We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (35)
Filter reviews
35 results
Traveller rating
14
14
2
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
14
14
2
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfourth floorunderground parkingriver run villageroom keyhot tubski liftminute walkpool areawould definitely stay here againmaster bedroomperfect locationgreat place to stayshampooelevatorunitstubspits
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 35 reviews
Reviewed March 31, 2016

This is in River Run.... underground parking and a 5 minute walk (in snow board boots) to the River Run Gondolla and Mountain Express Lift. This is close... Keystone has only two true ski in and ski out properties (Eagle and Timbers).

Reality...This property (and all of River Run) are owner operated properties. Some are managed by Keystone (Epic) but they are not controlled by one operator. The quality of each individual unit is going to very GREATLY ! It is hard to rate the consistency of rooms at this property. (My 2 bed room was great !) .... I am from the midwest this condo's are very similar to the "Water Park" condo's. They are well used and get beat up ! The original quality and the maintance of the units, furnishings, etc are determined by the individual owner. The individual unit we stayed in add a full cable package, HBO, and very efficient WIFI. ( I am not if each unit is the same).

I will focus my review on the "Dakota" unit as a whole. The property has a small lobby (not at all hotel like) with a common TV and a few seats. The lobby has a ski locker area with each unit having its own locker (key provided by the owner). I would say it fits 3 pairs of adult ski's and two adult snowboards. The lobby also indoor bathrooms, 2 public showers, and a sauna. The backside of the lobby contains two hot tubs and a heated pool. (It does not have a common gas grill). Not many River Run properties have their own pool ! The lobby and pool is very very secure as a room key is needed to access nearly every door and gate. The underground parking is a bit complex as it is shared with 3 buildings, but it is very secure and heated. Plenty of room for full sized SUV's. All the units are non smoking and pet free. (They actually have many signs asking people to report pets in the building)

The DAKOTA is off the main square, thus you have very little outside noise, like you may have on the square. Most units have a mountain view and a deck. Once you figure it out, it is a two minute walk to the grocery store in River Run. It is a GREAT LOCATION. You are close to the Gondolla as any other property. You pay 3-4x the price in Breck or Vail or Copper, for this walking access. Unfortunately, you will experience a variety of inconsistency in the quality of individual units.

Room Tip: North or West facing rooms have a view of the Mountain.
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
2  Thank Eric L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 9, 2016

Stayed in 8520 on fourth floor. I'll start with the positives. Underground heated parking was ideal and very convenient. Dakota Lodge was easy walk to ski lifts and just a few steps to the shops and restaurants in River Run village. Nice hot tubs and heated pool. Elevator was quick. Our room had great view of the slopes. Also it was well stocked with basic amenities ( plenty of toilet paper, paper towels, dish washing detergent, etc.) next door to laundry and stairs. I was worried it would be loud since we faced very popular hot tub area, but 10 pm to 8 am quiet hours were adhered to so no problems there. Several cozy fire pits to gather around in river run village. Great well stocked little general store just beyond the pool area with good inventory of groceries, liquor and gifts. Appreciated the extra blankets, pillows and fans in the closets. 2 baths were both spacious and well appointed with deep tubs. Booking through Summit County Mtn Resorts was great- we enjoyed good discounts on lift tix and ski equipment rental.
Negatives: our unit was not very clean. Rugs were filthy, floors were sticky, countertops were dirty upon arrival. Bedding was substandard. The cabinets were well stocked but left no place to put our food away so we had to pile everything on the counters. One of the stove burners didn't work. There were 7 remotes in the unit for three tvs (one in each bedroom and one in living room). Instructions for using the living room tv were wrong. TV reception in bunk room was very poor. 2 of the 3 washing machines in the building were broken throughout our stay. We called first night for help with tvs and other concerns. We were told someone was on their way but they never came.
Would we stay there again? Yes. Pros outweighed the cons.

Room Tip: Pick a room facing the slopes. Good morning sun plus the view of the skiers was amazing. (Even numbered rooms)
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank molly k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 28, 2015 via mobile

So disappointed! Booked this place back in November for my kids' and my sister's kids Christmas present. Nice, friendly guy on the phone assured us things were all taken care of, 2 rooms together, ski in/ski out. WRONG! We were put in 2 separate buildings and they made no effort to fix it only gave us granola bars! We had to walk a quarter of a mile to and from the gondola in ski boots carrying our equipment. That was fun with a 9 and 6 year old! I will take my money & kids elsewhere next time!

Stayed: March 2015
2  Thank Orangeandblue01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 6, 2015

The location of this property could not be better. We walked to the gondola in the mornings, had a nice dip in the hot tub in the late afternoon, and cooked dinners near the fireplace at night. Can't ask for a better vacation in the mountains than that! The check in and check out process was seamless and all our questions were answered. Parking is below the building on the basement floor, just an elevator ride down from our room. So easy. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 16, 2015

We rented Dakota 8512 and were satisfied, not "wow"ed. We rented through summitcove.com. It is a ten minute walk to the gondola, but no problem. The usual amentiies - under building enclosed parking garage, hot tub, free wifi, slope-facing balcony, nice fireplace. Nice adder was a humidifier, which I highly recommend. We have also stayed at Arapahoe and Red Hawk in the past, they have a bit closer location. Summitcove.com service was fine. Wifi was slow.

Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank flagene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews