We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice plain hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
Ranked #5 of 34 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 30 November 2017

I'm not sure why so many rave of this hotel. It's certainly nice and well run, but the cost in high season is expensive and we found little to do in the common areas. There is an indoor pool and small bar overlooking the river, but again quite expensive drinks. I'd personally either go cheaper or more expensive for something special.

Room Tip: If you don't pay for a view of the river, you face a noisy street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2017

Thank you for your review of our hotel, the Doubletree by Hilton Durango. We appreciate your feedback. We thank you for choosing our hotel for your Durango stay; we are sorry we didn't meet your expectations. To respond to your comment about not understanding why so many rave of our hotel......many of our guests return again and again and again. They are saying they love our staff and our location and feel very at home with us.
We would love to welcome you back anytime and try to make it extra special for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,650)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 1,650 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2017 via mobile

We recently stayed 4 nights at the DoubleTree in Durango. The room was facing the street, king size bed, no balcony, however, we only spent sleeping time in our room. We walked to downtown area from hotel and enjoyed several of the local restaurants. This hotel is not on the Main Street, but about 3 blocks away. Easy walking. Only complaint was lack of tv channels when wanting to watch basketball game while waiting on our ride. people were very nice. We will stay again or experiment with another location.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank beachjumper64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2017

Thank you for your review of our hotel, the Doubletree by Hilton Durango. We appreciate your feedback. We thank you for staying with us and we hope you'll come back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2017

Stayed at this location many times before due to great service and location. This last time I was a bit shocked by the new parking charge and the down grade of the complimentary breakfast to only a continental breakfast. Small things, but definitely noticed.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Frankhumbel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2017

Thank you for your review of our hotel, the Doubletree by Hilton Durango. We appreciate your feedback. We have made a few changes but we are constantly working to keep our hotel, staff and ambience the same friendly helpful and welcoming experience for our guests. Thanks for staying with us. come back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2017

Our trip to Durango was strictly for pleasure. The Durango River Walk was just behind the hotel which made it easy to access. The walk took me to the Durango Library. On this walk I saw parts of Durango I had never seen before. It was truly a fun experience!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Patricia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2017

Thank you for your review of our hotel, the Doubletree by Hilton Durango. We appreciate your feedback. We're so pleased that you discovered some new and fun things about Durango, its truly a wonderful town. We welcome you back again soon to enjoy it more.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2017

This hotel was perfect for our needs. The location was great and was within walking distance of the shops and restaurants in the area. Spacious room, fantastic customer service from all staff. Loved that the heated indoor pool was actually warm. Hot tub was out of order one day, but was promptly fixed and in working order the rest of our stay.. WOULD GLADY STAY HERE AGAIN

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank nicolewM9365EJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2017

Thank you for your review of our hotel, the Doubletree by Hilton Durango. We appreciate your feedback. We are pleased that our hotel was perfect for your needs. We hope you will come back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2017 via mobile

Just had 2 nights at Double Tree
Everything was perfect
Had 2 good nights of sleep
Had dinner one night in the Edge Water and lounge was very nice
Front desk and bellman and shuttle drivers help make stay very nice

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank wmbrakeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2017

Thank you for your review of our hotel, the Doubletree by Hilton Durango. We are pleased that you had a good stay with us and we welcome you back anytime you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2017 via mobile

Upon entering, the beautiful, wooden revolving door took me back to a gentler time. I was pleasantly greeted and given two, warm, chocolate chip cookies. Upon entering our suite my wife let out a long W—O—W!!! It’s impressive and the view is fantastic, overlooking the river. There’s a patio outback and a walking path along the river. I’m going to knock a star off for two issues. 1. The forward, tilting cushions on the sofa bed with some portion of the bed hanging out between the cushions and frame. The cushions rendered the sofa unusable. 2. NO USB CHARGERS anywhere within the two rooms of the suite. I needed to make a trip to WalMart and $22 later I was equipped with a charger and cable. Not very nice. The decor is classic mixed with a western theme, everything is earth tones. It’s a comfortable and relaxing setting. This is just what the doctor ordered after 10 days on the road. The exterior lighting is quite dim and does not give one a safe feeling while being outside after dark. The walkways are dimly lit, too and make it a bit difficult to navigate, especially for seniors. Again, the lighting reminds me of soft, romantic lighting from days past, when it was safe to be outside after dark. The toilet is ADA compliant height without a soft close seat and lid. Beautiful crown molding in the bedroom. Internet speed is just so, so at 2.8mbps down and 2.4mbps up. I have an additional review of the Edgewater Restaurant and an interesting, special review of the Edgewater Lounge.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank TheWiseOwl-AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2017

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We appreciate your feedback which is excellent. We're pleased that you had a good stay with us. We have repaired the sofa cushion issue you experienced. We thank you for your other comments. We hope you'll come back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.4 km away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#8 of 34 in Durango
1,119 reviews
3.6 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
0.3 km away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#12 of 34 in Durango
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
The Rochester Hotel and Leland House
2.5 km away
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango
4.1 km away
Adventure Inn Durango
Adventure Inn Durango
#2 of 34 in Durango
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Address: 501 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301-5449
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Durango
#1 Green Hotel in Durango
#2 Family Hotel in Durango
#3 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range: C$164 - C$359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Durango 3.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Low-rise Hotel set on the banks of Animas River at Highways 160 & 550; convenient to Fort Lewis College & tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Durango
Durango Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing