We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Charming cottages in bucolic farmland surroundings”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Wonderfully equipped efficiency kitchen for all your cooking needs!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
48 reviews
Wonderfully equipped efficiency kitchen for all your cooking needs!
Cottage 3B: Knack for Nature Bathroom - Clean, Functional, Comfortable
Linens & Towels Provided
Hillside Entrance
Hillside Property-Historic Rock Wall
Colorado's Oldest Black Willow Grove - perfect for bird watching & shaded picnics!
Sangre De Cristo Sunset
Bull, Cow, Calf Elk-Hillside, Colorado
Hillside, Colorado-Historic Post Office
Hillside Post Office
Hillside Post Office
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Hillside, Colorado

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lynne1362
Ross, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Charming cottages in bucolic farmland surroundings”
Reviewed August 14, 2018 for a stay in July 2018

We stay in these cottages several times a year to visit family nearby, and they’ve begun to feel almost like “home.”They are well supplied with everything you need for your stay, and are very comfortable and cozy. We always enjoy coming back to our bungalow after a day of chasing around after our grand-toddlers to enjoy the peaceful ambience.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Aug 2018
Your review warms our heart- we are thrilled that our cottages can be your home-away-from-home while visiting loved ones. We are grateful for your patronage and hope to serve as your landing pad for many years to come.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric B
1 review
“Beware of misleading pricing on website!”
Reviewed July 20, 2018 for a stay in July 2018

My wife & I arrived at the Hillside Cottages (Splendid Vista, specifically) after staying at some excellent resorts/AirBnB's in Vail & Buena Vista. After a long day of driving, we were thrilled at the idea of getting a decent night's rest in Hillside before heading back to Denver to fly out the next day. We arrived well after check-in, slept, and woke at 5:30 am to check out the sunrise. Decided to get a head-start on our drive and check out Garden of the Gods on our way, so we were checked out by 7 am (well before the noon checkout time). The point I'm getting at is - we were barely there. We followed the host's instruction to take out the trash, wash & put away dishes, etc. If not for a barely ruffled bed spread and a bath towel hung neatly over the shower stall - you wouldn't have even known someone had stayed there. And yet, we were charged a $45 cleaning fee. For a cottage that WE cleaned. In fairness, the website mentions a $45 cleaning fee per stay in the fine print, but due to the fact that the hosts give guests very specific written instructions on how to clean before leaving, it makes perfect sense for guests to assume that the $45 fee is a charge tacked on if guests fail to follow said instructions. Cute space, with a beautiful view - and maybe $165 ($177 after tax) per night isn't unreasonable (as opposed to the advertised $120), but if cleaning fee is not conditional, then it's intentionally misleading to list it as a separate charge on their site.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jul 2018
Hi Eric, I’m sorry you felt that our clearly itemized pricing was unclear. Before making a reservation on our website, the total cost after tax (along with a clear breakdown of that cost) is listed for the potential guest. Additionally, there is a specific place where you must review and agree to these terms and policies when booking. Then, once reservation is made, you receive a link to your receipt in the booking confirmation email that is sent (this receipt also itemizes the total cost). Perhaps since your wife made the reservation you didn’t see these items, but I did let you know where to look for the cost beakdown in your email when you contacted me after your stay. All of this to say, I really do not think there is any reason for confusion on our pricing. Our cleaning process for preparing the cottages between guests is much more comprehensive and detailed than taking out the trash, and our cleaners pride themselves in doing a thorough and consistent job for our guests. The reason we charge a cleaning fee “per stay” instead of a higher nightly rate is that we want to make our accommodations as affordable as possible, and so for our guests who are able to stay multiple nights, this helps keep the cost down. You are right, our cottages are priced reasonably for the superior quality and amenities we provide.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
326glennm
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great place to get away from it all”
Reviewed May 16, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

We decided to take in the Westcliffe area as one of the few "Dark Sky" (limited light pollution) areas. We picked the Hillside Cottages as they were away from town and still in the Wet Valley. We were amazed. The rooms were smartly attired. The area so quiet we could not contain ourselves. The bathrooms were spotless and the complex sits across from a Post Office that is open from 7 am to 11 am. Horses danced in the grasses nearby, cows called in the distance. The views of the Sangre de Cristos are amazing. The outdoor chairs poised to take in the stars and Milky Way. All in all a great place.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 May 2018
Glenn, thanks for your wonderful review- we are so glad you enjoyed your stay, and we hope to have you as return guests soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maggiewde...
Fort Collins, Colorado
1 review
“Cozy, fully equipped mountain cottage”
Reviewed January 2, 2018 for a stay in December 2017

These cottages are attractive, comfortable, super clean, and have everything you need. Located just 12 miles from Westcliffe and nearby other outdoor attractions. Great for two, or rent multiple cottages for a group. Also available - facilities for meetings, weddings, parties, etc. Quiet, peaceful mountain setting and perfect for star gazing!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jul 2018
We appreciate your patronage, and your detailed, complimentary review - we hope to have you visit again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M M
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect escape - we're still talking about it!”
Reviewed November 4, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

I stayed at the Solitude & Sunshine cottage for 2 nights and had a wonderful time! Our stay was quiet, peaceful, and relaxing. We took day trips into Canon City, Florence, and Westcliffe. Spent our time looking at the beautiful mountain views during the day and the incredible stars at night. Will absolutely visit again!

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jul 2018
Thank you for visiting - we are so glad our cottages provided you a lovely getaway! Please visit us again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keslie S
1 review
“Great Weekend Getaway”
Reviewed October 10, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

My husband and I stayed here for our 13th Anniversary. The cottage was clean, updated and comfortably furnished. The view of the stars at night was beautiful! We visited The Royal Gorge and Bishop's Castle during our stay. We enjoyed our meals in nearby Westcliffe. Tara, one of the owners, answered all my questions and requests. We hope to come back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jul 2018
Thank you for visiting Hillside, we were glad our cottages could be a part of your special anniversary, and hope to help you celebrate many more in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sld352017
Frisco, Texas
1 review
“Beautiful Views”
Reviewed August 18, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We stayed at Knack for Nature. The cottage was comfortable, clean, with great views- it was perfect! We would sit outside in the morning & evenings to take in the views before we began our day of exploring the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Sep 2017
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay in Hillside, we hope to have you back soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing