We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Generic 4 star, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Westin Denver Downtown
Ranked #30 of 156 Hotels in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Colorado
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Generic 4 star, great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

The Westin is just a regular 4 star hotel. Gets the job done but without a lot of character. It's a little hard to distinguish it from other similar hotels. The bed was comfortable, and I was happy for the coffee pot in the room. I had only a short overnight stay for work, so I did not try things like the fitness room or restaurants. The closet and drawer spaces were good. I got a roughly half price room on Hotwire and was very happy not to pay full freight. The big benefit of the Westin for me was its location. It is about a ten minute walk to the convention center, made a few minutes faster by a lift on the 16th Street MallRide.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 10fish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    603
    451
    173
    62
    31
See reviews for
175
248
81
620
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

Our stay at the Westin last Sunday was last minute to say the least. However, from our check-in to check-out we were overwhelmed with quality and service. The receptionist on duty was very patient with us the night of our check-in and the next day, when my phone was dying, the receptionist on duty offered to charge my iPhone on the dock behind the desk. Meanwhile, we were overwhelmed with the quality and cleanliness of the hotel, room and staff. Immaculately clean room, like new clean sheets, comfortable bed, spotless bathroom....I could go on and on. On top of this, a lady from housekeeping politely checked on us twice while being cautious not to invade our 'do not disturb sign'. Unfortunately, the hot tub was out of service and (regretfully) we ended up switching to the Westin the next day. As my boyfriend would put it, "It was like sleeping on the streets compared to the Westin." Thanks for a great stay overall!

Room Tip: Even if you feel this hotel is expensive, I can tell you from experience you will not find a better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calla T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

We named our own price so we got an excellent value. But, we didn't know that parking was $30 a night and no free wifi. Valet and registration were quick and pleasant. We weren't able to get a king bed, but the 2 double beds were comfortable. We found delicious food nearby and were able to walk to the symphony. We asked for a box fan for the white noise and breeze and they quickly granted our request. The Starbucks in the lower/ ground level was a nice treat, even though the service there wasn't the best. The gym and pool were clean and well kept. Good views of the city. All in all a good night!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheyb29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieR1012, Manager at The Westin Denver Downtown, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Thank you for your kind words regarding your recent experience here. I agree; we have the best location of any hotel in the Denver area with easy access to the sports arenas, theatre and restaurants. We do offer complimentary internet in our Lobby and Entrance Level Lobby near Starbuck’s, but do follow Starwood and Westin standards of charging for this service in our guest rooms. If you would like to interact with me further regarding your experience please feel free to contact me at julie.rhodes@westin.com. Thanks again for staying with us and I hope to see you soon.
Julie Rhodes, Executive Assistant to Tom Curley, Area Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anderson, Indiana
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

Impressed with the location, room, check-in, staff friendliness, fitness center, and heated pool. Our weekend stay included upgrading to a mountain view King room, and upon check in found the view lacking (out of fairness it was dark but we assumed it wasn't what we upgraded to as we were on a very low floor) - one call to inquire, and within 10 minutes we were being switched to an awesome room on the18th floor which had the wonderful views we expected without a hassle or being made to feel like we were an inconvenience. Pleasantly surprised to see complementary bottled water, clean room, and we love those heavenly beds! Interesting $5 dining/Starbucks feature if you forego change of linens/towels, but we didn't realize that actually meant foregoing service to the room overall, but an interesting and appreciated 'go-green' feature.

Downside was the 1/2 full and barely luke-warm hot tub, but we had a feeling from previous posts this was the case, although it would have been nice if management went ahead and repaired it so future posters don't have to repeat the negative review. Also, was expecting the fee for Internet usage in the rooms and am hopeful Starwood realizes they should consider dropping this charge as it may become a differentiation point for choosing a hotel location.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caf123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieR1012, Manager at The Westin Denver Downtown, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
Thank you for your kind words regarding your recent experience here. I agree; we have the best location of any hotel in the Denver area with easy access to the sports arenas, restaurants and night clubs. I am also glad that you had an opportunity to participate in our guest sustainability initiative. We do offer complimentary internet in our Lobby and Entrance Level Lobby near Starbuck’s but do follow Starwood and Westin standards of charging for this service in our guest rooms. If you would like to interact with me further regarding your experience please feel free to contact me at julie.rhodes@westin.com. Thanks again for staying with us and I hope to see you soon.
Julie Rhodes, Executive Assistant to Tom Curley, Area Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

Stayed here recently for a conference and we absolutely loved this property. Every staff member we came across was courteous and helpful and acted like they actually appreciated us staying with them. Our SPG membership scored us a room with a great view of the Tabor Center clock tower and downtown.

Our room was spacious and clean and the bed was indeed heavenly. If you can't get a good night's sleep on a Westin bed, there's no hope for you.

While I was busy with conference business, my wife enjoyed spending too much money along the 16th Street Mall. Lots to see and do in and around the Westin. This will be our go-to hotel the next time we have to come to downtown Denver!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheLostTexan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieR1012, Manager at The Westin Denver Downtown, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
I am so happy that you had a wonderful experience here during your meetings! This kind of feedback is so great to share with our team to encourage them every day. Thanks again for the time you took to post and share your positive experience with us. Hope to see you again the next time you visit Denver.
Julie Rhodes, Executive Assistant to Tom Curley, Area Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

Came in for a 3-day business meeting. I love being in downtown Denver with easy access to the 16th Street Mall. Rooms were nice with great views and I actually liked the artwork on the walls. I NEVER notice artwork in hotel rooms but for some reason, I found the pictures (abstract geometrics) attractive. I also liked the lobby bar and was a regular there after my business sessions. Elizabeth our server was a lot of fun. I also liked the views of the city from the breakfast dining area. Overall a great stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fawtandthebaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vail, Colorado
Level Contributor
118 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

For the past few years, we have stayed club level at the Ritz Carlton for this particular volleyball tournament. When my brother's kids decided not to come, he offered me his second room at an amazing rate at the Westin. I remembered our last stay at this Westin (March 2008) and even read my Tripadvisor review to refresh my memory. We almost declined, but common sense made us move forward with the more (drastic) economical stay. We were given the lowest floor (4th) and right near the elevators - from reading past reviews I thought we were doomed for a loud 3 night stay. I was pleasantly surprised. With the door closed we could not hear the elevator (and we're soft sleepers) and less road noise than our past stays in other downtown hotels. The room was much larger than I recall and had been renovated beautifully (I later read on Tripadvisor that a renovation occured AFTER our 2008 stay). While we were missing an "easy chair", only a desk chair - that was our only complaint. A running toilet was fixed immediately by a quick call to guest services (15 mins after our call the issue was fixed). Housekeeping was some of the best we've had (we travel a lot). Guest Services were incredible when we called with a need/question, as was the Concierge. Room service was delicous and even won over my very picky, anti-room service husband. Chicken panini was slendid as was the cobb salad....all came fast and with excellent service. Starbucks gentleman on Saturday morning was a treat; funny, nice at 6:30am! Bar service at night in the lobby was great. Only thing that wasn't working was the hot tub (which I read is an ongoing issue). I have to say that my trip this past weekend at the Westin in downtown Denver has won me back! I'm a picky traveller and like to splurge as much as the next guy - this Westin will not disappoint.

Room Tip: Literally 30 yards from the free 16 Street tram that makes travel in the downtown area easy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmyinVail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieR1012, Manager at The Westin Denver Downtown, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Thank you for the words of encouragement, they are most appreciated. We here at the Westin Denver agree; this is a wonderful hotel with a great location close to many of the attractions Denver has to offer. I am also glad you mentioned the awesome time your family had as Denver does have a lot to offer travelers with children as well as those looking for access to the restaurants and sports venues within walking distance. Thank you for your giving us another try. We look forward to having you as our guest again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Denver hotels
Downtown
Renaissance Denver Downtown City Center Hotel
The Oxford Hotel
#4 of 156 in Denver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Ritz-Carlton, Denver
Central Business District
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel Denver
Magnolia Hotel Denver
#35 of 156 in Denver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Denver Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Denver Downtown

Property: The Westin Denver Downtown
Address: 1672 Lawrence St., Denver, CO 80202-2010
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Denver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Green Hotel in Denver
#14 Luxury Hotel in Denver
#17 Business Hotel in Denver
#19 Family Hotel in Denver
#33 Romantic Hotel in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Denver Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 430
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Denver Downtown Hotel is a four-diamond hotel located in the Tabor Center, located near the famous 16th Street Mall, Colorado's leading tourist destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Denver Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Denver Downtown Hotel Denver
Westin Tabor Center
Westin Hotel Denver
Westin Denver
Denver Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing