We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (218)
Filter reviews
218 results
Traveller rating
179
25
10
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
179
25
10
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the main house hot tub bottomless cookie jar complimentary wine breakfast was delicious each morning log cabin feel other guests back porch cross country ski living room location is great owners chris wedding fireplace mountains winter
Filter
Updating list...
93 - 98 of 218 reviews
Reviewed January 5, 2015

We stayed two nights in this delightful Inn/B&B very close to Devil's Thumb Ranch. John, Chris, and their small staff greeted us with a welcoming spirit as though we had been friends for years. Everything was impeccable: the rooms, grounds, gourmet breakfast, comfortable surroundings, and soothing hot tub.

This is a private inn; not intended to compete with the expensive, expansive and arguably more lavish amenities of Colorado's five-star resorts. The Wild Horse Inn is superb for a quiet getaway in close proximity to almost every outdoor activity imaginable, with a relaxing atmosphere and the most gracious hosts imaginable.

This was our first visit, though certainly not our last. We may opt for one of the uniquely themed cabins next time and bring our dog!

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Respitesearch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 25, 2014

This rustic lodge had a welcoming vibe with the decor as well as the friendly, down to earth staff. You'll feel like you are in a cozy bed and breakfast since they serve breakfast in the main lodge at the time of your choosing! We enjoyed the easy conversation and getting to know the lodge pet Bella, a cute and well-behaved dog. This lodge only has seven rooms so you'll feel the peace and quiet with great views of the mountains and minimal passerby!

Room Tip: cabins nearby for more privacy, the seven rooms in the lodge vary in queen to king size.
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank kcroswaite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 15, 2014

Very nice getaway. John was a great host and made very good breakfasts each morning. We stayed in a cabin, which was very cozy. Everything in the cabin was top of the line and the cabin was well built and energy efficient. Would definitely recommend The Wild Horse!

Room Tip: The Wild Horse Inn is very dog friendly. They have two cabins in which they allow dogs. They even have a little dog welcome kit and dog blanket. Our dogs were very happy here!
  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Doug B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 12, 2014

I had previously driven by as it is on the road to Devil's Thumb Ranch, but had never stayed there. The reviews were good so we stayed for two nights and were not disappointed. Room wass better than expected - large with great bed and bathroom. Wine in afternoon is a bonus to drink by the fireplace. Staff was excellent. We did go to Devil's Thumb to ski and you can go there for dinner and or use of their spa. The room had no cable TV but did have a TV for DVD. if you want live TV, bring a computer and HDMI cable to stream to the TV. We will stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JLW47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 6, 2014

I stayed at the Wild Horse Inn this week while on a business trip. It was the perfect, intimate, beautiful Colorado inn. The inside was quitisential Colorado with lots of beautiful word, a great fire place, excellent breakfast each morning and the most friendly and helpful staff. The surrounding area with beautiful snow covered mountains make this locaiton ideal for a Colorado get away. We will be back!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful.
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidFSax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews