We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (547)
Filter reviews
547 results
Traveller rating
307
148
54
24
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
307
148
54
24
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lone spur cafe train station the main hotel teddy bears antique elevator presidential suite continental breakfast interior room half block main street cookies charming hotel stained glass victorian style favorite hotel restaurants and shops street noise
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 547 reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2018

The room was pleasant enough at first appearance, though the window shade could not be raised -- the cord on one side was broken. The light on the make-up mirror also didn't work. Good toiletries and a nice coffee set-up in the room.
The first night there was a brisk draft coming from the window just above the bed, so strong we thought perhaps the window was open a bit. That wasn't the problem; it was just an old single-pane sash window. The thermostat didn't appear to work. The next morning when we asked at the front desk for an extra blanket we were told that the central heat was not yet on. They obligingly also sent up a space heater at our request. Unfortunately it didn't work, and we were told no other working unit was available. I understand heating an old building can the problematic, but do expect moderate heat in the mountains when the outside temperature is in the 40's.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank quite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasia F, Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2018

Thank you for your review of the hotel. We are sorry to hear about the experience you had during your stay and will address these issues with our team. We have staff available 24/7 to assist with any issues or room changes during your stay. As a historical hotel with an antique heating system, we do our best to make sure that all of our guests are comfortable. Thank you for your patience, and we hope you enjoyed your time in Durango.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 29, 2018 via mobile

I loved this hotel and its history. Durango is one of my favorite places. The hotel had excellent service and nice people working there. Very comfortable beds, beautiful rooms and quiet, and not crowded. Be sure to ride the train and learn more about General Palmer!

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Debbie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasia F, Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2018

Thank you for your review of the hotel. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and we appreciate the feedback. We hope you had a wonderful time in Durango, and hope you will come back to stay with us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 29, 2018 via mobile

This elegant hotel was a great option for a very reasonable rate. The room was spacious with a sitting area and large bath area. The bed was exceptional in comfort as well as the bedding. The continental breakfast was generous and tasty. I would definetely return again.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Brigittemichele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasia F, Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2018

Thank you for your review of the hotel. We appreciate your feedback, and are so glad to hear that your enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you had a wonderful time in Durango, and hope you will come back to stay with us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 22, 2018

We completely enjoyed our two night stay at the General Palmer last weekend. Parking is provided immediately adjacent to the hotel so we were only steps away from the ornate lobby (like stepping back in time) and the antique elevator (nice, but take the steps if you're claustrophobic). We had a very comfortable third floor room looking out on Main Avenue (street noise was a little loud on Saturday night but no big deal). The hotel is in a great location with a very short walk to the Durango & Silverton train station and within easy walking distance to dozens of restaurants and shops nearby. Breakfast was provided and was very good. The staff was friendly and helpful. Wish we had stayed a third night.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zelmo73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasia F, Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2018

Thank you for your review of the hotel! We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope you had a wonderful time in Durango, and hope you will come back to stay with us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 16, 2018

I saw all the pictures on Bookings.com and booked. On checking in I found our room was in another building - the palace tower. I asked if I could cancel the following night and was told I could. So we walked across the parking lot past the group smoking and drinking on the deck to out room with a 1990s sound machine playing ocean wave music. Door hardware is cheap hollow brass looking, ice machine in the hall.

On returning from dinner I canceled the following night and was told the refund would be up to the manager. I asked to speak to the manager and was told they would be in tomorrow. I canceled anyway. I have no desire to stay in a place like this. I do about 50 nights in hotels a year.

Room tip: Back parking lot rooms not like pictures.
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasia_567, General Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2018

We are sorry to hear that you did not like the room that you booked through Booking.com. We appreciate your feedback and have been working with Booking.com to make sure they are providing our guests with the correct information about our property. Our staff is available 24/7 to assist with any room changes or needs you may have during your stay. And all information on our hotel can be found on our website or by calling the hotel directly. In all, we hope you enjoyed your visit to Durango.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews