We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“could have been a better experience” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Denver Airport Convention Ctr

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Denver Airport Convention Ctr
Ranked #79 of 150 Hotels in Denver
nyc
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“could have been a better experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

most of what went wrong with our visit was just bad luck.
the staff was very friendly.
the room service food was delicious and inexpensive.
i didn't care for the ridiculously long ramp i had to push my heavy cart full of luggage up to get to the elevator.
the wall to wall carpet was stretched, so be careful not to trip.

the worst part of it for us was the unwanted wake-up calls that came at 3:30 am followed by a random call from someone at the front desk at 4:30 am that was meant for a different room number. just horrible. probably won't happen to you.

this is a clean and safe place but i wish we stayed somewhere else.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan L, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Denver Airport Convention Ctr, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Thank you for your review. We appreciate feedback whether it is good or bad, however we apologize that your entire experience was not up to Crowne Plaza standards.

It is our goal to try and provide a comfortable, relaxing stay and I want to personally apologize on behalf of the entire hotel that your experience was not up to par.

As for the carpet that is stretched, that is being replaced within the month as a part of our hotel renovation. It is truly unfortunate that you were woken up by unwanted calls, and we assure you that that does not typically happen.

Sincerely,
Megan Larsen
Hotel Management

We hope that you will reconsider and stay with us again in the future so that we can show you what Crowne Plaza at Denver International Airport has to offer our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    164
    129
    71
    43
See reviews for
95
100
51
217
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hampton, Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

My lovely wife and I stayed two nights here as we flew into Denver International Airport on Thursday and couldn't check into our condo in Avon, CO until 5:00 pm Saturday. We're Intercontinental Hotel Group (IHG) Platinum Ambassadors/Priority Club Rewards (PCR) Platinum level members and utilize IHG hotels through the majority of our travels both national and international. We found a rate online through www.priorityclubrewards.com that included a club level room, 5000 bonus points, two complimentary breakfasts per person/per day and two complimentary drinks at the bar per person/per day. We utilized the free hotel shuttle from the airport to the hotel. The entire staff at this hotel did their utmost to meet our needs; being courteous, friendly and accommodating without exception, however, the hotel itself was below IHG standards. The room was adequate but not comparable to any other club level room we've stayed in the past. They have a club level but not a club level lounge. The hotel could stand a major upgrade as the carpets were in need of a desperate replacement as they are worn, stained and certain places being held down with tape. The colors and décor were very outdated throughout the hotel. The breakfast buffet had a very good selection and our server Tania was wonderful. The bar was very well stocked and those free Guinness stouts hit the spot. There are numerous places to eat within walking distance of the hotel and we’d like to recommend the Kung Fu Asian Grill which is directly across the street and specializes in Thai food. I believe the shuttle vans will take you the Outback Steakhouse if you don’t feel like walking. In closing, the hotel has a lot of potential but at the present time it’s not up to the IHG standards my wife and I have come to expect.

Room Tip: Make sure you sign up for the FREE Priority Club Rewards program before booking your room. Book an e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Big_White_Baer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan L, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Denver Airport Convention Ctr, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Hello and thank you for your very thorough review of our hotel and your stay with us.

We have recently gone through a large renovation, in which we updated flooring, bathrooms, bedding, furniture, and many other improvements in the rooms, lobby and restaurant, to hopefully improve the look and feel of our hotel, which was opened in the early 1980s.

As we're sure you know, complete renovations take time, and we actually are planning on re-carpeting our entire hotel within the next 30 days, which will take care of the worn and stained look that you experienced. We are continuously striving to update our hotel and keep it up to the IHG Standards that you are used to!

We hope that you will come back and see us on your next trip to the Denver area so that you can see our continuous improvements to our hotel and amenities.

Safe travels!

Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
83 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Stayed here on the way to an early flight out of DIA in the morning as we got a really good rate on Priceline. The hotel is conveniently located a short drive from the airport and it is safe and clean.

Check in was very easy later in the evening and there is an abundance of parking. Asked what sort of room we wanted, which is not always the case with Priceline booked rooms. Lobby was large and seemed a bit over the top with a rock waterfall structure thing...kind of interesting. Room was nice. Flat screen Tv, desk, king size bed, and also had a microwave, refrigerator and a couch with coffee table. I believe this is was standard room so the extras were nice. The bathrooms was also very nice, however the toilet had some issues flushing.

Only complaints were that the bed was not comfortable. I am not someone who is picky about beds, and it got to me. Also the room did not have a window to the outside. It looked out over the lobby, which was a bit odd with some off putting lighting at night, and made it feel dark and dreary in the morning.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not overlooking the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Coloradical13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Denver Airport Convention Ctr, responded to this review, 4 December 2012
Hello and thank you for your review,

We appreciate any and all guest feedback, as it is our goal to provide a comfortable and relaxing experience. We are glad to hear that most of your visit was convenient and that you were pleased with most of our amenities.

I am very sorry to hear that you did not find the bed comfortable in your room. We are consistently updating our amenities to make sure that they are in good quality and contribute to a positive guest experience. We hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future, and we encourage our guests to notify the front desk of any amenities that do not meet your standards so that we can see to it that they are replaced.

Sincerely,
Don Woodin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

This was a great stop close to the airport and very affordable. The restaurant was impressive and reasonable. The shuttles are free to the airport and the bar seemed busy. Great staff too.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan L, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Denver Airport Convention Ctr, responded to this review, 22 March 2012
Thank you for your review! We truly appreciate all feedback and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay.

Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tempe, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

Approximately 60 participants spent a very pleasant and productive week meeting a the Crown Plaza Denver International AIrport.

Having spent considerable time over the year at conferences and meetings, I can say that this property is the total package. From the reservatons, shuttle check-in to daily service on property every aspect of service was terrrific. Gen. Mgr Wooden, front desk staff, Ray West, banquet Captain and his Team along with chef Daniel made this an extremely pleasant experience. Kudos to all.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan L, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Denver Airport Convention Ctr, responded to this review, 22 March 2012
Thank you for your review! We love staff shout outs and this information will be passed to each individual that you mentioned. We appreciate your stay and hope to see you again!

Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aspen, Colorado
Level Contributor
131 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

Wasn't bad, decent rooms, decent food, quick and reliable airport shuttle. Enough Said...
You can park here for free for upto 14 days if catching a flight out of DEN

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bmordski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan L, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Denver Airport Convention Ctr, responded to this review, 22 March 2012
Thank you for your review!

We try our hardest to make sure that our guests have everything that they need whether they are staying for business or leisure, and our goal is to make your stay convenient and comfortable.

We hope to see you again!

Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

Twice as far from airport as many hotels, laughably bad renovation of what must have been a bad Holidat Inn. The rock wall fountain in the nearly windowless atrium is a bad imitation of a cheap hotel in Las Vegas. Lobby, elevator, and halls all dirty and in disarray.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan L, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Denver Airport Convention Ctr, responded to this review, 22 March 2012
Hello,

Thank you for your review and we apologize if your stay was anything less than perfect. We are continuously working to better our hotel for our guests and it is our goal to provide a comfortable and aesthetically pleasing atmosphere. We rely on our guest feedback to help us make changes that will improve the quality of our hotel.

We have recently gone through a large renovation, in which we updated flooring, bathrooms, bedding, furniture, and many other improvements in the rooms, lobby and restaurant, to hopefully improve the look and feel of our hotel.

We are working very hard to make this hotel updated and up to high standards; that being said, we apologize for any dissatisfaction you may have had. We hope that you will try us again in the future as we continue to better our hotel.

Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Denver
0.3 km away
Econo Lodge Denver International Airport
0.5 km away
TownePlace Suites Denver Airport at Gateway Park
0.4 km away
Cambria hotel & suites Denver International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Hyatt Place Denver Airport
0.8 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Denver Airport
1.0 km away
Residence Inn Denver Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Denver Airport Convention Ctr? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Denver Airport Convention Ctr

Property: Crowne Plaza Denver Airport Convention Ctr
Address: 15500 E 40th Ave, Denver, CO 80239-5701 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Denver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 150 Hotels in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Denver Airport Convention Ctr 3.5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Denver Airport Convention Center hotel has undergone a full sleeping room and public area renovation, complete September 2011. Located 15 minutes from Denver International Airport and minutes from great shopping, dining and entertainment at Northfield Stapleton, shuttle service is provided complimentary. The hotel features 84,000 square feet of flexible meeting space, including an impressive 60,000-square-foot Convention Center that accommodates as many as 4,000 guests and offers planners an 8' wide x 18' tall access door for heavy machinery and vehicle displays. Additionally, the hotel offers 1200 complimentary parking spaces and complimentary shuttle service to and from Denver International Airport. The hotel has earned a Meeting Service Excellence Ribbon from surveyed meeting planners who have held events at the Crowne Plaza Denver International Airport. With the ability to fly to Denver International Airport in 2 - 3 hours from anywhere in the country and easy access on I-70 or E - 470, this suburban Denver hotel and convention center is ideally suited for annual conferences of any kind. The hotel is centrally located between Downtown Denver, Denver International Airport and Buckley Air Force Base and is a short car or shuttle ride from the Rocky Mountains. Industries that are concentrated in the area include Aerospace, Military, Agriculture, Sustainable Energy, Medical, Pharmaceutical, and Technology. Also, Anschutz Medical Complex is just a few mile from the hotel and a shuttle is provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Crowne Plaza Denver Airport Convention Ctr reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Denver International Airport Hotel Denver
Denver Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing