We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool but other things in the area are more worthwhile”

Manitou Cliff Dwellings
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: At most museums, you hear, "Look with your eyes, not with your hands." Not at the outdoor exhibits at the Manitou Cliff Dwellings Museum, where you can reach out and touch ancient Anasazi buildings. Explore the authentic Anasazi structures, investigate the Pueblo-style buildings and traditional clay oven, and examine the pottery, tools, and weapons used by these ancient and mysterious peoples. Open since 1907, the Manitou Cliff Dwellings have preserved these historic Anasazi artifacts for all to enjoy for generations to come. Get a hands-on look at history that the whole family will enjoy.
Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

This was a neat exhibit but short and sweet for the price. Staff was pleasant and welcoming, and it is dog friendly, a plus. I guess we were just spoiled when we visited cliff dwellings in New Mexico, because these were not as impressive. Good if you are short on time.

Thank athansor007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kokopelli1906, Manager at Manitou Cliff Dwellings, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2018

We are pleased to hear you had a nice and friendly experience here. Our Cliff Dwellings Preserve is a small grouping of ruins when compared to Mesa Verde and a few others, yet what we offer is a hands on educational experience due to our preservation that allows you to climb inside twenty ruins and really get a good feel for how the Ancestral Puebloans lived so long ago. Most visitors are here about an hour to an hour and a half exploring through the outdoor ruins and the indoor museums of pottery and artifacts. We are happy to be dog friendly as long as they are leashed and cleaned up after. Thanks for sharing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,623)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"gift shop"
in 392 reviews
"small museum"
in 51 reviews
"native americans"
in 50 reviews
"original location"
in 18 reviews
"interesting place"
in 24 reviews
"self guided tour"
in 52 reviews
"new mexico"
in 16 reviews
"interesting history"
in 20 reviews
"colorado springs"
in 52 reviews
"walk around"
in 26 reviews
"little pricey"
in 23 reviews
"pikes peak"
in 24 reviews
"anasazi"
in 71 reviews
"pueblo"
in 47 reviews
"indian"
in 95 reviews
"wolves"
in 43 reviews
"reconstruction"
in 20 reviews
Filter

107 - 111 of 1,623 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2018 via mobile

I loved the sleuth of information and details that were presented on what possibly happened. Most things on display were from out of state. I had a sense they didn't know much about the original occupants...hence 3 stars.

Thank JosephWem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kokopelli1906, Manager at Manitou Cliff Dwellings, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2018

The Ancestral Puebloans were a truly remarkable culture and their disappearance is a mystery still today! There are several theories as to what happened to them. Did they died off during a 20 year drought, disease, famine, merged in with other tribes etc. We do have some of this information in our museums, as well as a bulk of the information on our website if you are interested in looking further. Most of our artifacts have been collected from Utah and the four corners region where the Anasazi were most prevalent. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your time here exploring and imagining life so long ago!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 25, 2018 via mobile

This isn't the original site, which was located near Mesa Verde. The site itself is fairly small and shouldn't take more than 30 minutes for a visit. It's also only a 5 minute drive from Garden of the Gods, and on the way to Pikes Peak.

1  Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kokopelli1906, Manager at Manitou Cliff Dwellings, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2018

Thanks for sharing your visit with us. Most of our visitors spend about 45 minutes or so outside exploring in the ruins, where there are 20 ruins you can climb inside and imagine life 800 years ago, before entering into our Pueblo building with four separate museums intertwined with our unique gift shop that is built right into the mountain side! The Pikes Peak Region has so much to offer, from Garden of the Gods in our backyard and Pikes Peak and Manitou Springs in our front yard! Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 24, 2018

A quirky little place with interesting cliff dwellings (moved from their original location about 100 years ago and reassembled here with cement instead of mortar, so you can walk/crawl around and through them), featuring information placards throughout with some interesting tidbits about the life of the people who may have lived in the structures in their original location.

Inside the Pueblo building next to the dwellings are a huge gift shop and two little museums, one about the history of the dwellings (with some funny old photos and strange memorabilia from decades ago) and the other about the lives of the cliff dwelling people.

The only cons were the price ($10/person) and some typos noticed in the dwelling and museum information placards.

Overall, it was fun, easy to get to, and had some great photo ops.

Thank Minnie-sodas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kokopelli1906, Manager at Manitou Cliff Dwellings, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2018

Thank you for sharing your visit, it sounds as if you had a great time learning about the ancient Anasazi Culture! Thank you for pointing out to us that we have some typos that we are not aware of, we will have to take a closer look and see if we can find them and get them fixed!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed March 23, 2018 via mobile

The cliff dwellings are interesting and educational. Saw a bat while we were there. They moved these from the actual cliff dwellings that are located in the SW part of CO around 1907.

Kids can climb in them and etc, which you can't do in the other one.

Take about 10 min to go through and see everything. You then have 45 min to get through the largest gift shop ever.

2  Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kokopelli1906, Manager at Manitou Cliff Dwellings, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2018

We are pleased to hear you had an interesting and educational visit. Your keen eyes spotted Elvis, or PJ, one of our resident two bats that migrate out of here to Mexico in October and have just returned in the past few weeks! Hopefully you spent time in our museums checking out the pottery and artifacts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Manitou Cliff Dwellings also viewed

Manitou Springs, El Paso County
Manitou Springs, El Paso County
 
Manitou Springs, El Paso County
Manitou Springs, El Paso County
 

Been to Manitou Cliff Dwellings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing