. Kudos to Rachel.

I went back yesterday and tried their beef brisket and a side of the mac and cheese. Both were very good. The brisket had a good smoked flavor without hiding the beef flavor. I had both sauces and think I like the milder sweeter version better but each to their own on that. The pasta was cooked right and had a very good cheese and spicy pepper flavor. Again, plenty of flavor without disguising the mac & cheese roots.

This is a fairly small place and the tables fill up quick so lunch time can be "elbows and new friends." They also have some patio seating. The staff is very friendly and you'll probably find Rachel or her husband checking in on everyone making sure they are happy and chatting a bit. It's no wonder they are doing well. It's a tough biz and they work hard at it with Texas BBQ.

Give them a try.

Date of visit: March 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RussL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 14, 2017 via mobile

The food is fair. My daughter and I ordered 2 meat plates. I think the best for the plates are the ribs. The brisket is good but better on a sandwich. It's a little overwhelming to know what to order. You have to order at the counter and there are a lot of people standing around for "to go" orders and it's intimidating. The sides are good but not very generous. The sweet potato was very good. If you want to experiment with lamb or other meat that is not the usual BBQ fare, get there early. They run out. It's worth a visit if you love meat.

Date of visit: February 2017
Thank msaracho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 4, 2017

We had take out from there recently. It was quite good, I kind of made my own sampler this time, having a little of several menu items.

The barbeque wings are huge and come out smokey flavored, you can put any of the sauces on them. I had two pork bone ribs which were also top notch and two bison back ribs which were also done right. I also ordered a cornbread muffin which had some spicy peppers in it which was also quite yummy.

My other two dining companions had lamb and beef plates respectively and enjoyed them very much.

To go, they serve the food in paper wrapped items, versus in a container. My sense is that the containers would keep the food and hold the heat better.

Counter service was a little slow and awkward. The food more than made up for it though.

A definite find on the East side of Denver near DU.

Date of visit: January 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank finesilver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 27, 2017

The sauce here is definitely one of the things that sets it apart from the rest. There is a spicy and normal version of the sauce, but I recommend going with the spicy, it adds a nice kick to the BBQ. The buffalo short ribs and mac and cheese are some of the best items on the menu, some things I never forget to order when I go.

Date of visit: October 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Austin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachael W, Manager at Roaming Buffalo BBQ, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2017

Dear Austin,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We are so pleased that you especially enjoyed our Sauce, Bison Ribs and Cheddar Mac. We look forward to serving you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Roaming Buffalo BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing