We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good looks and location for the price - weird staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ramada Denver Downtown
Ranked #106 of 157 Hotels in Denver
Gunnison, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Good looks and location for the price - weird staff”
Reviewed 12 May 2012

We chose this hotel because it’s close to a lot of Denver’s music clubs on Colfax, as well as all of the bars and restaurants. It also is reasonably priced and had reasonably positive reviews. It turned out to be a lot closer to downtown and other interesting neighborhoods than I expected – almost walkable, although some of the surrounding streets had a high number of homeless people. We walked up and down Colfax late at night and felt safe though. The lobby is a very pleasant surprise, with a mountain lodge motif. If you look closely, certain things are pretty shabby but, overall, it’s got a nice atmosphere. Our room was interesting too, with red velvet throws, big thick comforters, and a lovely view of a courtyard and pool from our window. The wireless internet worked very well, as did the shower. I found the bed a little bit small and our AC didn’t seem to cool very powerfully. The hotel offers a free shuttle on about an hourly basis anywhere within a three mile radius of the hotel. The only negative to the hotel was the front desk staff – they just tended to lack professionalism and courtesy.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OnlyHighways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,385 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    314
    370
    290
    251
See reviews for
250
328
148
365
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hauraki Plains
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Stayed here April 2012. Good beds. OK restaurant if you like Mexican. Reception staff appeared disinterested, were not over helpful but apart from this hotel was good.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank muffin55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We make it a point to come to Denver once a year for a girls trip, and we always stay here. The beds are amazing, the rooms are clean. The location works for us for the places we like to go.
However, this entire trip we have experienced terrible service. The desk staff has been nothing but rude and unhelpful.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pinkwallflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

The reviews I read prior to staying here made me hesitant about the visit and in terms of the area I would say to be careful and don't walk around at night unless you are in a group.
Having said that the room I stayed in was large and facing away from the street was quiet - bed was super comfortable but as noted in a few other reviews the decor is certainly dated. Check in earlier than 2pm and you are charged a fee but being Thanksgiving weekend and very quiet the receptionist waived it which was appreciated.
In terms of location for access to downtown it was great - easy walk to the Civic Center (again only walk during the daylight hours) and in the evening there was a bus route that went directly past the hotel.
One thing I struggled with was the restaurant - there was a sign displaying the opening hours for each day (although arriving Thanksgiving Day I was unsuprised to find it closed) but then it randomly closed on the Sunday too when I got back late from a day tour and could really have done with eating in the hotel. However the pub across the road, suggested by the receptionist, was great.
Generally speaking in fact the staff were very friendly and helpful.
Would recommend to anyone going to Denver on a budget but just take note of the neighbourhood concerns.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PoppetTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

I liked this place, it has a cool log cabin feel to it in the lobby. Due to Amtrak problems we didnt arrive until really really late at about 5:30am the morning after we were supposed to arrive. The staff were helpful, though wouldn't refund us or offer a discount even though we'd pretty much missed a night even though it wasn't out fault. That was ok though, i didn't expect them to really. The room was nice, clean and comfy. The area has plenty of convenience stores and fast food places. A little on the shady side the further you walk down the street but nothing major. Good location, and got a free taxi service from the hotel downtown. There seemed to be lots of services at the hotel, pool, shop, resturant, but i didnt use any of them. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah_11e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Overall, the room is nice, average size, and has a nice bathroom too. The bed is a plus, very comfortable. I stayed there for one night, and I will definitely stay at this place again next time.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cindyjan14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Close to the convention center.Shuttle service was very helpful getting around.
Staff were friendly and helpful.

Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Denver hotels
Capitol Hill
11th Avenue Hotel & Hostel
11th Avenue Hotel & Hostel
#101 of 157 in Denver
154 reviews
Downtown
Warwick Denver Hotel
Warwick Denver Hotel
#41 of 157 in Denver
1,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Crowne Plaza Denver
Crowne Plaza Denver
#56 of 157 in Denver
1,543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Denver Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Denver Downtown

Property: Ramada Denver Downtown
Address: 1150 E Colfax Ave, Denver, CO 80218-2104
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Denver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 157 Hotels in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Denver Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Wyndham, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Ramada Denver Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inn Downtown Denver Hotel Denver
Ramada Inn Denver
Ramada Downtown Denver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing