We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Everything we expected and more!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Wonderfully equipped efficiency kitchen for all your cooking needs!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
51 reviews
Wonderfully equipped efficiency kitchen for all your cooking needs!
Cottage 3B: Knack for Nature Bathroom - Clean, Functional, Comfortable
Linens & Towels Provided
Hillside Entrance
Hillside Property-Historic Rock Wall
Colorado's Oldest Black Willow Grove - perfect for bird watching & shaded picnics!
Sangre De Cristo Sunset
Bull, Cow, Calf Elk-Hillside, Colorado
Hillside, Colorado-Historic Post Office
Hillside Post Office
Hillside Post Office
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Hillside, Colorado

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

ScrewbalY...
Cedaredge, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Everything we expected and more!”
Reviewed November 9, 2018 for a stay in November 2018

Certainly a unique setting and facility. Everything we expected and more. Fantastic use of space and everything necessary is included. Immerse yourself in remote Colorado at Hillside. Well designed, constructed, managed and maintained. Worth every penny.

Date of stay: November 2018
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Mar 2019
We enjoyed having you visit our property .- thank you so much for your review!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
678aprily
Pentwater, Michigan
1 review
“Splendid Vista -fir sure!!!”
Reviewed October 17, 2018 for a stay in September 2018

This property exceeded our expectations! We fell in love with this valley! daytime views were gorgeous, and as a dark sky designated area, good night views were just spectacular. The cottage was sparkling clean and included many thoughtful touches like coffee, tea, pink fluffy towels, and quality bedding. Of all the places we stayed on our trip, this bed was the best! The location is ideal for touring the many beautiful parks and mountain passes. You won’t be disappointed!

Date of stay: September 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Oct 2018
April, thank you so much for your review- we are thrilled you enjoyed your stay!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth...
Felicity, Ohio
2 reviews
“Relaxation”
Reviewed October 16, 2018 for a stay in September 2018

Beautiful countryside. Next time I'm gonna plan more relaxing. I think the springtime would be a better season to visit.

Date of stay: September 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Oct 2018
Thanks for your review, Elizabeth- we look forward to having you visit! June is a lovely month to visit, as the mountain blooms are showing and the mountains are usually snow capped at the tops
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pathfinde...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Place to get away!”
Reviewed September 11, 2018 for a stay in August 2018
1
person found this review helpful

What an awesome place to go to get away The location is about 12 miles from Westcliffe and such a quiet, peaceful place. The cabin was clean, comfortable, and a great place to relax. The views from the cabin and the chair outside by the porch were awesome. It's amazing how much we miss in the city, I heard birds chirping, the wind in the trees, and so much more. Morning coffee outside was spent watching the deer as they came on the property to pick apples from the tree. I highly recommend this as a place for an awesome getaway with family and/or friends.

Date of stay: August 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Sep 2018
Thank you so much for your review! We are pleased you enjoyed your visit to Hillside!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynne1362
Ross, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming cottages in bucolic farmland surroundings”
Reviewed August 14, 2018 for a stay in July 2018

We stay in these cottages several times a year to visit family nearby, and they’ve begun to feel almost like “home.”They are well supplied with everything you need for your stay, and are very comfortable and cozy. We always enjoy coming back to our bungalow after a day of chasing around after our grand-toddlers to enjoy the peaceful ambience.

Date of stay: July 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Aug 2018
Your review warms our heart- we are thrilled that our cottages can be your home-away-from-home while visiting loved ones. We are grateful for your patronage and hope to serve as your landing pad for many years to come.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric B
1 review
“Beware of misleading pricing on website!”
Reviewed July 20, 2018 for a stay in July 2018

My wife & I arrived at the Hillside Cottages (Splendid Vista, specifically) after staying at some excellent resorts/AirBnB's in Vail & Buena Vista. After a long day of driving, we were thrilled at the idea of getting a decent night's rest in Hillside before heading back to Denver to fly out the next day. We arrived well after check-in, slept, and woke at 5:30 am to check out the sunrise. Decided to get a head-start on our drive and check out Garden of the Gods on our way, so we were checked out by 7 am (well before the noon checkout time). The point I'm getting at is - we were barely there. We followed the host's instruction to take out the trash, wash & put away dishes, etc. If not for a barely ruffled bed spread and a bath towel hung neatly over the shower stall - you wouldn't have even known someone had stayed there. And yet, we were charged a $45 cleaning fee. For a cottage that WE cleaned. In fairness, the website mentions a $45 cleaning fee per stay in the fine print, but due to the fact that the hosts give guests very specific written instructions on how to clean before leaving, it makes perfect sense for guests to assume that the $45 fee is a charge tacked on if guests fail to follow said instructions. Cute space, with a beautiful view - and maybe $165 ($177 after tax) per night isn't unreasonable (as opposed to the advertised $120), but if cleaning fee is not conditional, then it's intentionally misleading to list it as a separate charge on their site.

Date of stay: July 2018
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jul 2018
Hi Eric, I’m sorry you felt that our clearly itemized pricing was unclear. Before making a reservation on our website, the total cost after tax (along with a clear breakdown of that cost) is listed for the potential guest. Additionally, there is a specific place where you must review and agree to these terms and policies when booking. Then, once reservation is made, you receive a link to your receipt in the booking confirmation email that is sent (this receipt also itemizes the total cost). Perhaps since your wife made the reservation you didn’t see these items, but I did let you know where to look for the cost beakdown in your email when you contacted me after your stay. All of this to say, I really do not think there is any reason for confusion on our pricing. Our cleaning process for preparing the cottages between guests is much more comprehensive and detailed than taking out the trash, and our cleaners pride themselves in doing a thorough and consistent job for our guests. The reason we charge a cleaning fee “per stay” instead of a higher nightly rate is that we want to make our accommodations as affordable as possible, and so for our guests who are able to stay multiple nights, this helps keep the cost down. You are right, our cottages are priced reasonably for the superior quality and amenities we provide.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
326glennm
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great place to get away from it all”
Reviewed May 16, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

We decided to take in the Westcliffe area as one of the few "Dark Sky" (limited light pollution) areas. We picked the Hillside Cottages as they were away from town and still in the Wet Valley. We were amazed. The rooms were smartly attired. The area so quiet we could not contain ourselves. The bathrooms were spotless and the complex sits across from a Post Office that is open from 7 am to 11 am. Horses danced in the grasses nearby, cows called in the distance. The views of the Sangre de Cristos are amazing. The outdoor chairs poised to take in the stars and Milky Way. All in all a great place.

Date of stay: May 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 May 2018
Glenn, thanks for your wonderful review- we are so glad you enjoyed your stay, and we hope to have you as return guests soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Canada. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.