We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good, reliable, clean and reasonably priced” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Durango

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hampton Inn Durango
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Aurora, Colorado
Level Contributor
85 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good, reliable, clean and reasonably priced”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

This is one of the better Hampton Inns we have stayed at. The rooms have been recently renovated, so there's a newer feel to the rooms. The breakfast is about the same as everywhere. The pool is bigger than average, but since it's indoors, it's REALLY loud when it's crowed. As with almost all Hilton properties, the beds are very comfortable. Nice, attentive service. Would come back here in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thinker_to_go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CampK9, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Durango, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Thank you so much for your recent stay at the Hampton Inn in Durango and for taking the time to submit a review on Trip Advisor. We are so excited about the room renovations that have just been completed on our rooms. The look and the new convenience are a direct result of listening to our lodgers needs. When staying in our new rooms, we hoped you noticed the abundance of outlets to accommodate your electronic needs.

The pool is one of the most used features in our hotel. It is large and accommodates a lot of people. Since Durango is a winter ski destination, we felt it was important to make the swimming pool and hot tub available all year long, which is why we built it indoors. Although it can be noisy during peak use times, it’s very quiet most of the day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

919 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    516
    286
    86
    24
    7
See reviews for
357
312
40
109
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Belen, New Mexico
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

The hotel is small, but very clean and comfortable. Our room was very clean and the beds were very comfortable. The pool area was neat, clean and had plenty of towels. The breakfast area was always clean and well stocked. The breakfast was different each day we were there but both days offered a large variety of foods to choose from. Coffee, Tea and Hot Chocolate were available 24/7 in the lobby and cookies were set out each afternoon. Brian checked us in and was there throughout our stay and was extremely kind and helpful. It was so nice to work with someone who was willing to accommodate all of our needs and do so in the friendliest manner.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NMBelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CampK9, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Durango, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
We are so glad you were able to come and enjoy our completely renovated rooms and hotel upgrades. We are very proud of the look, feel and comfort of our new rooms. The staff always makes the comfort of our guests a priority, but now they have excellent room accommodations to back up their hospitality. A different hot breakfast is offered each morning, with something for everyone. Its a great way to start your day before you go and discover all that the Durango area has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

The friendly staff gave me great advice about where to go for dinner (Old Tymers: $5 burger, $1.00 draft) and a dozen other little things that made my stay in Durango a pleasure. With modern, freshly remodeled rooms (plenty of outlets) and a tasty hot breakfast, this hotel is a great value. I've already booked a room there for my next trip to Durango.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendale
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012 via mobile

We have stayed at this Hampton several times over the years. They are in the process of remodeling rooms so there are lots of changes. This time we stayed in a newly remodeled room and it was quite nice. Beds are just as comfy as ever and everything was very clean. I wish they had more cable channels to choose from but you don't spend a lot of time in the room when there is so much to do in Durango. Had a fridge in our room hidden in the new furniture.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank SaxmanFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oahu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
120 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

It's on the edge of Durango. Quiet location. Breakfast was delish. Pool was fun. Checked in late ...nothing like walking in and getting fresh cup of coffee and a cookie!only neg think room could get fresh coat of paint.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oracle808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CampK9, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Durango, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
Thank you 13rap for your review of the Hampton Inn hotel in Durango, CO. We were delighted to have you as a guest and appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. We are excited to have the hotel under renovation through early spring of 2012. Our pool is receiving its make-over now along with our guestrooms and the hotel lobby. We’re very excited about the updates being made to complement our location and service level. We know our guests will be pleased with the finished product. Also, there is a Hilton HHonors offer available for additional HHonors Points for weekend bookings through March 2012 if you register on the HHonors’ site – you can earn up to 5000 HHonors bonus points. We hope that we’ll have the opportunity to welcome you to the Hampton Inn Durango hotel when travel brings you back to beautiful Durango, Colorado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

We stayed here for two nights in January 2012 and found this hotel very nice overall.
To name some negatives would be the lack of having a fridge in the room and thin walls.
On the positives, the cleanliness, comfy beds and pillows, modern furniture, quiet and efficient air con, good breakfast, fast checkin and I could probably go on and on (ease of parking!).
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank root_irl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CampK9, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Durango, responded to this review, 17 January 2012
Thank you so much for choosing the Hampton Inn for your two day stay in Durango. It is with great excitement that we are remolding our rooms this winter to make the changes that our guests have requested. Upon completion of our room upgrades, a refrigerator and new sound muffling materials will be installed in each room, along with many other updates and changes. The rooms will continue to be as clean and comfortable as always. We will continue to offer a wonderful complimentary breakfast every morning in addition to the free parking and the free trolley to the historic downtown area. We hope that you enjoyed the upgrades that have already been made to our high-speed internet connections. And we hope that you visit again soon and enjoy our refreshed hotel as much as you enjoyed us for your stay during the remodel process.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbine, Georgia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

We stayed at the Hampton Inn for a short ski trip in Jan 2012. Breakfast was great as expected for a Hampton Inn. The mattress was comfortable. The pillows were the best found in chain hotels. The hotel was clean and service was good. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christytra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CampK9, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Durango, responded to this review, 17 January 2012
We are so glad that you stayed with us during your recent ski trip to the area. As you know we are one of the few locations in the state with enough snow for an enjoyable ski experience. We can also report that we have just received several inches of new snow in the past 24hrs, making us a winter wonderland once again. On your next ski visit to our hotel, please ask at the front desk for complimentary tickets to Durango’s state of the art recreational center. It’s a great way to end your ski day relaxing in the large pool, lap pool or take advantage of the towns climbing wall. If your looking for a true winter experince, come back at the end of the month and get involved in the local winter carnival called "Snowdown".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durango hotels
7.4 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
4.3 km away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#3 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
4.4 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#7 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
6.4 km away
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango
1.2 km away
Quality Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
#6 of 33 in Durango
4.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Durango

Property: Hampton Inn Durango
Address: 3777 Main Ave., Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#1 Family Hotel in Durango
#3 Business Hotel in Durango
#4 Green Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Durango 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the pet friendly Hampton Inn Hotel in Durango, Colorado. Whether you are traveling to downtown Durango or have a day trip planned to Mesa Verde National Park, we've got you covered. Enjoy free Wi-Fi, free breakfast daily, out front access to the downtown trolley and free parking at the Hampton Inn Durango Hotel. Step back in time with a ride on the Durango & Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad. Find great hotel rates, specials and packages all online for the Hampton Inn Durango Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity.ca and Priceline so you can book your Hampton Inn Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durango Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing