We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Everything you expect from a nice, upscale hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Everything you expect from a nice, upscale hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

The hotel is a little older and shows its mature without taking away from a pleasant experience. Actually, unlike so many of the newer hotels that feel corporate chic but lack some soul, this one feels comfortable the moment you walk in it.

The front desk staff was excellent; professional, helpful and friendly. The rooms were roomy and had all necessary amenities. Opening up the balcony door and hearing the river flow by 20 feet away made it even nicer.

The breakfast buffet was very good - lots of choices including healthy ones.

Highly recommended!

Room Tip: pick the river facing one if you can and go at least one floor up
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Benedict D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, 24 October 2012
Thank you for reviewing our hotel on Trip Advisor, We appreciate your feedback and welcome you back anytime you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,389 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    765
    445
    124
    41
    14
See reviews for
460
540
38
189
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

We recently stayed for four nights during a tour of the South West. The service received was excellent, and both breakfast and dinner proved to be both excellent value and quality. Rooms were very spacious and clean, with really good quality beds, although overall furniture was slightly more dated than we expected. The only downside was the restaurant was very empty most times we used it in the evening - lacking in atmosphere, which was a shame as the meals were great. The hotel is ideally placed for the town, and although it is based on the main road and bridge into town, we did not suffer from any traffic noise. We would thoroughly recommend the Doubletree for any visit to Durango

Room Tip: Chose riverside rooms - better view and possibly quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor.
We appreciate the feedback. We're pleased you found our hotel to be excellent. We strive to be the best. We welcome you back anytime you are in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

We were driving from the Grand Canyon to Denver for our flight home and I chose this hotel as a midway stay over based on the reviews here on trip advisor.Thank you everyone for your reviews.

I will try to add what I thought stood out to our family.There was 4 adults in one room,my 2 boys,my husband and myself.The room was bigger than your normal hotel room,we never felt crowded.Enough walking room,nice balcony overlooking the river.When I made the reservation months ago, I put in for an upgrade for an additional $15 to include breakfast.Their breakfast was amazing,Oatmeal,omlettes,tasty herbed potato wedges,homemade hot apple strudels,omg this breakfast was a fine dining breakfast.I could go on with all the items but you get the picture.If the upgrade was not available I would pay for this awesome breakfast.Excellent service also.

I loved the path by the river,I wish I had taken better photos.It was also nice to walk next door to Albertsons?grocery store for items needed and a liquor and beer store also.The Doubletree chocolate chip cookies were warm and tasty.They were also available in the lobby by their fresh coffee.The staff was warm and friendly.We used the hot tub and pool which was also a relaxing way to rest after a long car ride.Also this town was adorable.Nice to walk around and shop.I just wish I had booked 2 nights here.That was my only negative.Plentiful parking also.
One more note the hotel is very Green for the environment.Very high standards from the trash areas in and out of the room to the toilet paper.Well done Doubletree and thank you!

Room Tip: Try to get a river room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joryanbob4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, 24 October 2012
Thank you for reviewing our hotel on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your comments and we hope that your next visit you'll plan to stay longer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Payson, Utah
Level Contributor
60 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

One of the nices hotels in Durgano. Very easy to find right downtown. Near old town sections of main street. Very clean rooms and a nice staff You do not get a free breakfast though.

Room Tip: Pick a room on the backside of the hotel very nice view of river and mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank shortsallyear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, on Trip Advisor.
We do appreciate your feedback. We're pleased that you had a good stay with us and that you enjoyed our hotel. We look forward to being your hosts again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
54 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

Stayed here between Great Sand Dunes and Mesa Verde for one perfect night.

The hotel is located on the very busy junction of the major East-West and North-South streets. Luckily it is a bit set back from both streets and it is located at the river that flows through Durango, with only a running/cycling trail between the hotel and the river front. Thus, if you can influence it pick a room on the river side, which are actually very quiet. As we needed to accommodate five people, we actually got a king bed suite with a connecting door to a two queen room on the ground floor level of the hotel, which made it a really great three room family suite. The king suite had very beautifully upgrades with a jetted large tub, crown molding and wall treatments, separate rest room, separate spacious shower and bedroom vanity. Plenty of room, privacy for early lights out versus adult sleepers, full dining table, kitchenette, spacious sitting area.

On the service side, the front desk people seemed a bit clumsy (letting the unshaved guy in hiking wear and Birkenstocks with the bunch of teenage kids wait while finishing up some paperwork/discussions among themselves) but nothing too hostile that wouldn't have happened to us previously...

The dinner and breakfast experience was excellent in terms of quality, variety, service, and price. If you aren't traveling alone, for breakfast, take the option were breakfast is included in the room rate. For dinner they had a $15 dinner menu special - New Yorkers listen up: $15 for soup or salad, steak, and desert!!!!

We stayed at the Residence Inn in Durango before, which at face value offers more explicitly a family suites product at a sightly lower/similar price point; but at all levels (building quality, room/bed features, meal quality, service) the DoubleTree is far superior. It, in fact, is a real and well rounded hotel product not the stripped down economy/extended stay kind of deal that at every corner makes you feel "not quite".

Room Tip: river side of the hotel - the extra $10 are worth it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Finke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We appreciated your kind words and thorough review of our hotel. We're pleased that you see the value in our hotel and appreciated all the extras we provide to our guests. We welcome you back when ever you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
157 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

We stayed one night while travelling around Colorado State. The Hotel may be one of the best options in Durango as it is just 2 blocks from downtown area where there are many good restaurants like Ore House.

We booked a room with the river view and it was worth it. Breakfast was quite good with plenty of choices. Service was very good from all the people we faced in the Hotel.

The only thing it was missing was a fridge in the room as this is for me a basic thing any good hotel should have.

Parking was very big. Finally next to the Hotel there is an Albertsons market, so this is very convenient to get drinks and food.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Prayanak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, The DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, on Trip Advisor.
We appreciate the review information. We're pleased you found us a good option, we've got a great location, with the beautiful Animas River out our back doors, close to town, lots of parking, convenient grocery store next door and all the services you could need right here at the hotel. We look forward to having you stay with us again the next time you are in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

great place to stay. convenient to the town. clean and comfortable. airport shuttle is a bonus

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodwellusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor.
We do appreciate the feedback. We're pleased that you found our location to be convenient for getting around the city and for being located on the Animas River just out our back door. We look forward to having you stay with us again the next time you are in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durango hotels
3.5 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
0.4 km away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#7 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
4.4 km away
Hampton Inn Durango
Hampton Inn Durango
#3 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#10 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
0.6 km away
Rochester Hotel & Bar
Rochester Hotel & Bar
#6 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
0.5 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
Address: 501 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Durango
#1 Green Hotel in Durango
#2 Family Hotel in Durango
#3 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Durango 3.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Low-rise Hotel set on the banks of Animas River at Highways 160 & 550; convenient to Fort Lewis College & tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Travelocity.ca and Booking.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Durango
Durango Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing