We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT EVER EVEN CONSIDER THIS PLACE! IT'S A HAZARD TO YOUR HEALTH!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ramada Denver Downtown
Ranked #106 of 157 Hotels in Denver
Chicago, IL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“DO NOT EVER EVEN CONSIDER THIS PLACE! IT'S A HAZARD TO YOUR HEALTH!”
Reviewed 28 February 2012

We decided to spend a weekend in Denver and chose to stay at this hotel. When driving into the city from the airport the hotel did not look too bad, although I have seen Ramadas in far better shape.

The first thing I noticed was the smell. This place must have been a smoker's paradise until just recently. When checking in, the staff was friendly. The other good thing about this place is the free and fast WiFi. But unfortunately, those are the only good points of the hotel.

1) A used syringe dropped out of the sheets just a couple of inches from my feet. Luckily, nobody got poked by it. When I confronted the front desk about their obviously lousy room keeping service, they promised to refund the night's stay when checking out. When checking out, the refund was denied for some bogus reason (for not having booked directly with Ramada, but through another website).
2) The rooms are not vintage, they are just old. The dark colors and – once again - the smell of cold cigarette smoke in combination with a carpet of an undefinable color and fiber added up to a very uncomfortable feeling. Besides its tiny size, the bathroom could not hide its age either: A hole in the shower curtain and far more than usual wear-and-tear rounded-up the whole bad impression.
Plus: The room was dirty (besides the syringe). I found long curly hairs in the sink and at the coat track. The bathroom floor was not clean either.
3) The rooms are noisy (at least those facing the street – Colfax equals heavy traffic) plus the dodgy establishments in the neighborhood added the bassline driven soundtrack to this stay throughout the night. Once the music stopped, room keeping started the vacuum cleaners, slamming doors, and just being unnecessarily loud in the hallway.
4) The parking lot is far too small for a hotel of this size. Other guests were made to park in the fire lane although a sign at the front desk informed them that the Denver PD would ticket and tow.
5) The name „Downtown Denver“ is misleading as it takes 10 minutes to get to the State Capitol, Civic Center and other real downtown sites. I was surprised by the large number of liquor stores and other questionable businesses around.

Room Tip: Any other hotel would do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gunnar C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,385 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    314
    370
    290
    251
See reviews for
250
328
148
365
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prospect Heights, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Nothing flash here, but as I say in the title, it is what you would expect from this standard of hotel. We were here for a trade show, and found it a good location with a number of options for food close by. Everything in the hotel was clean. The bar/restaurant was undergoing renovations while were there, so cannot comment on this. Staff very friendly and helpful. Parking became a problem on the Saturday night as a result of an event taking place in the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussiepol65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgeport, Connecticut, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 February 2012

My husband and I recently visited Denver for the first time (from Connecticut) for our anniversary. The hotel is in a great location.There are lots of shops and restaurants around. The room was clean and the hotel staff was attentive. Brian at the front desk was amazing! He knows everything about the area and gave us great tips on where to eat, what to visit, things to see etc. The breakfast at the restaurant pretty good. It's not not included in the room rate, but there is a room service option, which is always nice. Overall, the hotel is a really good pick for the money. I would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

Overall I thought the hotel was good enough for the 3 nights. The rooms are large and comfy but some rooms are clearly better then others and I suppose I was fortunate enough to get a good one. The location is about 15mins walk from downtown and the area surrounding the hotel is decent enough with two excellent bars across the road. A cab from DIA will set you back about 55USD + Tip.

Previous reviews raised concerns about the general area (Colfax St) but I found the area fine and surprisingly entertaining. The two bars across from the hotel are well worth a visit.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brian-o-mac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montana
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

The place is in a time warp from the 80's. It is a funky place but it works if you are going to the Fillmore to see a show and do not want to deal with a cab after the show this is one of the places to look at. Our room was clean but it definitely showed signs of wear and tear. Nest time I think I will pay $30 more and stay downtown and get a place with breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skitobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Denver hotels

Vicenza, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

The Good: Customer service was good. Employees were friendly and the room was clean. The Bad: Bed was extra firm, but a little hard for me. The room was dated and seriously needed updating. Probably has not been updated since the 70s. Hotel claims to be in Downtown Denver, but is about 1.5 miles away. The Ugly: Workers started rolling carts up and down tiled halls and pounding on something at 6:00 a.m. Ran out of hot water before 8:00 a.m. Food in the limited restaurant was not even edible. Neighborhood is very seedy and the parking not secured as claimed by their website.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sbmatejka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2011

This motel is dated, but it is one of the cleanest places at which we have ever stayed. the location is within walking distance of downtown Denver. It was quiet and has free wifi in the rooms. There are no bell hops or concierge service. If you are self reliant and don't need atmosphere this place is for you. The price is right.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lrosen3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Denver hotels
Capitol Hill
11th Avenue Hotel & Hostel
11th Avenue Hotel & Hostel
#101 of 157 in Denver
154 reviews
Downtown
Warwick Denver Hotel
Warwick Denver Hotel
#40 of 157 in Denver
1,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Crowne Plaza Denver
Crowne Plaza Denver
#59 of 157 in Denver
1,543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Denver Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Denver Downtown

Property: Ramada Denver Downtown
Address: 1150 E Colfax Ave, Denver, CO 80218-2104
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Denver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 157 Hotels in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Denver Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Wyndham, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Ramada Denver Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inn Downtown Denver Hotel Denver
Ramada Inn Denver
Ramada Downtown Denver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing