We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beds but bad service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ramada Denver Downtown
Ranked #107 of 159 Hotels in Denver
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We make it a point to come to Denver once a year for a girls trip, and we always stay here. The beds are amazing, the rooms are clean. The location works for us for the places we like to go.
However, this entire trip we have experienced terrible service. The desk staff has been nothing but rude and unhelpful.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pinkwallflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,457)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,273 - 1,279 of 1,458 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2012

The reviews I read prior to staying here made me hesitant about the visit and in terms of the area I would say to be careful and don't walk around at night unless you are in a group.
Having said that the room I stayed in was large and facing away from the street was quiet - bed was super comfortable but as noted in a few other reviews the decor is certainly dated. Check in earlier than 2pm and you are charged a fee but being Thanksgiving weekend and very quiet the receptionist waived it which was appreciated.
In terms of location for access to downtown it was great - easy walk to the Civic Center (again only walk during the daylight hours) and in the evening there was a bus route that went directly past the hotel.
One thing I struggled with was the restaurant - there was a sign displaying the opening hours for each day (although arriving Thanksgiving Day I was unsuprised to find it closed) but then it randomly closed on the Sunday too when I got back late from a day tour and could really have done with eating in the hotel. However the pub across the road, suggested by the receptionist, was great.
Generally speaking in fact the staff were very friendly and helpful.
Would recommend to anyone going to Denver on a budget but just take note of the neighbourhood concerns.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PoppetTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

I liked this place, it has a cool log cabin feel to it in the lobby. Due to Amtrak problems we didnt arrive until really really late at about 5:30am the morning after we were supposed to arrive. The staff were helpful, though wouldn't refund us or offer a discount even though we'd pretty much missed a night even though it wasn't out fault. That was ok though, i didn't expect them to really. The room was nice, clean and comfy. The area has plenty of convenience stores and fast food places. A little on the shady side the further you walk down the street but nothing major. Good location, and got a free taxi service from the hotel downtown. There seemed to be lots of services at the hotel, pool, shop, resturant, but i didnt use any of them. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah_11e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Overall, the room is nice, average size, and has a nice bathroom too. The bed is a plus, very comfortable. I stayed there for one night, and I will definitely stay at this place again next time.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cindyjan14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Close to the convention center.Shuttle service was very helpful getting around.
Staff were friendly and helpful.

Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

We decided to spend a weekend in Denver and chose to stay at this hotel. When driving into the city from the airport the hotel did not look too bad, although I have seen Ramadas in far better shape.

The first thing I noticed was the smell. This place must have been a smoker's paradise until just recently. When checking in, the staff was friendly. The other good thing about this place is the free and fast WiFi. But unfortunately, those are the only good points of the hotel.

1) A used syringe dropped out of the sheets just a couple of inches from my feet. Luckily, nobody got poked by it. When I confronted the front desk about their obviously lousy room keeping service, they promised to refund the night's stay when checking out. When checking out, the refund was denied for some bogus reason (for not having booked directly with Ramada, but through another website).
2) The rooms are not vintage, they are just old. The dark colors and – once again - the smell of cold cigarette smoke in combination with a carpet of an undefinable color and fiber added up to a very uncomfortable feeling. Besides its tiny size, the bathroom could not hide its age either: A hole in the shower curtain and far more than usual wear-and-tear rounded-up the whole bad impression.
Plus: The room was dirty (besides the syringe). I found long curly hairs in the sink and at the coat track. The bathroom floor was not clean either.
3) The rooms are noisy (at least those facing the street – Colfax equals heavy traffic) plus the dodgy establishments in the neighborhood added the bassline driven soundtrack to this stay throughout the night. Once the music stopped, room keeping started the vacuum cleaners, slamming doors, and just being unnecessarily loud in the hallway.
4) The parking lot is far too small for a hotel of this size. Other guests were made to park in the fire lane although a sign at the front desk informed them that the Denver PD would ticket and tow.
5) The name „Downtown Denver“ is misleading as it takes 10 minutes to get to the State Capitol, Civic Center and other real downtown sites. I was surprised by the large number of liquor stores and other questionable businesses around.

Room Tip: Any other hotel would do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gunnar C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Nothing flash here, but as I say in the title, it is what you would expect from this standard of hotel. We were here for a trade show, and found it a good location with a number of options for food close by. Everything in the hotel was clean. The bar/restaurant was undergoing renovations while were there, so cannot comment on this. Staff very friendly and helpful. Parking became a problem on the Saturday night as a result of an event taking place in the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aussiepol65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Denver hotels
Capitol Hill
11th Avenue Hotel & Hostel
11th Avenue Hotel & Hostel
#104 of 159 in Denver
163 reviews
Comfort Inn & Suites
#79 of 159 in Denver
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown
Downtown
Warwick Denver Hotel
Warwick Denver Hotel
#41 of 159 in Denver
1,586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Denver Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Denver Downtown

Address: 1150 E Colfax Ave, Denver, CO 80218-2104
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Denver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 159 Hotels in Denver
Price Range: $118 - $355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Denver Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Ramada Denver Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inn Downtown Denver Hotel Denver
Ramada Inn Denver
Ramada Downtown Denver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing