We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Very nice property but had expected a historical hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Golden Hotel, an Ascend Collection hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Golden Hotel, an Ascend Collection hotel
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Golden
Certificate of Excellence
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
81 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Very nice property but had expected a historical hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012

For some reason we were expecting a historical boutique hotel. Instead we found a modern, well appointed facility. It was a nice over night stay. In easy walking distance of everything in Golden.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank afpdlacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    342
    116
    29
    8
    5
See reviews for
151
149
17
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Catnsville, MD
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

Our friend passed away and we stayed at the Golden Hotel during the week making preparations. The staff were great to us and made sure we had everyhting we needed. Beautiful views from the hotel of Clear Creek and South Table Mountain

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

My husband and I stayed recently for a wedding that took place on-site. Our room was nice and clean and quiet. The free wifi was appreciated, as was easy checkout. Would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overland Park, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

Spent several days here for a business meeting. The staff and accomodations exceeded my expectations and I look forward to making personal visits here with my family.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charles T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
103 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

Spent just one day here. Staff members were very pleasant and helpful. Hotel, although in an older building was very fresh inside - comparable to a new Marriott. Lobby and public areas nicely decorated - lot of old West memorabilia. Room on 4th floor looking towards the foothills was clean and comfortable with lots of room. I would definitely stay here again. Ate dinner here and it was excellent, high-end restaurant level both for presentation and taste, not typical hotel fare.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HoustonFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westminster, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

I called to get last minute reservations and was told that all the more expensive rooms were taken, but that they would do what they could to ensure we had a great stay. The customer service at this place is rated a 10, they went above and beyond to make sure we were taken care of.
When we got there, we did not expect to get a creekside view, the view was amazing overlooking the creek, park and the mountains. It was breathtaking. Not only was the view beautiful, the room itself was nice and cozy. The bed didnt have the ordinary blankets and bedsheets that you have at all the other hotels, it had a feather down blanket as well a suede blanket that was so soft it was hard not to always be rubbing it my feet on it.
Room service here was excellent! The food always came fast and hot. I was not dissapointed at all.
It was the perfect getaway from the big city. I recommend it to anyone looking for a weekend get away.

Room Tip: Creekside is what you want
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maychao Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

The Golden Hotel is an excellent location for a small conference/meeting and the accommodations are outstanding! The rooms are large, the beds are comfy, and the extra touches are appreciated!

Room Tip: All are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Golden hotels
0.3 km away
Table Mountain Inn
Table Mountain Inn
#2 of 18 in Golden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
23.8 km away
Eldora Lodge
Eldora Lodge
#3 of 18 in Golden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
4.6 km away
Hampton Inn Denver West / Golden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 km away
Residence Inn Denver West/Golden
0.6 km away
The Silk Pincushion
The Silk Pincushion
#12 of 18 in Golden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
4.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Denver West - Golden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Golden Hotel, an Ascend Collection hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Golden Hotel, an Ascend Collection hotel

Property: The Golden Hotel, an Ascend Collection hotel
Address: 800 11th St, Golden, CO 80401-1104
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Golden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Golden
#1 Business Hotel in Golden
#1 Family Hotel in Golden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Golden Hotel, an Ascend Collection hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Golden Hotel is located in the heart of historic downtown Golden overlooking the foothills of the Rocky Mountains. Featuring over 6,500 square feet of meeting and event space, an in-house restaurant and lounge with creekside dining, this solar powered hotel offers guest amenities such as five star bedding and plush robes, flat panel televisions with HD programing and complimentary high speed internet access. 12 miles west of Denver. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, Choice Hotels and Booking.com so you can book your The Golden Hotel, an Ascend Collection hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing