We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Wedding Celebration!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glenwood Springs
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Glenwood Canyon Resort
Reviewed 17 June 2015

We recently stayed a few days for our niece's wedding. The accommodations were great in one of the roomy family cabins, which house more than a few of us. We were most impressed with Kevin, the general manager and his staff, however. Their effort to assist us and provide all we needed to make our niece's wedding perfect was over and above what we could have ever-expected. With Colorado weather being it's typical, unpredictable self, we were having difficulty deciding where to have the chairs set up for the ceremony. With only 1 hour before ceremony, the threatening clouds lifted and Kevin agreed to move the ceremony down by the river which was the bride's dream. They happily and efficiently made the change. It was indeed an unforgettable time as the sun beamed down upon this couple and the river splashed by just feet away! The food was excellent and every effort was made to make this occasion smooth, relaxed and joyful. We are so grateful to Kevin and his staff!

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cheri L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (637)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

217 - 223 of 637 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2015

We only used this as a quick overnight stay but was very impressed with the cleanliness of the property and the courtesy of the staff. Our spot was plenty big and level. The cabins were very nice looking and full. The scenery is breathtaking.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2015

We stayed in one of the new riverfront camper cabins. These are perfect for those who don't like sleeping on the hard ground or tent camping, or who just want to be super close to the river with a bit of style. It is one generous step above tent camping with a covered porch and adirondack-style chairs and a picnic table and fire ring..

Camper Cabins have electricity, aircon, and a hose bib outside for potable water. There are generous amounts of outlets inside for charging and operating all of your electronics. We slept with the windows open and never ran the AC when we were there, but it was still fairly early in the season. The water level was really high and the river was running at 11000 c.f.s. when we went on our rafting tour. Good times!!!

The staff at the Lookout Bar and Grille (onsite) were also very friendly and the view from the deck there is phenominal!!! Besides the rafting trips, they also have zip lines and a rock climbing wall for added entertainment. The zip lines have a "Happy Hour" starting this season from 5 PM to 7PM with unlimited zip trips during that 2 hour window. The Happy Hour prices were $40/person.

The only downside to the whole experience was the train tracks just across the river. From what I have heard, the upper sections don't experience as much noise from the train, but if you are on the riverfront you will certainly notice when the train passes late in the night. After the first or second night it was easier to manage, but that first night was a bit of a shock.

I would certainly go again, and this time, maybe I will even use the earplugs they have at the front desk. I really wanted to hear the ambience of the river at night, and regardless of the train the windows stayed open allllll night long ;-)

Room Tip: Riverfront sites enjoy night time train noises. Upper levels are quieter. I love the sound of the ri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RokGoblin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2015

We stayed in a Deluxe Resort cabin for the weekend. The views were outstanding. Really enjoyed sipping coffee on our deck at sunrise. I highly recommend going to the bar and grill for dinner. Ally the server was awesome, the food was fabulous and Kevin the manager was on top of everything.

Room Tip: Cabins 101 and 115 have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Michele4601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2015 via mobile

Arrived at campground that we paid full fare for and reserved 3 months ago at 11:45 am. At check-in were told that we could not check in and must pull to rest area around the corner until check in at 2 pm. We pulled to rest area and walked to our campsite which was vacant at 11:50 am. Went back to office to request that we be allowed to park and check in. Staff was extremely rude and were told that they could not accommodate our request during peak seasons but finally got parked and set up. Sewer connection is at front of site and unusable not only to us, but to the neighboring rig that pulled in shortly after us at his site. He was treated the same way as us by office staff. Totally unfriendly office staff needs to be corrected to become a nice RV option. Too bad!

Stayed: June 2015
3  Thank Carole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2015 via mobile

Lovely facilities. Gorgeous surroundings. Excellent bar and Grill and food at restaurant. Distasteful staff at reception desk. Rude personnel asked us to move a fifth wheel to the rest area for 15 minutes until proper time to check in. With a time schedule at hand, we reparked the rig, then walked back to the campground. Walking by our site we found it empty. Second request to the staff was equally disturbing. We found other campers equally unhappy. Would like to return, but this behavior is not acceptable. Please post notice on your website that you are not camper friendly.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sharon V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2015 via mobile

I can't say enough about the wonderful time we had at Glenwood Canyon . We are 3 families and decided on three riverfront cabins at this resort. The cabins are simple with one double bed and 2 bunk beds it sleeps 4 max. Other amenities are a bench, a rod to hang clothes on (no hangers) and 2 bed side shelves. There are plenty of outlets, an air conditioning /heating unit and a porch with 2 Adirondack chairs. Each unit had a picnic bench and a fire pit. Only down side was the distance to the bathhouse. The cabins were down by the river side and the bathrooms and showers are a long 61 steps up a flight of stairs. Good news; bathrooms are cleaned several times a day. Remember to bring your own firewood! There is none to find and it is $7 for a very small amount on sight.
I loved no name bar and grill. The food was very fresh and tasty. The bartender was great and was so friendly. Quick to provide refills and they were amazing with our kids. Be aware that it is wise to call ahead to make sure that the resturant is not booked for a private party. While at the bar we ran into Kevin, the property manager. He was friendly, funny and knew everything about the property. We had a great time chatting with him. 4 of our party did the zip line over the river. Worth it!
Overall, the entire resort is beautiful and everyone in my party agreed that we will be back again.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
Thank juljayw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glenwood Springs hotels
3.4 km away
Hotel Glenwood Springs
Hotel Glenwood Springs
#2 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
648 reviews
4.1 km away
Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge
Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge
#13 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
336 reviews
6 km away
Glenwood Suites
Glenwood Suites
#7 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 km away
Best Western Antlers
Best Western Antlers
#5 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
906 reviews
2.8 km away
Glenwood Hot Springs Resort
Glenwood Hot Springs Resort
#4 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
1,077 reviews
4.1 km away
Residence Inn Glenwood Springs
Residence Inn Glenwood Springs
#9 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenwood Canyon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenwood Canyon Resort

Address: 1308 County Road 129, Glenwood Springs, CO 81601-9736 (Formerly Rock Gardens Campground)
Region: United States > Colorado > Glenwood Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Glenwood Springs
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Glenwood Canyon Resort in majestic Glenwood Canyon, Colorado. Offering cozy accommodations, including Canyon Club Suites, Family Cabins, Deluxe Resort Cabins, RV sites, Camper Cabins, and riverfront tent sites, Glenwood Canyon Resort has ALL of your resting and relaxing needs met. Not to mention, while you stay here with us on the mighty Colorado River, enjoy some of our other amenities offered by the Colorado Adventure Center, such as whitewater rafting trips, zipline tours, high ropes challenge course, climbing walls, self-guided and guided biking tours. After a full day of activities, come on down to our very own on-site bar and grill and enjoy some delicious food and luscious libations on the deck of the No Name Bar and Grill. We look forward to your company and serving you and your family. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glenwood Canyon Hotel Glenwood Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing