We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,742)
Filter reviews
1,742 results
Traveller rating
979
535
160
50
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
979
535
160
50
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsanimas riverdouble treeriver viewcookiesgrocery storenice hotelwalking pathbreakfast buffetwithin walking distancemain streetparking lottrain stationin townroom was largeupon checktwo blocksgreat room
Filter
Updating list...
627 - 632 of 1,742 reviews
Reviewed December 22, 2015

The hotel has a good location. It is an easy walk to downtown, but it has ample free parking and views of the river from many rooms. The bar and restaurant are nice and relaxing. The front desk people are very welcoming. And, who doesn't like chocolate chip cookies??

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank Carolyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2015

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, the Doubletree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your comments and great review. We're pleased that you had a good stay and that you love our chocolate chip cookies - they are awesome.
Thanks for staying with us, we hope you'll come back again and again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 20, 2015 via mobile

It was an $18 brunch with bare basics and an omelette station. Not many positives other than the great view of the Animas River below and a friendly waitress. Unlike any other omelette station I've been too as you write your order on a note size piece of paper with your name on it and are told to check back at this counter occasionally to see if your order is there. The young man working there apparently had no training and had a stack of orders and two empty frying pans at the time. I checked often and a half hour later I was told my order was next so figured I might as well just wait there. He then proceeded to put one of the pans in a plastic bucket of water with old food floating in gray water sitting down by the floor and slosh a rag around the pan. He then held the pan over a trash can and wiped it dry with no rinse. He then turns the electric burner back on and puts oil in the pan and ladled some pre mixed eggs into the cold pan. He added a mix of ingredients as there were no choices on the order sheet and mixed them around with his gloved hand. I had already lost what little appetite I had left and returned to the sticky table to eat it. Not sure if it really tasted as bad as watching the preparation but finished after a few bites. The dried out pastries didn't help. I'm sure 90% of the diners here are hotel guests and locals have known for years. Too bad this beautiful setting can't produce a good meal.

Stayed: December 2015
1  Thank Ron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2015

Thank you for reviewing our hotel restaurant on Trip Advisor. We always appreciate feedback from our guests. We apologize for the negative experience you had; that was definitely not up to our standards. Your comments have been forwarded to our Chef and our dining room manager for review with the staff to work on improvements. We hope that in the future you would give us another opportunity to show you a perfect dining experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 17, 2015

This is a nice place
The suites on the ground floor with the river walk out access is really sweet
My wife and I stay here every year on one of our anniversaries (long story)
Food is great and river access is wonderful with fast, attentive and understanding (another long story) staff

Room Tip: River side, ground level with access to outside and river
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Forrest H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2015

Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the Doubletree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. It's great that you stay here every year on your anniversaries! Sounds like a great long story! We thank you for choosing our hotel and look forward to your next stay. Let us know if there is anything we could do in advance of that next stay ok?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 17, 2015

We had a fun time visiting friends this year and stayed at several hotels in the area. This by far was our favorite. The staff is so nice and the accommodations are superb. Great views of the river and the town with it's colorful steam locomotive. Then the breakfast is to die for and it's a wonderful way to start your day. We stay there whenever we can get a room. It really makes the trip special.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 16, 2015

Convenient location bordering the Animas River. Our room overlooked the parking lot, but it would be worth a little extra cost for a riverview room. Our king-bedded room was comfortable and well-equipped, and we were of course greeted with their signature chocolate chip cookies. Enjoyed a soak in the hot tub and a swim in the indoor pool. Short walk to Durango’s Main Avenue with many appealing restaurants and shops, and even closer to the narrow-gauge Durango-Silverton Railroad. Staff was especially accommodating with their complimentary airport shuttle for a very early flight. Great value, too.

Room Tip: If not too much more expensive, get a room with a river view.
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandyRiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2015

Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the Doubletree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. Its great to get your review and to know that you had a good stay with us. We welcome you back anytime your travels bring you to Durango.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews