We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect family cabin”
other travellers have booked this property
Front View of home.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front View of home.
Entryway, reading area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
32 reviews
Front View of home.
Entryway, reading area
Dining Room
Snowslide Room King Bed
Double Eagle room. Double bed.
Third bedroom (Star Gazer) has a Eurolounger couch that makes into a bed.
Hot Tub Area 2010
Thank you Jodee Ewing for letting me use your Mesa Verde photo
Spring and Fall Cattle Herds are moved down the highway in front of the house and through Dolores
Mountain biking, hiking, walking and horseback riding at Boggy Draw is less than 10 minutes away.
Wildlife is abundant in this area.
McPhee Reservoir is less than 10 minutes away and it is NEVER crowded. Bring your water toys.
Come Winter the landscape changes somewhat (Shiloh is our model)
This is the best of winter in Colorado
What are you waiting for? Book your winter adventure now.
We are one hour from Durango in the other direction. Shiloh and JoJo demonstrate the depth of snow
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Dolores, Colorado

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Rob B
Peoria, Arizona
1 review
“Perfect family cabin”
Reviewed July 15, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

My family of 4 (2 kids, 5 & 7) stayed here for a week in June, we couldn't have been happier with the arrangements. Quiet setting, with plenty of room for us (including 1 night with an additional 4 people), and the hosts were more than accommodating. Elk in the yard at dusk, hummingbirds in the evening, flowers and great weather the whole time we were there. Thanks again to Tom and Lana for making our stay a very enjoyable one.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location to outdoor activities was perfect!
Liked least: I had to go home...
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulesH195...
Gilbert, Arizona
2 reviews
“Wonderful Vacation”
Reviewed June 29, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

This property is as cute as it looks in the photos. Tom and Lana go above and beyond to make sure you have everything you need for a comfortable stay. It is also in a great location for various day trips. Will be coming back for sure!!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sbanes
Durango, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed March 8, 2015 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed in Tom and Lana's cottage for 3 weeks, and it was the perfect location for a base for day trips all over the area, from Telluride to Durango. The cottage was spacious and very comfortable, and we enjoyed the large yard with privacy and our own BBQ. They took care of all of our needs, and their rates are very affordable.

The only things that were an issue for me were the highway noise, intermittent wifi, and poor TV reception, but all of those things caused me to get out there and off the technology so it all worked out perfectly.

Great location, great place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Size and location
Liked least: highway noise
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eirehead2...
Mesa, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best value, best service, best hosts, best location”
Reviewed October 15, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
4
people found this review helpful

It's never easy trying to find a place to stay online, but if anything, the online pics of Lana and Tom's homey cottage didn't quite do it justice. Lots of room, lots of little nooks for everyone to have their own space, plenty of comfy sleeping accommodations, a well stocked kitchen; all of these things and many more contributed to a thoroughly enjoyable stay for us. Our hosts are lovely people and we wanted for nothing. Loved the apple tree right outside the window, the beautiful autumn colors visible on the grounds and the mountain behind the cottage. Not only would we stay there again, we most definitely will. We're already planning a trip back as soon as we can work it out. Even our elderly, persnickety border collie loved it there. Cell reception can be a little spotty, but in my opinion that is a plus! Truly the perfect place to get away from it all and commune with the considerable gifts mother nature has bestowed on this astonishingly beautiful area! Thank you, Lana and Tom! (This review by Coleen, Gordon's sister.)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The charming, unassuming, homey and very comfortable cottage, and such a great location!!
Liked least: I can't think of anything that I didn't like. Some might be put off by sketchy wifi and cell reception, but that's exactly what I was looking for!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaltLakeD...
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Idyllic cottage in the San Juans”
Reviewed June 23, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Excellent cottage, much larger than expected. It has 3 beds, 1 bath, and all comforts of home away from home. A little close to the highway for those sensitive to noise. Tom & Lana are really friendly and the place provided most of everything we needed and then some. Excellent for a family. The town of Dolores and Cortez nearby should provide you everything you need so don't overpack. Wifi doesn't work well for phones but a computer/ipad is excellent if you really need it. Has a fully stocked kitchen, gas grill outdoors, a hot tub that we didn't use, and a hammock way back. Excellent stay for Mesa Verde NP and fishing a short distance away. We would definitely come back again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortable, fully stocked home away from home.
Liked least: A little too close to the roadway for noise at night.
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrpipster
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Spacious, comfortable, and clean.”
Reviewed June 11, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We didn't see much of Tom and Lana--they like their privacy and so do we--but we enjoyed our one-night stay at their cabin. The kitchen was well equipped and the beds were comfortable. Scenic location, close to Mesa Verde. I'd look forward to a return stay.

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill8243
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Fantastic Value!”
Reviewed May 26, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Above all, this property was the best bang for my buck that I found for this area of south central Colorado. Tom and Lana were kind, thoughtful hosts, and provided a very well stocked rental house. There was plenty of room for the two of us and our two dogs. I was looking for a quiet place and I found it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Price
Liked least: Wi-fi on my device worked only when I was outside the house.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing