We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Alaia Resort(Arugam Bay)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$49
Booking.com
View Deal
Another World Guesthouse(Arugam Bay)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$25
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Ranga's Beach Hut(Arugam Bay)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$23
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$35
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arugam Bay Beach Cabanas(Arugam Bay)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$11
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Arne's Place(Pottuvil)
Free cancellation until 23/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$40
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$248
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Garden Cottage Arugambay(Arugam Bay)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (311)
Filter reviews
311 results
Traveller rating
254
32
9
6
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
254
32
9
6
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshakshukacommunal tablethe folliessri lankasound of the wavesplace to staynice cabanasmeet other travellersthe ownerfriendly vibeother guestslaid backstayed for weeksa great staytuk tukoff seasonnice place
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 311 reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2016

We had an amazing stay at the Folly! Read about it in Lonely Planet, it was everything what we expected! It's located directly on the beach, has a good vibe and the cabanas are clean. Musquito nets are available. The staff is really friendly and very helpful, 24h a day. Muba is a great host, makes you feel at home immediately. The food in the Folly is great, everything is super fresh and well prepared. We would recommend this place to everyone!!

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Misty C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 26, 2016

We came across the folly by accident but are so pleased we did, it was 5* accommodation, all the staff and Muba were so kind and helpful, the accommodation was clean and the area of the huts was sweeped and beautiful, with places to wash ur feet to keep sand out your hut, flowers decorating the water spots and smiles all around. Food was also amazing, brought to you at your hut or on the beach, dream stay. I will be recommending to all my friends back home. A wonderful stay by the beach..... :-)

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riyas155, Owner at The Folly, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2016

we always working to deliver excellent service.Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 25, 2016

Despite several calls with the owner and written confirmation, our booking was not honored. When we arrived, the manager told us our canabas were slighty further down the beach. It turns out he had taken the liberty of booking another place (his friend's obvisouly) for us. The rooms were very spartiate and not on the beach at all. We would have booked ourselves something different if we had known the hotel was full.
This establishment is not managed seriously and keeps guests for granted. It lives on its reputation.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank MadameHaras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riyas155, Owner at The Folly, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2016

you came on that day as you pre booked, ask for the cheaper price , we refused to give you, you try to manipulate the things but i have given you proof as you booked for normal price,still we try to give you some discounts,you did not agree and left the place with out staying.i had look all your review( nearly 9 review),all of them you have reviewed very badly,we understanding now problem is not with the property but with you.Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 21, 2016

I can describe our stay at "The Folly" with one single word - AWESOME!

The follys and cabanas are clean and really authentic. It's a great experience to sleep there. The area is right next to the beach, with possibilities to relax and a private beach bar where you can have delicious fresh fruit juice or coconuts.
The manager - Muba - will do everything to make your stay as simple and comfortable as possible. No matter what kind of problem you have (if you need a surfboard, a taxi driver or you want to do a safari), Muba arranges it for you.
The food there is extremely good and always made fresh for you. If you want to have breakfast at 5am, you will get it. All the employees are so friendly.
If you are lucky and have the chance to stay there, do it!

It woud be a big mistake not to stay there!!!

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank tschulss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 18, 2016 via mobile

Mother, father and two kifs (10 and12), stayed for five nights in the "suite" with AC, shower ect.
We had the best time, with friendly and serviceminded staff and tourists from all over the world.
Nice to hook up in the evening, connect the spotify on the speaker to share and enjoy conversations with all the different people + a coupple of beer
Staff is superrelaxed but still focused to give you the best service.
We would love to come back!

Best to you all from Norway

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank marohansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews