We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'Old School-- Worth staying here'”
Review of Alps Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Leadville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Alps Motel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Leadville
Reviewed 30 December 2011

Clean and nice...We stayed over Christmas to visit family outside of town. On the drive up from Denver called ahead to let them know approximate arrival time and was told Your in room #3 and the key is inside...then will talk to you tomorrow.
Very old school and super clean. Low key and nice have stayed at the chain motel down the street and wasn't treated like this. Very refreshing to be treated like a your business is appreciated!!! Like someone else posted it is a Ma & Pa place.
One reason we stayed is the Pets Welcome policy which means a lot to us. The place was clean and had a Homey feel...not a new polished place but super clean and quiet for sure.
Will stay there when we need to stay in Leadville again.
Thanks

Room Tip: If you don't need a bunch of amenities and just want clean and comfortable stay here !!
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ron w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (65)
There are newer reviews for Alps Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2011

Not a 3 or 4 star hotel but you won't find that here. Leadville has a mediocre choice of hotels/motels. We read reviews and took into consideration friend's past experiences in Leadville and settled on Alps Motel, after all, it was only for one night. We knew there would be nothing special about the place but it was clean and the bed was comfortable enough. The owner's were friendly and the price was right. A screened in walkway separates the parking lot from the rooms, providing shelter from the weather. It is on the major highway thru town though and there is lots of truck noise at night. Room 1 is closest to the highway and according to our friends, got lots of road noise. We were in Room 5, tuck away in the corner and it was quiet.

Room Tip: There are only about 8 rooms in this small motel. Stay away from the ones closest to the highway...
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank llennef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

We spent 2 nights at the Alps. The owners, a ma & pop operation, were very gracious & helpful. Due to last minute reservations, we had to change rooms for our second night, which was no problem. The first room was a single very comfortable queen bed. The second room had two queen beds, a bit more worn. We were impressed with the cleanliness of the rooms which were nothing fancy, but sufficient. There was coffee, excellent high-speed wi-fi, micro, frig. There are only 8 rooms in all with a porch that blocks out some of the highway sound. The non-smoking corner room is quieter. Our doggie was welcome which was a big plus. The Alps Motel is easy walking distance to the historic downtown. There is a back entrance to avoid the main road for walks around town.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank denalicat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2011

We were up the road at the Columbine for two nights, but the poor sleep quality convinced us to check out early. The Alps Motel is not much to look at, but one thing caught my eye. The owner had built an enclosure over the front porch of the 8 rooms. It struck me as something requiring thought for their customer's comfort ( deadens road noise and shelters from cold weather) and I decided to investigate. They had one room available. I asked to take a look it and needed only 15 seconds to know it would suit us.
It had two queen sized beds of good quality. Heat was provided by baseboard heaters - silent and effective. The room was clean and well built. The furniture was intelligent. The beds, in addition to being comfortable, had book case headboards with a light on each. It did feel much like home.
And the price was reasonable.
The proprietor told me that he provided the best rooms in town - and he may be right.
He loves to recommend restaurants - but you may be better off using your own judgement. We used his recommendations for dinner and breakfast and were neither impressed nor completely unhappy with each. We ate at three restaurants in all. We rated each.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marathontx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2011

We just checked out of this hotel after being there for a week.
We were treated rudely upon arrival and through every interaction with the owners and management during the week.

The wifi did not work and the "complimentary" coffee was no longer available after day 2 of our stay.

When we checked out they tried to tell us we had to pay for maid service to clean the room (normal cleaning needed after a one week stay - nothing extra)

Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
1  Thank airforcefam6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2010

We stayed in the Alps Motel last night. When we checked in, we were not given a password for the WiFi. When I called at 945 last night, no one answered the phone. Rooms are clean but outdated a bit. This was a good stay for the price but be aware that if you need a service, have an emergency in your room with plumbing, electricity, etc, you will (taking from my experience and past reviews) not be able to contact the front desk. They have recycling bins for bottles and plastics which is always a plus. Overall, this seems to be a mom-and-pop hotel with average rooms but poor service. If you're looking for a place to crash for the night, its a good value just be sure to get all information you might possibly need before you turn in because you won't see them or talk to them again.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michelle168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2010

Many gave this high reviews, but........it was clean. However, there was a tiny window in the bathroom and the 2 windows in the room were off of a glassed in porch- making our room very warm- and there is no air conditioning. Plus, the room had dark paneling- so the room seemed very cave-like. If I were them, I would paint the rooms a light coloring, thus brightening up the room. It did have a refrigerator and micro.

The other night we were in Leadville, we stayed at the Super 8. This is not my favorite chain, however, I was very pleased with our room there.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ctbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leadville
1.7 km away
Delaware Hotel
Delaware Hotel
#1 of 8 in Leadville
284 reviews
27.2 km away
A Riverside Inn Hotel
A Riverside Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Fairplay
137 reviews
35.1 km away
The Lodge at Breckenridge
The Lodge at Breckenridge
#5 of 23 in Breckenridge
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34.3 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge
0.0 km away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#5 of 8 in Leadville
310 reviews
2.8 km away
Columbine Inn & Suites
Columbine Inn & Suites
#6 of 8 in Leadville
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alps Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alps Motel

Address: Hwy. 24 South, Highway 24 South, Leadville, CO 80461
Region: United States > Colorado > Leadville
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Leadville
Price Range: $78 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alps Motel is a small, comfortable eight room motel with parking right outside your door. All rooms come equipped with a refrigerator, microwave oven, coffee pot and free wireless internet access, and we are located within walking distance of most of the restaurants, shops, and watering holes in Leadville's National Historic District. The Alps Motel is also perfectly located as a starting point for any outdoor activities you may have in mind including hiking, biking, mountaineering, fishing, hunting, historic exploration and almost anything else you have on your Leadville 'to do' list. At 10,200 feet in elevation, whatever your adventure or interest, it can start here. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alps Hotel Leadville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing