We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and amenities” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ferringway Hotel Condominiums

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ferringway Hotel Condominiums
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
“Great location and amenities”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

I have stayed in Durango several times. I always book at Ferringway when they’re available due to the size of the units and the proximity to downtown. Our group easily fit in a two bedroom condominium, which included a large living room with a comfortable sleeper sofa. The condominium was very clean and the kitchen was fully stocked with cooking utensils. The pool area has a Jacuzzi and sauna, which is really, really nice after a long day of hiking, biking, rafting, etc. Ferringway is located right next to Fort Lewis College and it’s an easy walk or bike ride into downtown. Downtown Durango is great fun year round with an incredible selection of restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    16
    6
    5
    3
See reviews for
26
11
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Flagstaff, Arizona
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

My wife and two boys stayed in unit 24 and were very happy with the cleanliness of the whole unit. Everything is on one floor, no steps to walk up. We liked the flat screen TV's in the livngroom and the master bedroom. Also has wireless that was helpful to my husband who had work to do online. The kids loved the pool and so did I along with the other things Ferringway had to offer.
We will be in Durango again next summer and are going to try and get unit 24 again.

Alice Schwartz

Room Tip: Bottom floor is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johnwrahr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

About 20 years ago my wife and I found a gem in the Durango area. That gem is the Ferringway Condominiums. For the past 20 years, we have stayed there exclusively enjoying the first rate accommodations; including easy access to downtown, hiking and biking trails, golf, hot tub and pool. The units are well appointed and offer a sense of home not found in a hotel room. I would recommend a stay on your next visit to Durango. There is no better place!

Room Tip: You can request a unit to accommodate any size party.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 505Michael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
177 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

My wife and I stayed with another couple here for 4 nights in a 2 bedroom/2 1/2 bath unit and found it to meet all of our needs. These larger units are on the top floor which means that you have four sets of stairs (about 8 steps each) to climb to get to your unit so if you have trouble carrying your suitcases reserve a smaller unit. Our unit #41 had white carpet and sofas which did not seem too practical for a rental property and the carpet needed to be cleaned. We thought that the Ferringway's close proximity to Fort Lewis College might mean we would have a problem with noise at night but that was not the case. The Ferringway is located about 1 1/2 mile from downtown (across the street from Fort Lewis College). It was a reasonable walk into town via a nice wide sidewalk.
We arrived during an afternoon rainstorm and got soaked trying to find our unit. The numbering system seems random and the map given to find our unit did not help.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CincinnatiVictor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

We stayed at Ferringway two nights while in town for a wedding. The first night we were in a 1 bedroom unit (#7). The bed was uncomfortable but the worst thing was the noise. The bedroom is small and so the bed is very near the window. We heard noise from the street all night as well as a party going on in the unit across from us (#12?). Also, the person living above us (some units are owner occupied) had a dog that barked and growled when the owner was absent. I was there with my husband and 4 year old and none of us got much sleep. Unfortunately the office closes at 5pm and we had no one to call for help. When the office opened in the morning I explained the noise problem and asked that we be moved. They did not have any more 1 bedrooms open but kindly moved us to a two bedroom for no extra charge. This one was in the back of the property and was just wonderful. The beds were fine and the location was very quiet. We had a great night's sleep. In fact, I've stayed in Durango many times at other hotels and I'd have to say that our second night was the quietest night I've spend in Durango. Others attending the same wedding as us also stayed at Ferringway and really enjoyed it. So I think our first night's experience was not typical for this place. If you reserve here, just avoid unit #7, and ask for a unit that is not facing College Ave. It's a good choice for families.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sw3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pittsburgh
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

We thought that we had found the Perfect place to stay in in Durango. WRONG!!!
We had no trouble getting into our room once we arrived. It was just the room itself!
I figured that when I put my suitcase on the bed and the bed creaked... that was a BAD sign.
I had read on here ...oh yeah the beds are great & comfortable. Don't believe them, after 3 nights of going back and forth from the hard bed to the loveseat to sleep, we had had enough.
Do yourself a favor like we did .. go to The Doubletree, the are expensive, but I walked in off the street and they gave me $70 off a night and brought a mini fridge and microwave to the room. Our backs sure did appreciate the beds at The Doubletree.
The cleaniness of the Ferringway was ok.. not a problem, everything was stocked good, but it was just the bed.
Ferrinway did offer to move us to a different room, but after checking the rooms & beds at doubletree there was no way that I was gambling again. We stayed in "The Astoria" so just be pre warned if anyone is looking at these accomandations.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nancym632
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westminster, Colorado
Level Contributor
75 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

Wife, son, and I just spent three nights at Ferringway Condos recently. Before we booked, we looked at hotels in Durango and noticed that you really didn't get nearly as much in return as you got at Ferringway. In other words, for the same price as a standard hotel room in town (either on Main Avenue or Hwy 550/Camino Del Rio) you get at Ferringway a 1 bedroom unit (or more), fully furnished kitchen with all supplies, more than enough towels and pillows, plenty of space to move around, and no screaming kids running up and down the hallway! Pretty much the only thing you don't get is a free breakfast. You also don't get daily housekeeping service but that's expected as this is not a hotel.

The pool and hot tub area is really nice. The pool is not heated so expect to spend some time getting used to the colder-than-usual water. Also the pool and hot tub close very early at 9pm! So if you need to get your pool time and hot tub time in, get it in early.

Ferringway is also a bit secluded from all the excitement of the main part of Durango; but it is still a very easy 1.5 mile drive to the train station. Since it is at the top of a very long and steep hill, I don't recommend walking or biking to downtown; unless you don't mind walking or biking back up that steep hill.

One heads up is that because it is located just steps from Fort Lewis College, a lot of college kids do rent out units. We did encounter several at the pool one night we were there. The kids are nice, typical college students, and I'm sure there will be parties every so often, but do not let the college kids stop you as it's still a better place to stay than in town.

We will be back!

Room Tip: Try to get a room in Building A or any of the far ends. These tend to be the most secluded and quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mkdenver1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durango hotels
2.2 km away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#3 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
2.5 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
2.1 km away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#7 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
3.5 km away
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango
2.9 km away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ferringway Hotel Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ferringway Hotel Condominiums

Property: Ferringway Hotel Condominiums
Address: 6 Ferringway Circle, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ferringway Hotel Condominiums 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ferringway offers a Residence for the price of a Room, Nightly, Weekly or Monthly. We are the only nightly and extended stay, fully furnished rentals located right in Durango. All properties have a full kitchen, washer & dryer and wood burning fireplace. We are situated one and a half miles from the center of town, nestled into the hillside behind Ft. Lewis College. The property offers a lovely clubhouse, outdoor pool & hot tub and sauna for guest use. You will have the sensation of Privacy, Comfort and Seclusion close to everything you love to see and do in the Spectacular Durango and Four Corners Area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Ferringway Hotel Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing