We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“I am ready to go back!!!!!”
View out master bedroom window
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View out master bedroom window
flower garden on ranch Master bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
View out master bedroom window
flower garden on ranch
Master bedroom
Master bedroom area
Living room and dining room
living room area
2nd bedroom
Barn and pastures
ranch ponds
harvet moon in the fall
view from county road to ranch
winter on ranch view of the barn etc
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Durango, Colorado

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
cpink13
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“I am ready to go back!!!!!”
Reviewed July 7, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Words cannot express what a fabulously relaxing time we had at the loft. The loft is beautiful! Francie Olson, the property owner, is gracious. The views are magnificent! We really enjoyed watching the equine training. Francie and her staff made it look so easy, but you could see how diligently they work! We loved petting the dogs and cats who stopped by! If you are in the Durango area, you will not find a better place to stay! We will definitely go back and spend more time! One word of caution, GPS does not work! Don't make our mistake and use it! You will meet a very irate couple who will yell at you and then escort you off of their property! Just ask Francie and she will give you directions.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Great place to relax!
Liked least: No disappointments at all!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jul 2013
Thamk you so much for the lovely review and it was my pleasure to have you as guests at HD Ranch. Sorry about the unpleasant couple when your GPS mislead you and I try and make sure all my guests have the proper directions. Enjoy your summer. Francie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luv2trave...
Pflugerville, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
258 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Lovely, relaxing home away from home”
Reviewed July 6, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We really enjoyed the ability to get out of Durango at night, away from the tourist hubbub. This fit the bill! Our children are still calling it our "barn home" and they did not want to leave. It was nice to have the ability to cook breakfast and dinner. This reduced our expenses so that we could focus on the attractions we did want to purchase. This was such a relaxing locale and convenient to both Durango and Mesa Verde. The owners really left us on our own and we enjoyed the solitude after being on the go all day. Thanks for sharing your ranch with us!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: No air conditioning, didn't matter until last night with smoke from wildfires blowing in.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jul 2013
Thank you and please come back at any time to your "barn home" Francie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diablo_ca...
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great getaway and the perfect family vacation spot”
Reviewed July 10, 2012 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in the loft for two nights last week with our six year old son. He loved it. The novelty of sleeping in a barn still keeps him amused. He loved running downstairs to check on the horses. Francie's dogs came up to visit us from time to time and there was a barnyard cat as well. Perfectly placed between Durango and Mesa Verde. We were able to easily visit both places. Having the full kitchen and lots of space to spread out in was great. The garden was BEAUTIFUL. The whole area is gorgeous. We used the BBQ grill for most of our cooking. Beds were comfortable. Nice to have the DVD and the WiFi access.

Be aware that there is a toaster oven and range but no full oven. Not a big deal but good to note if you are planning on cooking. Also no hair dryer. The steam shower was kind of cool.

If we were to go back, we would probably take my son's mountain bike and a croquet set. Beautiful safe outdoor setting and friendly folks. SO MUCH better than staying in a conventional hotel room.

Keep in mind that this is a loft - so you have to climb stairs to get into it. If you bring heavy luggage (like a massive heavily packed cooler) or if you are traveling with someone who is not able to climb stairs, you might want to consider something else. Also if you need night life right there or a grocery store around the corner this is not your setting. But if you are traveling with kids and you want to do something different - I wouldn't hesitate. Plenty of room to run, room to relax and easy star gazing.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful setting - peaceful and relaxing
Liked least: I wouldn't have changed a thing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BostonNan...
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best Place to stay in the Durango area!!!!!!”
Reviewed July 28, 2011 for a stay in July 2011
1
person found this review helpful

This brand new loft offered everything we wanted - gorgeous setting in the country, a LOT of space beautifully decorated, privacy, a full kitchen, areas to sit outside and windows that open to feel the cool night breeze. We could have stayed and relaxed for a week and hope to return some day!!!! It is about a 25 minute drive from Durango - a gorgeous and easy drive at any time of day. We would eat in Durango and try to get back for the sunset. Next time we would use the grill at the ranch and never leave! Explored Mesa Verde one day. A true get-away!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MN
Reviewed July 13, 2011 for a stay in June 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with young children
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ohio
Reviewed July 1, 2011 for a stay in June 2011
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 55-64
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CO
Reviewed June 20, 2011 for a stay in June 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with young children
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing